We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
Ranked #100 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Hoxton Hotel is a very hip and trendy hotel. The rooms are small but cosy.The hotel is only 5min walk from the tube. The restaurant is good but nothing special (sometimes it's crowdy and noisy). When you walk in you get a "good" vibe. The lobby and the reception are in the same area and I liked it! The breakfast bag is ok but after a couple of days you need something different (but you can eat breakfast at the restaurant). I will go back again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,730 - 3,736 of 4,735 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2010

The Hoxton would be one of the coolest places that I have stayed. With a free rollaway bed in the room (and my wife and I) there was not much room left. The loud guests next door and the thinish walls affected one nights sleep- thats the negative stuff. On a positive note, good prices, free light breakfast (provided one for my daughter even though she stayed in the room for free), free one hour of calls back to Oz and many other countries and many extras that others charge very well for. Its located about 200m from Old St tube stop so very convenient. (there is a great and cheap soup place in the station) Tube travel is great-but not cheap by Oz standards. Buy a multiple day travel card but get one that works after 9.30 (peak) you will save some cash. There is a very good pizza/pasta place about fifty metres up on the left called Fire.
Hoxton staff are young, friendly, the bar and restaurant are good but it can get noisy and busy with the after work crowd. There is a small supermkaret directly acorss the road, a laundry further up and Jamie Olivers restaurant Fifteen is in walking distance.
The small touches, the reasonable price and the understated coolness of this place would bring me back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TulltheTraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

The hotel is set in an excellent area for going out and about for the day or evening, including Hoxton, Shoreeditch and Brick Lane.

The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms although small, are full of all the extras you need, water, cofee, tea and for once real milk.

The 1 hours freee phonecalls and free wifi are an excellent idea, although I didn't get a chance to use them. Breakfast is just enough to keep you going.

I also reccomend the restaurant and more importantly the bar. Some amazing cocktails!

Perhaps not a hotel to stay in, if you want to spend hours in the room but definitely a winner for a lovely comfortable stay and I'll be going back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairbear1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Go to the Hoxton. We had a brilliant stay. The lobby is one big social gathering area and it is quite trendy. The staff are helpful and accomodating. Our room was a little on the small side, although the bathroom was pleasant and nicely appointed. We loved visiting the Shoreditch and surrounding area. It is another interesting side of London and not really touristy. In the morning you can enjoy a light breakfast and there is fresh milk for the coffee and tea. We only paid £49 which was a good price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oceanangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Uber cool hotel within walking distrance of tube station. Very open and airy, staff dressed casually but super efficient. Stayed with my partner and teenage son just for one night but we all agreed that we'd be back. The room was really modern and spacious and we had a huge shower - liked the nice touch with the free Pears soap in the bathroom (which I bought home) and the free breakfasts left on the door handle were good (banana, OJ and granola/yoghurt). Nice American diner downstairs - looked cool but didn't eat there. Already booked the Pizza Express just down the road. Only paid £49 for the room - be even better if I could get one of the £1 rooms!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpecsX40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I've just got back from a 1 night stay at The Hoxton and all I can say is that we loved this place. We paid £99 for the night and although this is one of the more expensive rates for this hotel, we thought it was well worth the money. You get lots of great little extras included Aveda toiletries, Pears soup, Guardian Newspaper,Free water, Fresh milk and a light breakfast including yogurt, fresh juice, banana and we also got a chocolate bar as well.
The lobby area is great and very welcoming. The day we were there the weather was awful, non stop rain. So it was great to be able to relax in the lobby, in front of the large fireplace with a drink. We decided to eat in the restuarant that evening too and the food was really good.
We went to a couple of the places the next day, that were in The Hoxton guide and can really recommend the Diner, which was a really funky place. It sells great Milkshakes and burgers.
We really liked the area, not touristy at all which is definitely a bonus for us, full of quirky cafes and shops.

We loved this place so much that I think this will be the only hotel we'll consider when staying in London again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

The Hotel
We stayed here recently on a midweek getaway to London. You are greeted on arrival by a large and very stylish open plan lobby area with warm and friendly staff. Our room wasn't available yet (9am arrival into London) but the staff happily tagged our luggage for safe storage while we went out for breakfast and a wander. The bar restaurant area is all leather seats/cubicles and bare industrial fittings and bare brick making it look very modern but somehow at the same time inviting. Old Street tube station is about a 3-5 minute walk away.

The Room
The room itself, once we got in, was again very stylishly laid out if lacking a little in practicalities, like a place to store luggage. The bathroom while small was perfectly laid out with a large sink area and a walk-in shower cabinet with a large dinner plate sized shower coming out the ceiling, which did wonders at waking you up in the morning. Strangely, the bathroom only had one hand towel and one bathsheet on arrival. When I called down to ask for extra towels I was directed to the spare bedding bag located above the wardrobe! Would it have been so hard to just put 2 sets of towels out in the bathroom?

The room comes with a mini fridge which gets stocked daily with 2 bottles of mineral water, a nice touch when the usual is to pay through the nose for the contents in other hotel mini fridges. You also get a free breakfast bag each morning, when requested, containing a banana, a yoghurt and a bottle of orange juice should you just want something light.

Our room was unfortunately looking out onto Willow Street which was continually noisy each morning from around 7am with either delivery trucks, bin lorries or in our case road works. If we had been staying longer it would have got on our nerves. If you request an even numbered room then you should get a room overlooking the central atrium and will have a quieter experience as a result. It's probably best to request when booking.

Other things to note about the room; The coffee in it is great and you get a small fresh milk in the fridge each morning. The TV system is not great; its slow to respond and the internet part was rubbish, but on the flip side you get free wifi so good if you brought your laptop. There is a mini safe. There is not much clothes storage which would affect you if you were staying longer. The is a good air con system, which was welcome as the room was very warm through the night.

The Restaurant
We only ate once in the evening at the Hotel and it was a late night order from the snacks menu, the food that we had however was excellent. We had 2 breakfasts during our stay and again the food was superb. My wife had the blueberry waffles twice they were that good and I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg (great eggs) and the full english (all quality ingredients). My only gripe would be the price of the coffee; £2.50 for filter coffee seems rather steep considering the cappuccino, latte and others were also £2.50 and there was no suggestion of bottomless cups (free refill) on the filter stuff. We were just under £50 for 2 mornings of cooked breakfasts, but I guess that's London for you.

All in all I would have no difficultly recommending this hotel to our friends but with the added warning about getting the right room location to avoid both the view and noise from Willow Street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pivoprosim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#382 of 1,077 in London
1,075 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,077 in London
1,672 reviews
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#138 of 1,077 in London
565 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#153 of 1,077 in London
450 reviews
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#618 of 1,077 in London
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in London
#72 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £105 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing