We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of High Road House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
High Road House
Ranked #102 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On arriving at the hotel after an extremely stressful commute there, the staff were very welcoming and friendly, even offering us a choice of room at the front or rear of the hotel (we opted for rear to be away from the road). Our "tiny" room was much bigger than expected, a nice surprise. Excellent provisions (I would have been happy to stay in our room rather than to schlep over to Sheperds Bush for a concert). Only comment about the room was that the airconditiong/heater seemed to smell of armpits. When we returned later, it was a fairly unpleasant smell, but one you get used to! Overall decor of the hotel is good, although the carpets on the 3rd floor landing could do with replacing.
After the gig we came back to the bar (there was a function on in the club) - lookng forward to ean evening with no one talking on mobiles or taking silly photos (it's hotel policy that they're not allowed into communal areas). Unfortunately this doens't seem to be a rule that anyone else takes any notice of, and the staff have little authority to enforce. So, we only had a couple of drinks, and then got fed up of the overly loud drunks at the bar (don't get me wrong, this could have been me on a night out with the girls) and went to our enormous, very comfy bed.
Because check out isn't until 12, we could actually enjoy a lie in. Nice homemade bicuits and a cup of coffee and then to breakfast - nice healthy portions, although prices are steep, you don't really need any extras and go away satisfied! I had booked a stay and play package, expecting to spend our money in the bar the night before, but having gone to bed early, had £55 to spend on breakfast! I didn't need to eat again until teatime, let's put it that way.
SOHO, sort out the aircon and the phone policy and you'll have an almost perfect retreat :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinkerbellamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    22
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
39
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As soon as you enter the hotel it's easy to forget you are situated on the busy Chiswick high road. Our room was stylish and serene. I'd recommend the food also. Though we didn't venture out of the room, we opted for sitting in our fluffy robes and ordering room service.

If you do stay here and are driving, just be aware that you will need to park on one of the roads nearby and feed the meter. So have some change at the ready.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back of the hotel, so you are not facing Chiswick high road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Enjoy he British mentality and calmness with a great touch of tradition.
Super atmosphere. Always a pleasure to be at your place. Perfect place to meet friends and spend time, enjoy food. Great service, nice people.Thank you all

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Matild K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Nearly two years since I last stayed, but just as good as last time. The bed is still super comfortable, the fridge and magazine drawers well stocked, the quirkiness of a small boutique hotel twanging the emotions like no international chain can. No, there is no pool, no bellboy, no spa, no gym. But the reception service is good, the private dining room and public brasserie downstairs both served by young and largely (if not enitrely!) efficient staff. And the location in one of west London's smartest boroughs, half-way from the city centre to Heathrow, with an excellent antiques store next door, quirky little shops along the High Road and in Turnham Green Terrace, and the huge range of local restaurants and coffee shops, all make for a refreshing change for the jaded traveller. My wife, a regular business customer of five star hotels in Asia and Europe, loves it here. If you're travelling with kids, they will allow at least one to stay with you in the larger rooms. Call them and see what they can do. And there are kids' activities in the basement downstairs (not available at all times so, again, ask when booking).

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 7 have lift access, rooms 8 to 14 require you to walk the last flight of stairs. Rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

You really do feel a sense of luxury staying here and it is often possible to get extremely good rates, especially for a Sunday night. Beds are super comfortable, brilliant shower and everything you could possibly need is in the room, a large range of cowshed products, complimentary mineral water in the mini bar, homemade cookies in the drawer, up to date magazines, hair straighteners, the list could go on!And they come in to turn down your bed and give you fresh towels while you are out in the evening. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402Ellie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I greatly enjoyed my stay at the High Road House. At check-in we were escorted to our room while the attendant explained the hotel and room amenities. The room was small but was well stocked with everything from a tea drawer (awesome), to an umbrella. Bed was "fluffy" and comfortable. The rain shower-head was fabulous and they provided a nice selection of Cowshed products along with toothbrush, razor, comb etc. The cafe service and food was very good (despite what I've heard about English food!). Chiswick is a vibrant area and was convenient for our business purposes . If you have the time I recommend taking a walk around Chiswick if for no other reason than to see the wonderful homes. The modest hotel entrance belies what a nice stay awaits.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Brilliant boutique hotel, very modern and chic with amazingly comfortable bed and awesome rainstorm shower! The room was small but they made up for this in clever design, so hooks around the room for clothes etc. Everything you wanted there including lovely toiletries (Cowshed) of which you could help yourself to their miniature selection and others to use in the bathroom. As a member of Mr and Mrs Smith we were given a complimentary shower gel. Attention to detail made a lot of difference and the biscuits for morning tea were home made with a variety of teas etc. This was the first hotel where we have been escorted to our room and shown how everything works and pointed out the fire exits to us (top marks!). There are stairs but a lift takes you to the 2nd floor and the reception staff will carry your bag to the 3rd. One small complaint is that our room was at the front and we had noise from the pub turning out for a while and if we shut the window it was too hot, although got rid of the noise.
The hotel is located a short walk from Turnham Green underground station so perfect for us and Chiswick is lovely. Recommend a walk down to the river and onto Richmond. Plenty of restaurants and coffee places in the area. Reasonable price too.

Room Tip: Ask for no higher than 2nd floor if you can't carry bags. Try to get a room at the rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Hammersmith / Fulham
Chiswick Rooms
Chiswick Rooms
#655 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
Clayton Hotel Chiswick
#182 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Premier Inn London Hammersmith Hotel
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#385 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Road House

Property: High Road House
Address: 162-166 Chiswick High Road, London W4 1PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — High Road House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your High Road House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Road House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing