We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh n' hip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #113 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fresh n' hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great boutique hotel!! Trendy stylish rooms, buzzin' bar, and great service... all for excellent value.

Close to the tube and restaurants all around equal a great location. Great for a couples vacation.
We'd be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back street which didnt have much of a view, but didnt matter as much as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Retro787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Trendy AND hip? LOVE IT. Thank you for taking the time to write kind words about us, great to hear that you liked the hotel. We'd be more than happy to have you stay here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,836
    1,299
    186
    55
    34
See reviews for
428
2,082
302
745
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
197 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel tries very hard to be hip. It is in a hip part of Shoreditch, with lots of design and fashion businesses in the area and some world class street art. The bar is packed with fashionably hip young people. The check in staff is efficient and friendly. The interior decor is a mixture of industrial chic and school nostalgia; there are school desks and old classroom visual aids on the walls, bare bolts and metal on the walls, old books scattered about. The room was adequately sized. Shower, no bathtub. Minifridge with milk, water, and beer, all free. Comfortable bed. Everything clean. Lots of towels and very high quality bath amenities, including a bar of real Pears soap. They try very hard to be cute and flippant. The bill is titled, "the damage;" the privacy sign for the door says "go away;" the fire warning on the door of the room says "another boring notice." The N in the hotel's name is backward. The cleaners wear tee shirts saying "Clean is the new dirty." The hotel will rent you a fancy bike and there is a weekly supervised run for exercise. The "breakfast" is a paper bag with a banana and a yogurt in it. Restaurant food is interesting but expensive. The hotel has a "keep full" policy so prices are variable and if you book at the right time you can get a room for very little; we did not succeed in doing this. Hotel is convenient to tube and there are lots of nearby eateries. All in all it was a fun experience but they try a little too hard. It seems to be a big hit with younger people, however. No gym but for a fee you can get into a nearby one.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor away from the street, but you will still hear the trash truck in the wee hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Sorry we didn't completely float your boat - we'll try harder next time, or maybe we wont ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do hope you'll come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

In London for 2 nights spending the weekend with my daughter who works in Shoreditch. She suggested the Hoxton as it came highly recommended and she decided to join me.
Our room was on the top floor right beside a little ironing room...very useful!
The staff were wonderful, as was the super freshly squeezed orange juice, banana and pot of yoghurt that was left in a brown paper bag outside our room each morning...bit like Christmas!
Cocktails at the bar were just the thing after a day of shopping and sight-seeing, and the hotel is perfectly located for Liverpool Street Station and Stansted Airport.
I booked well in advance and got really good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Well that is PERFECT that you think we are perfect! Thanks ever so much for taking the time to share the love. Always great to hear that we have another fan out there. Hope to have you in the 'hood again soon and we'll be sure to feedback your comments to the breakfast pixies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here.
Checking in:
Smiling faces on reception and quickly to our room on the sixth floor.
The room:
(604) Nice sized room with a modern bathroom (power shower). Not a great view as we were looking at the other wing of the hotel. Comfortable bed and complimentary water and milk.
Safety deposit box and a large screen TV.
Bar/restaurant
Nice atmosphere in the bar, we did not use the dining facilities but it seemed very popular with guests and the public.
The hotel is nice and quirky in design and the staff are all helpful and pleasant.
Overall:
Great hotel!

Room Tip: The only view would be at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you enjoyed the hotel. We think it's great that you think we are great. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I had my eye on the Hoxton Hotel for a while however during previous trips they have always been fully booked. I was therefore very happy to have been able to book it this time and it did not disappoint.

Our concept room was clean and nicely decorated, the shower was amazing and beds really comfortable. The location was excellent and only 5 min walk from the nearest tube stop.

The bar downstairs was always busy and the cocktails amazing as a nightcap before bed. We ate breakfast in the restaurant in the morning which we would also really recommend. We were on the top floor and so didn't hear any noise.

I will definately be looking to stay here again next time we go to London!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheworld080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We are pretty happy to be named your 'go-to' London hotel. Great to hear that you like the hotel and the bar - those cocktails have a fair few fans alright! Hope to have you in the house again soon, Thanking you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stay here fairly often and quite frankly I'd live there if I could afford to.

Great location, friendly down-to-earth staff, complimentary breakfast, reasonably priced everything, clean modern rooms, and I always get a really great night's sleep.

A lot of hotels in london get by by not being particularly good, but still charging a lot because it's London and they will always get customers regardless.

The Hoxton is different; it's well thought out, it does everything well, and I always feel like I get value for money. I love it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Well come on over and move in ;-) Thank you for taking the time to write these lovely words about us! Great to hear that we have a huge fan out there and keep on spreading the love! Hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am obsessed with interior design so I always pick the concept room when I stay at Hoxton hotel. It has really cool concept rooms so always ask for them. It has a glasses, kettle, tea, coffee (but no fridge or milk lol) but if you're not a tea or coffee lover then it won't matter. I didn't get the concept room I originally wanted but was given "The Nelson' and it was nice and cosy and had a country feel to it too! My only issue was because I stayed over on a friday the music in the courtyard was so loud I could hear it in the room but by 12 it was quiet. I will probably stay here again and again till I try all the concept rooms. Great stay and beautiful quirky rooms. Love it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We would love to have you again and again! Thank you for taking the time to kind words about us, always great to hear lovely feedback. Do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#325 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#297 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#29 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#98 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing