We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hipster but laid back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #99 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This boutique hotel is a haven for hipsters of all ages. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. They were able to provide gluten free bread at breakfast (even though I hadn't warned them in advance as I usually do). The bedrooms were small but clean, comfortable and with great decor. They provide 1litre of bottled water per day, which I think is a great touch. A basic but tasty breakfast is provided but you can buy a larger (very yummy) meal in the dining room. The bar is jumping on Fridays and Saturdays, but doesn't go on too late so it doesn't disturb your sleep beyond 11pm. I asked for a quiet room, but I would still recommend ear plugs if you want an early night. The location is handy for sightseeing, and they provide a handy guide to the local area.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Juliette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Why thank you! Lovely to hear we have another fan out there and that you made use of all of the facilities. Hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 4,783 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great boutique hotel!! Trendy stylish rooms, buzzin' bar, and great service... all for excellent value.

Close to the tube and restaurants all around equal a great location. Great for a couples vacation.
We'd be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back street which didnt have much of a view, but didnt matter as much as we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retro787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Trendy AND hip? LOVE IT. Thank you for taking the time to write kind words about us, great to hear that you liked the hotel. We'd be more than happy to have you stay here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel tries very hard to be hip. It is in a hip part of Shoreditch, with lots of design and fashion businesses in the area and some world class street art. The bar is packed with fashionably hip young people. The check in staff is efficient and friendly. The interior decor is a mixture of industrial chic and school nostalgia; there are school desks and old classroom visual aids on the walls, bare bolts and metal on the walls, old books scattered about. The room was adequately sized. Shower, no bathtub. Minifridge with milk, water, and beer, all free. Comfortable bed. Everything clean. Lots of towels and very high quality bath amenities, including a bar of real Pears soap. They try very hard to be cute and flippant. The bill is titled, "the damage;" the privacy sign for the door says "go away;" the fire warning on the door of the room says "another boring notice." The N in the hotel's name is backward. The cleaners wear tee shirts saying "Clean is the new dirty." The hotel will rent you a fancy bike and there is a weekly supervised run for exercise. The "breakfast" is a paper bag with a banana and a yogurt in it. Restaurant food is interesting but expensive. The hotel has a "keep full" policy so prices are variable and if you book at the right time you can get a room for very little; we did not succeed in doing this. Hotel is convenient to tube and there are lots of nearby eateries. All in all it was a fun experience but they try a little too hard. It seems to be a big hit with younger people, however. No gym but for a fee you can get into a nearby one.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor away from the street, but you will still hear the trash truck in the wee hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wguterbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Sorry we didn't completely float your boat - we'll try harder next time, or maybe we wont ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do hope you'll come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In London for 2 nights spending the weekend with my daughter who works in Shoreditch. She suggested the Hoxton as it came highly recommended and she decided to join me.
Our room was on the top floor right beside a little ironing room...very useful!
The staff were wonderful, as was the super freshly squeezed orange juice, banana and pot of yoghurt that was left in a brown paper bag outside our room each morning...bit like Christmas!
Cocktails at the bar were just the thing after a day of shopping and sight-seeing, and the hotel is perfectly located for Liverpool Street Station and Stansted Airport.
I booked well in advance and got really good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Well that is PERFECT that you think we are perfect! Thanks ever so much for taking the time to share the love. Always great to hear that we have another fan out there. Hope to have you in the 'hood again soon and we'll be sure to feedback your comments to the breakfast pixies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here.
Checking in:
Smiling faces on reception and quickly to our room on the sixth floor.
The room:
(604) Nice sized room with a modern bathroom (power shower). Not a great view as we were looking at the other wing of the hotel. Comfortable bed and complimentary water and milk.
Safety deposit box and a large screen TV.
Bar/restaurant
Nice atmosphere in the bar, we did not use the dining facilities but it seemed very popular with guests and the public.
The hotel is nice and quirky in design and the staff are all helpful and pleasant.
Overall:
Great hotel!

Room Tip: The only view would be at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you enjoyed the hotel. We think it's great that you think we are great. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

I had my eye on the Hoxton Hotel for a while however during previous trips they have always been fully booked. I was therefore very happy to have been able to book it this time and it did not disappoint.

Our concept room was clean and nicely decorated, the shower was amazing and beds really comfortable. The location was excellent and only 5 min walk from the nearest tube stop.

The bar downstairs was always busy and the cocktails amazing as a nightcap before bed. We ate breakfast in the restaurant in the morning which we would also really recommend. We were on the top floor and so didn't hear any noise.

I will definately be looking to stay here again next time we go to London!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Aroundtheworld080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

We are pretty happy to be named your 'go-to' London hotel. Great to hear that you like the hotel and the bar - those cocktails have a fair few fans alright! Hope to have you in the house again soon, Thanking you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stay here fairly often and quite frankly I'd live there if I could afford to.

Great location, friendly down-to-earth staff, complimentary breakfast, reasonably priced everything, clean modern rooms, and I always get a really great night's sleep.

A lot of hotels in london get by by not being particularly good, but still charging a lot because it's London and they will always get customers regardless.

The Hoxton is different; it's well thought out, it does everything well, and I always feel like I get value for money. I love it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Well come on over and move in ;-) Thank you for taking the time to write these lovely words about us! Great to hear that we have a huge fan out there and keep on spreading the love! Hope to have you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#369 of 1,077 in London
1,094 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#71 of 1,077 in London
1,696 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#132 of 1,077 in London
627 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#586 of 1,077 in London
74 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#169 of 1,077 in London
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing