We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“London 12 - 19 May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belgrave Hotel London
Ranked #153 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Mecke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Belgrave Hotel London
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

we stayed here for the weekend of the London Marathon and what a mistake that was the rooms were so small all the furniture was from the 70's staff were miserable and the cleanness was disgusting my poor husband ended up sleeping in the bath the night after he'd ran the marathon because the carpets must of had so many dust mites he couldn't stop sneezing when i pulled the covers off the bed I found a live spider in it and at the end of the bed lots of black hairs from previous customers I wouldn't even recommend this place to the most poorest of people and as for 4 star hotel that person that gave them this should of gone to spec savers 4star my a….

Room Tip: don't book any rooms here
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unfortunately a few gripes let down an otherwise enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. The room was OK, there was a good breakfast for the price and the hotel has good access to Oval tube station. Shower good strong and hot. The problems I had were that there are no power points near the bed and the wifi was poor despite lots of relay stations - just no bandwidth most of the time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StornowayKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We found this on booking.com when looking for somewhere to stay for my daughter going to a gig at the O2 Brixton. I did look at the various reviews and even cancelled the booking to see if something better would turn up and, although there were cheaper places available if I'm honest it was the available parking that swung it in the end. Very small car park so booking is advisable!

We had a family room (311) which was in the roof space and was compact but more than adequate for our needs. I have to say it was scrupulously clean. The pillows were not great - but then not many hotels are and I don't sleep well away from home most times anyway. The bathroom was great with a great shower. My only comment would be a hand towel would be useful but that's very monor.

The welcome on arrival was superb and four travellers were catered for by being able to use the staff loo which again was scrupulously clean.

Breakfast was simple but more than satisfactory and try as I may I can't find fault. Not that I am really trying to be fair. I can't say that I am VERY fussy but I'm no pushover either!

We will definitely use the place again and I WHOLEHEARTEDLY recommend it. Well done and thank you from the Ivory's!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyivory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I spent an impromptu night here as we needed somewhere to stay last minute and didn't want to have to spend the night on a friend's floor! It was sold to us as a 4-star hotel and seemed a good deal, but unfortunately didn't live up to expectations. The room was small and poky, with uninspiring furnishings and a tiny bed. It was at the front of the hotel where there was a lot of traffic noise. It was clean and tidy, with an adequate en-suite shower room. Breakfast was a somewhat unappetising spread of breads and cheap spreads. In summary, I'm sure this would suffice for a businessman needing somewhere to crash, but personally I think I would have preferred a free stay on a friend's sofa and nice breakfast elsewhere!

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the hotel to avoid overnight noise from busy main road.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We needed a hotel in a good location for NYE, and the Belgrave fitted the bill perfectly. Only a few minutes walk from Pilimco underground station, and 5 minutes from Victoria it was ideal. The hotel had a contemporary feel to it, and although the rooms were small they were very well decorated and very clean. Only downside was there was a slightly strange smell in our room, however this disappeared from having the window open for a few minutes and then everything was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I suspect that in a past life this hotel was a nurses residence....1960s building sandwiched between two C19th maternity hospital sites on the Clapham Rd. There are no exteriors of this hotel for a good reason...arrival is a truly heart-sink moment! On the plus side the man at reception was approachable and helpful when asked and the rooms were clean.....if very dated in a 1970/80s style. Breakfast in the 'basement' is not an attractive proposition no matter how 'budget' you are prepared to be! My room temperature was sub-tropical with no option of control and barely opening windows so a comfortable night was not possible. A tip to the management....removing sticky labels from door edges and brabantia bins might just help improve the sense that you actually value your rooms and customers.

I was here on business attending a meeting at the Maudsley Hospital so I suppose a little hardship to save the NHS and public purse is to be expected....in reality though the money spent could buy so much better in other (probably more central) parts of London.....My suggestion go to an Ibis or travel lodge instead.

Room Tip: Pretty noisy, on a flight path, nr to trains and right on a bust London A road I was on the first fl...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#183 of 1,072 in London
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#44 of 563 in London
603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#31 of 563 in London
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel London

Address: 9-13 Clapham Road | Oval, London SW9 0JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Affordable 4 Star Guest Accommodation in Central London!" This bright, clean and friendly hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Oval Cricket Ground and Tube Station. Good-value rooms each have a flat-screen TV and private bathroom. The tourist attractions surrounding Westminster and Buckingham Palace are just a few stops on the Tube away. Waterloo Train Station and the South Bank can be reached in 10 minutes' Tube journey. Very close to Brixton Academy, the largest music venue in London. Our modern rooms at the Belgrave Hotel each feature satellite TV, a telephone, radio and tea/coffee facilities. Free Wireless Internet is available, and there is on-site parking. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, offering affordable accommodation with quality service. Check In: From 13:30 PM (24 hour reception) Check Out: Up to 10:30 AM Chargeable Parking Available (Advance Booking Required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Belgrave Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing