We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel - handy for Haringey Station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #418 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Budget hotel - handy for Haringey Station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

White Lodge Hotel is 5 minutes walk from Haringey Railway Station so handy for the station. Good railway services to / from Kings Cross.

The hotel is clean and tidy and reasonably priced for what you get. Had a single room with shared shower and toilet. All clean and newish.

Breakfast is coffee / tea, cereal, hard boiled egg, yogurt and fruit. Basic but did the job.

Its not the Ritz or a hotel for romantic wekend away but for the money its ideal.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njd47559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    91
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
45
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Clean and cozy. Staff very helpful. In the town of Hornsey. Very relaxing town. Several good places to eat withing a 10 minute walk (japenese, Spanish, English Pub) 30 pound ride to Central London about 20 minutes. Good for sightseeing. Hotel rooms are small if you compare to the USA. Bathroom very small. One person at a time. Quite and clean. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed in the White Lodge for two nights on a citytrip to London. It was a very pleasant stay, the bed was good, there was a sink in the room and it was clean. The room wasn't large, butt we only slept there, so that wasn't a problem. There is a toilet and a shower with toilet on each floor, which you have to share with three other rooms. We never had to wait for neither the shower or the toilet, and it was clean all day!
The breakfast was good; toast, boiled egg, tea/coffee, juice, fresh fruit and cereals with milk. Also very important; the staff was friendly.
A budget hotel (52 pound per night, including breakfast) doesn't get much better then this. Only two remarks; the walls aren't very thick... and you do have to travel 45 minutes by bus and tube to get to the center of London.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bas_van_rheenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary, Europe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

We stayed 2 nights at White Lodge Hotel. It is located in North London, quite far from the center, but in a relatively quiet location. We felt the neighbourhood safe, because the police station is right next to the hotel. There were also bus stops nearby, it was easy to go to an underground station. Our room was a double bedroom without a shower, but it was not unpleasant. The shower and WC was shared with other rooms on our floor, but it was always clean. The breakfast (toast, boilled egg, butter, jam, tea, coffee, milk, o.j., cornflakes, fruits) included in the price, was also satisfactory. The wireless internet was 2 GBP for 24hours, good quality.
Compared to some other budget hotels in London, this was OK.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brekibrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

The hotel was pleasant and ran by friendly and helpful staff. The room was smaller than expected but still comfortable. There was a good selection for breakfast.
It has a close proximity to Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessTini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2007

This lovely guest house/bed and breakfast was home to us this year during our week-long, bi-annual trip to London. It was clean, easily accessible from the Underground by a short bus ride, reasonably priced, and the staff and management were extremely friendly and accommodating. While we were there, they were offering free broadband, which I was able to access from the common area of the hotel. Continental breakfast was available. Will we return? Absolutely!

  • Liked — Staff, cleanliness, convenient location
  • Disliked — Wireless broadband signal didn't reach our room
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Oberwerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2006

Never seen anything like it.... At first it seemed like a basic but clean guest house, and the girls working there seemed nice. Well, i didn't have a clue what was next! Arrived late at night, at about 2 in the morning. The room was very basic but clean so i said, well, is not as bad as it could be, but when i decided to have a nice hot shower after being travelling all day to my surprise there was not hot water! at first i thought maybe there was some kind of problem that could be easily resolved in the morning so i had a 'very' quick shower with freezing cold water and decided to have a chat with them in the morning. When i got up, after 11am, checked the water and was still cold, so i went to the girl in charge to explain the problem. To my surprise she said that they only had water until 11, and after that i had to let them know 15 min before if i wanted to have a shower so they could switch on the boiler!!! Can you believe that!!? Anyway, i thought, ok next time i will call them ant let them know. That night arrived at about 11pm and decided to have a shower as it was a very cold night and been walking around london all day. Tried to call the girls and no one was there, so AGAIN had to have a cold shower. So i decided in the morning i would have another chat and tell them that this wasn't acceptable. And the cold water was not the only problem they call you at 8am!! yes 8 am to ask you if you want your room done. And not only once, noooo, 3 times they called me, hour after hour!! And let me tell you, is the noisiest hotel i've ever been, banging on doors all morning, terrible. So for me, that was enough. i lost my patience and said that i would not take this anymore. They either switch the boiler all day or i was leaving. the girl said she couldn't do that so i decided to leave early and requested a reduction on the 2 nights i stayed without hot water. Spoke to the owner of the hotel and let me tell you, that woman has never heard about Customer Service. She even wanted me to pay for the rest of the days as she claimed it was 72h cancelation notice!! well, well.... she would not believe i was actually 2 days in a row with no hot water, she said that no one ever complained about it and it was her who actually had a go at me!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!! anyway she started to scream like a lunatic, she would not listen to me and would not understand that i had my rights as a customer. At the end decided to pay her the FULL PRICE for the 2 nights I stayed as i there was no way to make her come to her senses. Honestly, If anyone is thinking of going there, please, AVOID IT!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — AVOID!!!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank siggygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#567 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#456 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#441 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis Styles London Leyton
Ibis Styles London Leyton
#546 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Glenlyn Hotel
#477 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: 1 Church Lane | Hornsey, London N8 7BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #418 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private family-run guest house with 16 bedrooms located in North London. Awarded 'Three Star Guest Accommodation” status by the English Tourism Council. Very near to Alexandra Palace, host to a variety of exhibitions, concerts and a large ice-skating rink, and within easy reach of bus, train & tube stations to all parts of London. Most popular central London destinations are no more than 30 minutes away. Our motto: cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing