We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of St. Athans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Athans Hotel
Ranked #58 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Corona, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Great location stayed there for 5 nights and it only cost 180 pounds, great breakfast too and very helpful staff
The only set back is that there's no elevator in the hotel

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    262
    116
    34
    30
See reviews for
165
128
84
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed in the ensuite family room. It was basic, but very good access to the Russell Square station. Breakfast was hearty and plentiful. Small bath, narrow stairways, but overall we thought it was a great choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianag99217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

budget hotel. fully cooked English breakfast, the same everyday, but very tasty. location is FANTASTIC!! approx 15 minute walk to Oxford Street. staff very friendly and helpful. room is COMPACT and basic. the bedding needs to be replaced, I brought my own blanket which was clean. It was my second time staying here and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: room facing the street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetters000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. We really felt to be welcome here, staff is very nice and friendly, helpful and available at all times. If you need an hair drier or to chat about every subject that may come to mind, this is the right place! More than a hotel, this place looks like a hostel... where else can you find a block notes filled in by visitors full of local suggestions?
Obviously, this is no paradise: rooms are small (but clean), bathroom is shared, there is no lift (this is a 4 floor building). But price is definitely below average, we found it a very good deal!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polpi_viaggiatori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I have stayed here a number of times when work calls me to stay in London. It is nothing fancy and a lot of the rooms and furniture is quite old-fashioned, but it is very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The toilets and shower rooms (either en-suite or shared) are fitted out to a very high standard. Nice and clean as well as modern in style. The rooms are more basic, but the shower definitely makes up for it in my books! Was slightly dubious of the shared bathroom system, but there are so many and only ever a few doors away from your room that this was never a problem for me. Haven't yet had to wait to use the toilet or shower - bonus!

The English breakfast is a great start to the morning and staff always welcoming when coming and going.

Remember this is a 'no frills' hotel - you'll need all your own toiletries and wi-fi is only available in the shared lounge. Also beware the top floor rooms with large suitcases, as the last flight of stairs can get quite steep!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Clapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here twice in 2011, and found it a very well-run place in a very well-located area of London, by a friendly, hard-working, responsive family-operated team. The buildings' rooms are kept very clean even though they are older, probably former small attached homes. Breakfast was a freshly-cooked hot one, with other choices available.

As a very well-travelled person on a budget who has travelled all over the world, for many years, it's the sort of place I appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whale154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My father and I stayed at the St. Athans for 6 nights. We each had single rooms with a bathroom just down the hall. The rooms and the hotel were spotless, the staff friendly, and the breakfast hot and delicious. You can't beat the price for the lovely neighbourhood, in walking distance to Covent Garden and Leicester Square. There are great cafes, pubs and restaurants just around the corner on Marchmont Road, as well as an excellent cinema. I would definitely stay at this gem again!

Room Tip: If you're not very mobile, the rooms at the top of the hotel are a steep climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDNTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 557 in London
215 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#74 of 557 in London
807 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 557 in London
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 557 in London
742 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#248 of 557 in London
204 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#49 of 557 in London
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Athans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Athans Hotel

Property: St. Athans Hotel
Address: 20 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Athans Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Athans Hotel is a simple, clean, family-run bed & breakfast in the heart of London. A grade II listed Georgian terraced house, it retains many of its original features and is within walking distance of the British Museum, the University of London and the new British Library. It’s only a short bus ride away from the attractions of Madame Tussaud’s and London’s West End, with its many shops, theatres and famous night spots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Athans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing