We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean but tiny rooms, great central location.”
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wardonia Hotel
Ranked #532 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean but tiny rooms, great central location.”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The good: We got a very clean first floor room, a very clean bathroom that's not the size of a shoebox, lots of tea and coffee sachets and a small and clean electric kettle, free wifi that's good enough for video Skype calls. The room has a heater, good for colder days. It's hard to argue about location being about 100m or so from Kings Cross Station and plenty of relatively inexpensive and quick food options around like Wasabi, Leon & MnS Food etc. The tv aired freeview channels only. Despite leaving windows open throughout the day and night (it was a warm summer day) and being near busy Euston Road, it wasn't noisy that we couldn't sleep. But do expect some urban buzz early in the morning.

The not so good:
The room is rather tiny, which would be problematic for those with large suitcases. There are no lifts in the building so you'd have to lug your luggage up some narrow but carpeted stairs. The rather narrow double bed (140cm width) came with a duvet (not brown hotel blankets) but the mattress had sagged in the middle.

Else, this hotel is ok for a night or two at most as it isn't going to be comfortable for anything longer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nklobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    439
    262
    71
    41
See reviews for
113
366
174
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Wardonia is a budget hotel so you have to have reasonable expectations. As an actor / writer I am in, out and around London accommodation a great deal and can recommend the Wardonia for the following reasons (based on my recent stay when I had a single room):

1. The room had everything I needed (en suite), was very clean and everything worked well.
2. It's location (3 mins from Kings Cross St Pancras) is unbeatable yet quite quiet.
3. Value for money. (I am more than happy to stay in such a room in London in August for £55).

Families, the elderly or people with a lot of luggage may find they would appreciate a lift (there are only stairs) and possibly a little more space, but compromise on those things are where the savings are made. For a clean, efficient and comfortable hotel in a fantastic location at a very good price, Wardonia is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinterTowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for the location alone, but i wouldn't return. I know not to expect much from budget hotels, especially in expensive cities, but this place is odd. There are only stairs, and the narrow winding staircases become hazardous with anything bigger than overnight bags. For some reason, we were the only people with bigger luggwge so the rest must have known! We were put in the basement, and the good part was the room was quiet. The rooms are extremely basic, and the photographs of the bathroom are skillfully taken, as they are actually tiny. I have not seen a tinier sink. The shower itself was fine and the best part of the whole experience.

We arrived in the morning after a longhaul flight, only to be told that check in was at 2pm. The young lady was not forthcoming with any further details, such as where we could leave our luggage or even interested in taking any details. It was very clear that we were irrelevant until 2pm. They have a luggage room but i had to ask if i could use it and also where it was. As with all luggage facilities, you use them at your own risk, but at this place the luggage room is unlocked, unattended to(except by guests) and in the general corridor. Just be aware.

The other staff were civil or cordial, but i have never seen such disinterested service.

Clearly it doesn't matter, as it is cheap and close to St Pancras.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iristraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed five nights, and were given a 3rd floor attic room (very small - the bed was only 40 inches across which is not even a double). No assistance offered to carry / drag our bags up the three flights of very narrow stairs. There are no surfaces to put anything, so difficult to unpack. Ensuite very small - you had to leave the door opened (which was jammed against the bed) to dry after your shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights , most of the staff were very nice always had a smile , the Reims were nice but hot .

However my experience was taughted by the events that occurred upon my check out .
I checke out early and settled my bill , the next day a lady from there calls me to say they have tried to take money out of my account as I haven't settled my bill , she was very rude and I had not given them permission to take money out of my card as I had stated when I first checked in , that I will be paying cash , my card is just for security yet they tried to take a payment , I then ha to take a taxi to te hotel to try clear up the situation , and the women at the desk was very dismissive , she apologiesed but you could tell it was just to get me to leave . Ruined my stay ...
26-th August 2013 room 401 and 215

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisburn
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

we booked into the wardonia sat 17th sept for arsenals first match(that's another story) there was 4 of us,we were told we were not staying in the hotel as there was 4,however the hotel owns several appartments 3 min walk away,what a good deal.it was a self catering apartment sleepn 4 tv cooker/oven fridge freezer shower box great little location for center of London.if you have a family great location,great cooking facilities if you want to cook in ,supermarkets near by,pub food good near by £10,50 steak,chips and pepper sauce in pub around corner.just across road from st pancras Euston rd.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonny41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Room was small but was ideal for what we wanted. Clean towels , comfy bed. Tea and coffee . Hair dryer in room . Good location . Nice pub next door . Lovely food and not over piced . Would stay here again staff friendly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#547 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#242 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#789 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#946 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Property: Wardonia Hotel
Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing