We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #101 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The Hoxton Hotel on Great Eastern Street is a very friendly and modern place. The rooms are clean and the bathrooms are marvelous. You get a free "light breakfast" with fresh orange juice, yoghurt and a banana. The Hoxton Grill in the Lobby can support you with more food. The Lobby is converted into a bar in the evenings.
You can decide between a 2 min. walk to Oldstreet Metro Station or a 8 min. walk to Liverpoolstreet Station. The area is very nice and uprising.
But as it is in London, it is not very cheap but worth it!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank korti666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,846 - 3,852 of 4,777 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

Only 10 mins from Liverpool Street Station, The Hoxton isn't in the greatest of locations but once you step through those elegent front doors, greeted by the stone guard dogs, you could be anywhere in the world, so it doesn't really matter does it.

The staff on the reception desk were unbelievably helpful and friendly. The lobby setting with the Hoxton Grill adjacent is trendy and stylish with ample space. The elevators are clad in luxury leather and the halways are illuminated in neon!

The room was compact but all you could ask for. Clean, tidy, very well decorated and furnished to a high quality. The bed and bedding was uber-comfortable and the shower was superbly refreshing and the bathroom was trendy too.
With free wifi, phone calls, light breakfast, water and milk in the fridge, our anniversary stay was fantastic. And all for £1 too!

We WILL DEFINATELY be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryBirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I just returned from a short trip to London to take my daughter to college, and had reserved a room at the Hoxton because it is close to her residence hall. The entire experience was wonderful! The room was immaculate, bed comfortable,shower great. The restaurant has great food, in the dining room and room service. I recommend the sweet corn and basil soup. I did not travel with my laptop, but there are computers in the lobby for guests. It was a great place to stay...... I was comfortable, well cared for......... beautiful hotel, wonderful service.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
1  Thank klweaverMariettaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We really liked this quirky, modern hotel. the front desk staff was very helpful....there is free internet in the lobby if you don't travel with a laptop.....and the rooms are large by London standards. The only thing we felt was that the tube stop is not the most convenient in terms of location from the hotel and you have to change stations to get almost anywhere in London. Otherwise it is a small inconvenience for the great value if you book early for this pricey city.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

My friends and I stayed in this hotel for one night because it was near where we were heading for a big night out, and because it had been recommended. It certainly lived up to the expectations!

We got a very good rate of around £77 for one night (per room) and the reason they can offer it that cheaply is that you prepay, so if you cancel you don't get your money back. We were given the choice of twin or double and they also made sure my friends and I had rooms near each other.
The hotel looks great - stylish, funky and with a good restaurant (The Hoxton Grill) attached. The staff were also friendly and helpful.

Our room was not particularly big, but not particularly small either and it was decorated nicely with a good bathroom too. They have paid attention to the small details such as toiletries from Aveda, towels from Frette and the beds are comfortable too.

We had a meal in the restaurant which was also great. The restaurant was busy and buzzy with a good mix of people. Just because we were staying in the hotel, we all got a free glass of champagne before our meal which was a very nice surprise!
I would definitely both recommend it, and come back myself.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4,208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here for two weeks whilst working in London, had the family with me and found it to be a great place to stay. Clean, modern and very comfortable. Wifi very useful, flexible atmosphere for work and family, suits all who wish to stay somewhere different in London. Weekends very liveley for night life, right in the thick of things and perfect for visiting central London.

Only draw back is parking, beware being slightly over when parking at the rear (on street) as the wardens as faster than a wippet and seem to pop out from no where when you least expect.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
3  Thank Adman-lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We have stayed at the Hoxton about 6 times an have always had a great deal. We love the ethos of the hotel. No premium prices for staying in London. Good food and a drink at a reasonable price. They pride themselves on this, or at least they did.
Pret a Manger have sold this hotel to SoHo House and it shows in some considerable price increases. Food and drink have increased by approximately 25% since we last stayed ther in March this year. This is disappointing and against the initial premis of the hotel.
But, its still a great little urban lodge.............for now at least.
The surrounding area is quite scruffy and the tube station is quite intimidating with lots of people hanging around particlalry in the evening. Boris needs to extend his powers and get to work on Old Street Station and the surrounding areas and the hotel need to consider this if they want to increase the prices of the rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DINKIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHoxton, General Manager at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2009

Many thanks for your feedback. I wanted to write to you to re-assure you that the Hoxton remains under the same ownership.

Our Restaurant & Bar has always been operated by a separate company as we believe hoteliers are in large not great restaurant operators.

In May 2009, Soho House Group did indeed take over the Restaurant & Bar and having renovated it, re-launched it as the Hoxton Grill.

I was interested in your comments about pricing as we have worked with their team to ensure the price point remained at the same level as the former Grille - in some cases, the prices have fallen.

Elsewhere in the hotel, our pricing policy remains the same with lots of great value rooms throughout the year and we have just introduced 1 hour of free calls each day within the UK and the US and Europe for all guests.

I hope you feel this response answers your concerns.

Best regards.

David Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#374 of 1,078 in London
1,093 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,078 in London
1,694 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#130 of 1,078 in London
621 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#591 of 1,078 in London
73 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#170 of 1,078 in London
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £104 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing