We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay, and the staff is brilliantly helpful”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #394 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“It's okay, and the staff is brilliantly helpful”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Keyword: gluten free breakfast.

Now I'm going to start with the bad stuff, because there was really only one thing: the walls of our room were really thin. We could hear other people talking all the time. Some of the rooms have a shared bathroom, which was on the corridor right next to our room, so we also got a lot of traffic past our door, which was clearly audible in our room. So that was the downside.

There's also the obvious thing that this hotel is not really in downtown London, but on the other hand: you walk a few minutes to a train station, and within 20 minutes you're at Westminster or wherever. Good connection to two major tube lines via Finsbury Park.

Now the good things: the staff was very friendly, they handed out maps and advice with a smile. We didn't take any breakfast because we require gluten free food and we didn't want to "take the risk," but when we were checking out (in the morning), the girl asked why we hadn't taken any breakfast, and when I mentioned the gluten she ran to the kitchen and came back with an actual range of gluten free products that we could have eaten had we only inquired… So that's a big thing if this is an intolerance you have: they know how to provide actual safe breakfast.

For the rest: it's not the best of hotels, it's not the most romantic of hotels, but it's just good. It's nice to arrive in your room in the evening and make some tea. What do you expect for such a (relatively) low price? Just don't book it if you cannot stand noise, but for the rest you should be good to go.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stygeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    97
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
59
47
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I just loved every minute at this super friendly spotlessly clean retreat in Crouch End/Hornsey. The rooms aren't large but for the price they're a great value. Already planning a return visiting friends in the area, which is loaded with fantastic shops, bakeries and restaurants.

Room Tip: The back is quieter, but I enjoyed the light at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meeka64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have stayed at this hotel in London N8 about 14 times now; the last time being last week, a stay of 10 nights. This year we spent another 10 nights at Easter (2013). We're booked again for another 11 nights at Easter next year, 2014. We feel totally at home there, comfortable and well cared for. All three girls are marvellous, starting with Aliki the manageress, Elena and Isabella. Nothing is enough for them, no problem too big to help you out with. Cleanliness is top of the list which is very important for us. I would and have recommended this gem to anybody as it is a rare find in North London.

Room Tip: Our favourites are room no 4 and 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jonah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I've recently stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. My room was clean but a bit on a smaller side. They also have a nice garden at the back where you can sit and relax. The people running this places are very friendly, especially Helena who helped me with London's public transport options. The only gripe I have about this place is that it was a bit on the expensive side and the room was a bit smaller than expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2013

I stayed at the white lodge for about a week in june 2013 and I really loved it. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was small but very clean and comfortable. The train station thats close by makes it easy to reach Kings Cross and from there you can easily get to anywhere you want. Will defenatly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our stay here last week for four nights was lovely.The room we had was at the back and very quiet.we were pleased that there was a hand basin in the room,and although we shared a toilet and shower there was also a toilet in the shower room.The breakfast of cereal ,toast and boiled eggs was fine.This B & B has recently been updated,the staff always kind and helpful.This hotel has been a great find and we will recommend it to friends and family!

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSV19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was going to a party nearby. My single room was small, as I expected, but it was clean and comfortable, the tea and coffee supplies were well stocked and the TV worked. There is a pleasant sitting room which gives the place a homely feel. The included breakfast consists of cereal, toast and boiled eggs, plus the usual selection of jams and marmalade. Perfectly adequate, though those expecting a full English breakfast might be disappointed. I imagine visitors to London who want to do the tourist things would find it a bit far from the centre, but it may still be worth it given the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wansteader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#325 of 1,067 in London
203 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Church Street Hotel
#486 of 1,067 in London
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leigham Court Hotel
#551 of 1,067 in London
274 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#239 of 1,067 in London
690 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#575 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: 1 Church Lane | Hornsey, London N8 7BU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private family-run guest house with 16 bedrooms located in North London. Awarded 'Three Star Guest Accommodation” status by the English Tourism Council. Very near to Alexandra Palace, host to a variety of exhibitions, concerts and a large ice-skating rink, and within easy reach of bus, train & tube stations to all parts of London. Most popular central London destinations are no more than 30 minutes away. Our motto: cleanliness and friendliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing