We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value B&B”
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #33 of 573 London B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Had a bit of a worry when i booked, upon reading a few negative reviews. Decided to book anyway for the good price for the excellent location (102 pounds per night per family). Proved to be a very good decision, the place was clean, the breakfast was generous and the staff were kind. We discovered Coram's Fields nearby which is lovely for kids, and Covent Garden is not too far away either. The only setback is the noise in the street-facing room we got (room T1), but for us it was not that major.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed for a week in this B & B. The rooms are clean & neat, small but excellent value for money!
Great location & the English Breakfast was AMAZING! Friendly staff. Safe area. Great prices for London!
I would not hesitate to stay here again. Highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa_Delaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

I have been traveling to the area around Russell Square for over 25 years and have tried a number of B&B's in the vicinity, notably a number on Gower Street. I have now stayed at the St. Athans Hotel probably eight times over the last four years and find it very friendly and excellent value for the price. The first time I stayed I had a room on the street side at street level and agree with those who said that it can be noisy (although nothing like Gower Street, where even if you have a room overlooking the garden you hear sirens all night long). In the meantime, I simply ask for a quiet room when I book and have been a happy customer ever since.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilibet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Booked a three night stay at this hotel and can honestly say I have never been so disapointed in accomadation in the UK. We had a twin room down in the basement with two child size sigle beds ( looked like an old set of bunk beds) at opposite ends of the room which was pretty poky anyway (very small) There was only one plug in the room and guess what ! it was as far away from the mirror as it could possibly be in a small room. Also the plug was set down against the skirting board so any plug with a moulded cable would not fit anyway........ ended up with a 30meter extention cable from the plug round the room to the sink and mirror. Widow was loose and not fitted properly and there was a gail of wind whistleling down from the street into the room duing stay I had to push cortain into window to stop draft. Also the hotel is on the underground route and you can hear the trains trundeling underneth the hotel late at night and first thing in the morning.
While we were there work was being done in the breakfast area and we had breakfast at one long table along with 12 French students (hotel was full of young French who can be very noisey at night) I don't think I am a fussey person and I believe you only get what you pay for in life but !!!!!! as a frequent travelor I would not recoment this hotel to anyone.
I think this is a fair reflection of this hotel it may suit others but is defiatly not my idea of basic comfortable accomadation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOUSTY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefangeyer, Owner at St. Athans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thanks for your honest feedback. We're sorry you had such an unpleasant stay here. The management are looking into the issues you've raised about the room and are intent on remedying them as soon as we can. Can't do much about the students though- we take people from all walks of life, and it just depends who turns up on the day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

I flew into Heathrow and met my 20 yr old son at Kings Cross. We had not made hotel reservations and happened across the St Athans Hotel. It was mostly full but we got a 4 person room for the price of a three person. It was still less than the prices we were quoted at nearby locations. It was a climb up narrow crooked steps to the large room. The beds were fine but on rollers that could not be locked in place so they moved around easily. There were two bathrooms right out our door and plenty close by. They did get a little wet and messy during the morning rush but not terrible. A clogged toilet here or there seemed to be somewhat common. Breakfast was hot, good and plentiful. Wi fi in lounge and a computer too. Luggage storage in basement was handy and seemed safe enough (using reason with what you leave unsecured anywhere). 24 hours access via doorbell. Friendly and helpful staff. Paying by credit card cost me like 8 pounds more but I was warned of that at check in.
Overall you could do better….or worse. I had just flown into London and had not researched hotels. We stumbled across this and it was fine for a dad and his college son. I was not in London to experience my hotel. This is probably not the place to impress a girlfriend or wife. No frills, it’s close to the Underground and the British Museum is not far, good food, safe, warm, friendly, fair price. 5 min or so walk to Kings Cross / St. Pancras stations less to Russell Square station.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plantexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This B&B has:
-Excellent complimentary full English breakfast.
-Free wifi in lounge (you may be able to get it in a room close to the lounge, but there is no guarantee you will even be in the same building as the lounge anyway).
-Late checkout (12pm), and you can leave your bags if need be.
-Slightly odd ensuite appearance, look like they are built-in wardrobes. However the ensuites themselves are reasonable.
-Off-licences close by, as well as a small shop and a few places to eat.
-About 5-10 mins walk to Kings Cross tube/rail station.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garion046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

They should just stop calling it a Bed & Breakfast. Friendly staff, unfortunately unfriendly hotel design which is a maze. Family rooms are on the 3rd / 4th floors up narrow steep staircases and without ensuite. Depending on room location, closest toilets and baths could be in another wing or level. Access to hotel is by ringing the front doorbell and being let in. Free WiFi only in the lobby and breakfast room. TV in common room with a single computer for shared access. Decent breakfast but you've got to order it a la carte. Definitely unsuitable for families and those with some luggage. Value only for last minute bookings as mine was. Convenient location and clean premises are its only saving graces.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amak4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefangeyer, Manager at St. Athans Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

St. Athans Hotel can only be called a Bed & Breakfast hotel, as that's what we offer. I'll go through your remarks to offer some clarification. The hotel is located in 200 year old Georgian Terrace buildings that, by law- as we are Grade 2 listed for historical conservation, are not allowed to have lifts, so if you have loads of heavy bags it can be quite difficult (though if asked we will endevour to help). We do have family rooms on lower floors, but need to be informed at the time of booking if these want to be reserved. Public toilets are always close by, and if this is an issue we also have ensuite rooms to let. Yes we offer Free Wifi, which many hotels in our area charge for, we also have a computer in the lounge for guests also to use for free. Guests are able to order what they like from our breakfast menu so I'm not sure what is meant by A la Carte in this case. We have many families come through that are very happy with the St. Athans Hotel, and not just because our price is so affordable for central London, but because we have large rooms catering for up to 5 people, which the modern hotels don't offer. I hope that next time you come to London we can accommodate your needs better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#294 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#29 of 573 in London
239 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#16 of 573 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Macdonald Hotel
Macdonald Hotel
#44 of 573 in London
767 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 573 in London
177 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#18 of 573 in London
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £56 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel, Bloomsbury, is a simple, eco-friendly, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. It’s A grade II listed 200 year old Georgian terraced houses, retains many of its their original features, fitting in well with the historic area, and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London, Covent Garden and the new British Library. We’re also only a short bus ride away from many major the attractions, such as of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres, bars, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing