We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lavish yet unpretentious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #103 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The interior of this hotel is gorgeous. It feels like total luxury and super grand, yet at the same time it feels really comfortable. It's an amazing balance to have achieved as quite often hotels can either feel rather stiff and bland or so luxurious that you feel you cannot even sit down as you'll ruin the arrangement of cushions.
So the downstairs areas are great - you can find a cosy corner or tables for larger numbers. I ate with friends and the food was scrumptious.
The bedroom was small but perfectly thought through and I rather like having a snug little place for the night.
My only mishap was a faulty fridge that was not on. In the morning I brewed a big cup of tea and unfortunately poured lumps of sour milk into it. But this was quickly addressed with 2 fresh cartons delivered pronto. Staff were apologetic and it wasn't a biggy. Instead it just gave the staff a chance to prove how attentive they were.

Room Tip: I suggest higher floors and not facing Great Eastern Street if you want less traffic noise. I think...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HelenaNZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

SWIT SWOOOO. You are not so bad yourself ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you are a big fan of the hotel. Good to hear the milk was replaced straight away too. Hope to have you in the house again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,650)
There are newer reviews for The Hoxton, Shoreditch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,172 - 1,178 of 4,652 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Absolutely love staying here. The rooms are amazing with the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! The meals are excellent and while definitely feeling like a 4*+ hotel, there is nothing to make you feel uncomfortable at all!

Particularly liked the 2 VW Golfs that were welded together to form a 'snug' at the entrance!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MartinDomino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Ah THANK YOU! Great to hear you liked the hotel, not sure about those VW Golfs mind...must have of driven off ;-) Hope to see you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and can't express how comfortable the bed was. Really modern rooms and cool bar. Great location for nightlife(Hoxton), perfect for couples.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gilly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Great news, we're always more than happy to be labelled comfortable! Hope to have you sleeping with us again very soon. TA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

what an amazing hotel! The rooms are so slick, with high quality amenities and stylish decor. The staff were great, generous and professional, they bend over backwards to help you! We loved our stay, and the icing on the cake was the free Mango Bicycle rental, which absolutely made our weekend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Why thank you! What an amazing review ;-) Great to hear you loved the hotel and took advantage of the bikes too! Hope to have you in the 'hood again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here last weekend and can't rate it highly enough - nice contemporary styling, comfy rooms, great food and drink and attentive, friendly staff.

All at a great price for a central London hotel - we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hal b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Why THANK YOU! Great to hear that you dig the hotel, hope to have you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From check in to check out this Hotel was a wonderful experience. Staff are very friendly & efficient and I was checked in within minutes. The room decor was gorgeous & I love quirky design & features.
The bed was very comfortable and nice bedding too. I requested a very quiet room which had an interesting view of buildings but I was there for work so no time to sit looking out anyway. The bathroom was a great size with good strong shower and nice toiletries. The air conditioning took a while to work but great you can also open the windows for fresh air. The room was spotlessly clean.
Room service was excellent and the eggs benedict were perfection! Good coffee too all delivered piping hot!
The bar downstairs was full of life late at night so a great buzz around the building, but silence on the 5th floor phew!
I will definitely stay at this hotel next time I'm in London and look forward to my next stay,

Room Tip: Ask for room higher up than 1st floor if you want very quiet room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Why thank you, great to hear that you would recommend us and that you had a wonderful experience! Good work on the eggs benedict too - crackin' choice. Hope to have you in the house again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We loved everything about this hotel! Really cool & trendy, library-chic decor, rooms are not huge but a decent size for London and super functional. The bed was really comfortable, bathroom is a good size and the desk was very convient - the added books were a nice touch.

I really like the idea of using postcards to provide all required information including my favorite - how to keep fit while staying at the hotel. They have bikes to use, yoga on Sundays, a deal with a gym and a running club - fantastic!

Water, milk, coffee, tea and a light breakfast all free with the room and the food in the restaurant is great. We ended up having a breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails there on various days and enjoyed them all, interesting menu and good coffee too. The lobby is a great place to hang out and work or meet friends.

It is close to transit, the business district, the delicious food of Brick Lane and tons of great pubs & sports bars.

We called the front desk with non-urgent requests twice and had service delivered to the room within 10-15 minutes both times. Everyone was very friendly and helpful, this is definitely our go-to place in London from now on!

Room Tip: The hotel lobby, bar and restaurants are bustling with activity but you can't hear any of this n...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BCTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Why thank you! Great to hear you have so much love for the hotel and got involved in everything from the events to the cocktails. Thanks ever so much for the spreading the kind words. Hope to see you in the hood again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#67 of 1,071 in London
1,604 reviews
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#367 of 1,071 in London
1,037 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#131 of 1,071 in London
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#142 of 1,071 in London
406 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#301 of 1,071 in London
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £121 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing