We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend you book this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #109 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommend you book this hotel!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From check in to check out this Hotel was a wonderful experience. Staff are very friendly & efficient and I was checked in within minutes. The room decor was gorgeous & I love quirky design & features.
The bed was very comfortable and nice bedding too. I requested a very quiet room which had an interesting view of buildings but I was there for work so no time to sit looking out anyway. The bathroom was a great size with good strong shower and nice toiletries. The air conditioning took a while to work but great you can also open the windows for fresh air. The room was spotlessly clean.
Room service was excellent and the eggs benedict were perfection! Good coffee too all delivered piping hot!
The bar downstairs was full of life late at night so a great buzz around the building, but silence on the 5th floor phew!
I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I'm in London and look forward to my next stay,

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up than 1st floor if you want very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Why thank you, great to hear that you would recommend us and that you had a wonderful experience! Good work on the eggs benedict too - crackin' choice. Hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,971
    1,347
    202
    56
    35
See reviews for
459
2,160
311
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved everything about this hotel! Really cool & trendy, library-chic decor, rooms are not huge but a decent size for London and super functional. The bed was really comfortable, bathroom is a good size and the desk was very convient - the added books were a nice touch.

I really like the idea of using postcards to provide all required information including my favorite - how to keep fit while staying at the hotel. They have bikes to use, yoga on Sundays, a deal with a gym and a running club - fantastic!

Water, milk, coffee, tea and a light breakfast all free with the room and the food in the restaurant is great. We ended up having a breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails there on various days and enjoyed them all, interesting menu and good coffee too. The lobby is a great place to hang out and work or meet friends.

It is close to transit, the business district, the delicious food of Brick Lane and tons of great pubs & sports bars.

We called the front desk with non-urgent requests twice and had service delivered to the room within 10-15 minutes both times. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, this is definitely our go-to place in London from now on!

Room Tip: The hotel lobby, bar and restaurants are bustling with activity but you can't hear any of this n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Why thank you! Great to hear you have so much love for the hotel and got involved in everything from the events to the cocktails. Thanks ever so much for the spreading the kind words. Hope to see you in the hood again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I booked this hotel as surprise for my husbands 40th birthday as we were out with friends in London. We LOVED it! We were lucky enough to be given a concept room (urban Luxe), the rooms was clean & stylish and the bed was soo comfortable we could have stayed there all day!

The bar is also fab but the bar service is a little slow even when the bar was near empty at 5pm, so they just need to be more aware of waiting customers. The Porn Star martinis here are my favorite! The burger is also to die for!

My one niggle is that I was told when booking that birthday balloons would be placed in the room as a surprise for my husband but when we got in there nothing had been left. I didn't mention to staff as it was supposed to be a surprise and the moment had gone :-(

I would definitely stay here again and recommended to friends, amazing value for money!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascale b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Happy Birthday to the hubby! Great to hear we float your boat. Sorry about the service - we'll feed that back - good to hear you got your Pornstar in the end. Also apologies about the balloons we do that for all our Bday guests so really sorry we missed you! Hope to see you again soon and drop us a line we'll make sure you have something nice waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed once again at this very pleasant hotel, for a single night, at their much reduced rates (£80 compared to £200 - approx figs).
Room clean, fully functioning appliances etcs.

Plus points - fridge with complimentary water and milk, breakfast (banana, small tub of blackcurrant/apple with granola & youghurt), fresh orange juice (left on a hook outside your room in small paper bag). All in good order and just what you need as a small snack to get you going in the morning.

Only slight gripes - noisy air-con and uncomfortable pillows (please provide pillows with more support, eg foam).

Room Tip: There are 6 floors, we were on the 5th which is quiet as it overlooks a very quiet side street. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hicksid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words, great to hear that you chose to come back - we do love having you here! Sorry to hear about the pillows, Give us the heads up before you come next time and we'll see what we can do. Thanks again for sharing the love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Booked early and due to staying over a four night period, was able to have the price average out to a little over 100 British pounds per night. Worth every pound!

First, large bath towels. Thank you! Also enjoyed the normal soap bar for hand washing which lasted our whole stay . Soap and shampoo in the shower was separate and nice. Finally, a UK hotel that understands one soap does not fit all in the shower :). Hair dryer had an "on" button, so no need to hold it down for use. TV was large and turns so you can watch in a chair or in bed. Lamps around the room provide adequate light without an overbearing overhead light. Switch systems and room key proved to be energy efficient. The breakfast in the bag was perfect for a midday snack and the water bottles were a significant bonus for us travelers touring all day. Restaurant was great, ate her several times for both breakfast and dinner and always had good food.

A.c. Works well, a quilted blanket on the bed was great for naps, and plenty of pillows a well. A stereo in the room is set to nice music and there is a wide assortment of coffee and tea. Curtains can completely black out the room. Wonderful.

Best of all, the staff! Anytime we needed something, it came straight away- ironing boards, towels, extra shampoo, etc. Fillipe spent a good fifteen minutes with me one night helping me plan my journey to the start of a tour at Victoria coach station . He showed me a UK underground website and printed my vouchers. Very nice guy!

If you are in the area, you must stay here. When returning to London, I will check Hoxton availability first!

Tips- fourth floor facing the office buildings was quiet, lotion in he downstairs restrooms, when you get off the tube at old street, go towards the wall painted in green by the book shop. Then,go up the ramp (not steps) and go straight . You hit the hotel easily!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to spread the love, we think it's bloody great that you like the hotel and dig the upgrades. We aim to please. We also think our staff are the best bit about us too - especially Fillipe ;-)

Hope to have you the in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNGARY
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed one night, partially based on the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. I travel extensively & would certainly say that I would not use or recommend this hotel (although it does appear I had an unfortunate isolated experience). In summary:

Negatives:
1) I arrived at 9pm to be told my room wasn't ready! After waiting 15minutes to get my room (not appreciated when travelling since 4am), I was then given a room that didn't exist! I walked around for 10minutes,eventually giving up. No apology on return to reception.
2) The front desk appeared more interested in having me get a drink in the bar.This is trendy and clearly popular, but I wanted a hotel, and more specifically a room!
3) Room was warm. Airco unit was loud. To sleep it was a choice,so I went with warm as I was exhausted. Maintenance needed but too tired and too late to deal with it.
4) Breakfast bag given to hang on your door if you wanted it in the morning. I did this before sleeping but no surprise it was empty at 8am in the morning.

Positves
1) Only one, duty manager apologized and waived the room charge in the morning. This was appreciated.

Not a positive experience. Think the management need to separate the thinking and focus on the hotel experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is a haven for hipsters of all ages. The staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. They were able to provide gluten free bread at breakfast (even though I hadn't warned them in advance as I usually do). The bedrooms were small but clean, comfortable and with great decor. They provide 1litre of bottled water per day, which I think is a great touch. A basic but tasty breakfast is provided but you can buy a larger (very yummy) meal in the dining room. The bar is jumping on Fridays and Saturdays, but doesn't go on too late so it doesn't disturb your sleep beyond 11pm. I asked for a quiet room, but I would still recommend ear plugs if you want an early night. The location is handy for sightseeing, and they provide a handy guide to the local area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Why thank you! Lovely to hear we have another fan out there and that you made use of all of the facilities. Hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,069 in London
1,563 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#350 of 1,069 in London
1,021 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#135 of 1,069 in London
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#139 of 1,069 in London
384 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,069 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Property: The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#96 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing