We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belgrave Hotel London
Ranked #155 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, had a flight from Gatwick so was staying at Gatwick next night so decided to have a night in London prior to that, we chose this hotel as it was well placed for the A23 to get out towards Gatwick, and also was easily within walk of tube station within zone 2.

Hotel and room was nice enough, skipped breakfast but sure it would have been fine, and staff were friendly.

Recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee_Nolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ended up here as last hotel with any rooms at a reasonable price. Rooms are clean but small. Was not impressed when another guest had to let me through the locked front door as it was too much work for the girl on reception to press the button to release the door lock! On the first morning I found the shaver point in the bathroom was not working and reported it to the night porter as I left for work unshaven. On my return in the evening, still unshaven, I found the point still not working. A second complaint at reception found a man knocking on my door to fit said point. He oon decided that it was a loose connection on the broken point and then calmly told me that there was a second point in my room - IN THE SAFE???? He was correct , there is one inside the safe attached to the door - now who would think of looking there???

Breakfast was a dire affair - it is held in the basement and the appetising (or not) offering consists of a choice of cereal, croissant, orange juice, boiled or scrambled egg, ten, coffee, and toast with a mixture of spreads. If you want a decent breakfast, try the cafe across the road. When are bristish hoteliers actually going to visit a continental hotel (and not just in France) and experience a proper continental breakfast - it is actually far more substantial than a full english breakfast!

Not an establishment I would voluntarily visit again and I know genuine three star hotels which are far better. More like two stars would be an honest rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeithParker1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed for one night and chose this hotel because of its location and price. Really good public transport links into central London by tube and, especially, by bus.
Small clean room, helpful staff and a basic breakfast all at a good price (for London). Next time we visit London and want to stay in the same area, we will definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

OK, so it's not a true 4 star hotel, but in the Tripadvisor world, this is definitely worth 3.5 stars in terms of true value for money. I paid £95 for B&B (didn't stay for breakfast though) and have no complaints. It's close to Oval station, the room and bathroom were clean and well appointed and they loaned me an iron for the evening (boards are in the room), so I couldn't really ask for more. The downside is that's it's on a busy main road into the heart of the city, so the traffic noise begins at 6am, but that wasn't a major issue for me, but if you are a toursit and wanting a lie in, not ideal. I woul stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K500DCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I'm not sure why this was listed as a four star hotel because it's clearly not and this needs to be made clear. Positives for the hotel are its location (two minutes walk to the Underground) and that if you call ahead and reserve parking you get a secure place to leave your car (£15/day). However, their on-site parking is for only three cars and when I arrived the manager's car was parked in the entrance. When I reserved a space a couple of days earlier I had explicitly asked if I could arrive in the morning and park my car before heading into London and checking in later that night and was told "yes". So I was deeply upset to find myself leaving the car in the entrance and the key with reception so it could be parked when the manager returned later in the day. Thankfully fears of the car being stolen / damaged or the contents stolen were unfounded but one does fear the worst! After checking in later that night the room was small and while clean, the fixtures were old and tired and the shower unit was falling apart. Good powerful hot water in shower though. The hotel is close to the Heathrow airport incoming flight path so every 20 seconds you can hear a plane go by. You can also feel the underground which goes under the other side of the street. Nevertheless, it was the extremely soft, un-supportive mattress that resulted in a poor night's sleep. The so called continental breakfast in the morning consisted of coffee, orange juice, boiled eggs, toast and cereal. As we entered the room the few guests that where there jumped up and grabbed what little was left. Furniture was all cheap plastic. Quite embarrassing really so we went out for a proper breakfast in London. I had a great stay in London but the hotel was not a part of that. I will not be returning and I would not recommend staying here unless you're looking for something more akin to a hostel - in which case maybe this is perfect.

Room Tip: Double rooms at the rear of the hotel don't get street noise BUT this hotel is on the Heathrow f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewedwardcornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The first point is that this “hotel” is not rated by the “Visit England Association” as a hotel but in the much lower standard “guest accommodation” category, so the required standards to gain four stars are well down from the hotel category. I find this confusing when the establishment has hotel in the name.
However, the location of the hotel suited me as I was going to be in the area. The Oval underground station is very close, so quite convenient for getting into London but I am sure there are better options if you are going into town every day.
I was driving and I noted on the web site that there was a car park nearby; it did say that they could arrange it for you but as I was going to be there at the weekend I did not ask. When I got to the hotel they said the car park was full and pointed out on their brochure it said that you had to pre-book. So I had to park around the corner and lug my bags from there.
I booked a double room and I am glad I did, as even then it was fairly small but more than adequate for one person.
The staff were very friendly but were unable to give me change for the parking fee or able to give me any advice as to where was the best place to park as their car park was full; it can only park two or three cars.
I do not think I would return unless there was no other option.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back, not on the road to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

An OK hotel, clean enough, but a little shabby in places. Location was convenient for us, but there are better located hotels for central London. Seemed expensive for what it was, but probably the going rate for London. I doubt we will use this hotel again. There are definitely better options.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilesoldroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#181 of 1,077 in London
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 571 in London
786 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#37 of 571 in London
623 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel London

Address: 9-13 Clapham Road | Oval, London SW9 0JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £69 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Affordable 4 Star Guest Accommodation in Central London!" This bright, clean and friendly hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Oval Cricket Ground and Tube Station. Good-value rooms each have a flat-screen TV and private bathroom. The tourist attractions surrounding Westminster and Buckingham Palace are just a few stops on the Tube away. Waterloo Train Station and the South Bank can be reached in 10 minutes' Tube journey. Very close to Brixton Academy, the largest music venue in London. Our modern rooms at the Belgrave Hotel each feature satellite TV, a telephone, radio and tea/coffee facilities. Free Wireless Internet is available, and there is on-site parking. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, offering affordable accommodation with quality service. Check In: From 13:30 PM (24 hour reception) Check Out: Up to 10:30 AM Chargeable Parking Available (Advance Booking Required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belgrave Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing