We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & functional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belgrave Hotel London
Ranked #161 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap & functional”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

As a cheap business stopover this hotel is passable. Really more like 1980s student accommodation than a hotel but my room was clean, with working en suite.

Noisy location but very near oval tube so very convenient for town.

Plastic breakfast served in the basement.

There are worse hotels in the area, this is clean with friendly staff but it's a guest house, not really a hotel so don't go expecting luxury. If you're just here to sleep it's fine.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NinjaDetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    100
    64
    16
    22
See reviews for
45
108
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is literally 60 seconds walk from Oval Underground. Stayed here to see a show at Lost Theatre on Wandsworth Road. The owner was brilliant and - unprompted - gave my Mum and I a lift in his car to Theatre because my Mum couldn't walk that far and we were having problems getting taxi. He offered us a tasty cooked breakfast in morning which was a great surprise. Also available cereals, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cheese, fresh milk, juice + pretty good coffee machine (capuccino espresso etc). Single Room 316 I stayed in small, serviceable and clean. Desk Fan, Sky TV, lots of plug sockets, great hot strong Shower, Tea/Coffee, complimentary Dove Hand Soap on tiny basin and decent Shower gel/Shampoo. Bouncy but comfy mattress. Don't look out the window - view not great. Lift to all floors available, including basement breakfast room. Feels secure - buzz door to get into reception + key card to room works lights too.

Room Tip: single 316 is at end of corridor away from others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this hotel as it is a couple of minutes walk from the Oval tube station - 3 stops to Clapham Common where we were going to the Calling Festival.
The hotel looks like a block of flats from the outside. The double room was small and basic but clean. We got back late from the concert so we weren't aware we were literally next door to a building site until the loud, incessant drilling of concrete stated at 7.50 am. It was so loud it was as if the builders were in our room. Of course no-one mentioned the location of the building site when we booked!
The cooked breakfast was luke warm, but there was a fair selection of cereals etc.
The hotel boasts on-site parking - beware there is only parking spaces for 3 cars! £15 for 24 hours.
All the staff were very helpful, but we won't be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresaking2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here on business and from reading the reviews of other travellers I was somewhat apprehensive. The hotel had been booked for me by my client.

I have to say that I really couldn't fault the facilities or the service. Sure, the room was small, but this was only to be expected in a small London hotel. The bed was comfortable and the linen spotless. The staff were friendly and the cooked breakfast was more than adequate.
There are some good eating places across the road and the proximity to Oval station meant that getting into the West End was easy.

The only gripe I have is that the WiFi was pretty slow.
I'd certainly stay there again on a business trip.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

we stayed here for the weekend of the London Marathon and what a mistake that was the rooms were so small all the furniture was from the 70's staff were miserable and the cleanness was disgusting my poor husband ended up sleeping in the bath the night after he'd ran the marathon because the carpets must of had so many dust mites he couldn't stop sneezing when i pulled the covers off the bed I found a live spider in it and at the end of the bed lots of black hairs from previous customers I wouldn't even recommend this place to the most poorest of people and as for 4 star hotel that person that gave them this should of gone to spec savers 4star my a….

Room Tip: don't book any rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Unfortunately a few gripes let down an otherwise enjoyable stay at a reasonable price. The room was OK, there was a good breakfast for the price and the hotel has good access to Oval tube station. Shower good strong and hot. The problems I had were that there are no power points near the bed and the wifi was poor despite lots of relay stations - just no bandwidth most of the time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StornowayKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#194 of 1,068 in London
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea Guest House
#321 of 1,068 in London
960 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#517 of 1,068 in London
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel London

Property: Belgrave Hotel London
Address: 9-13 Clapham Road | Oval, London SW9 0JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Belgrave Hotel London 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Affordable 4 Star Guest Accommodation in Central London!" This bright, clean and friendly hotel is just a few minutes' walk from the Oval Cricket Ground and Tube Station. Good-value rooms each have a flat-screen TV and private bathroom. The tourist attractions surrounding Westminster and Buckingham Palace are just a few stops on the Tube away. Waterloo Train Station and the South Bank can be reached in 10 minutes' Tube journey. Very close to Brixton Academy, the largest music venue in London. Our modern rooms at the Belgrave Hotel each feature satellite TV, a telephone, radio and tea/coffee facilities. Free Wireless Internet is available, and there is on-site parking. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, offering affordable accommodation with quality service. Check In: From 13:30 PM (24 hour reception) Check Out: Up to 10:30 AM Chargeable Parking Available (Advance Booking Required) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belgrave Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing