We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & basic”
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wardonia Hotel
Ranked #534 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean & basic”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Hotel is exactly as advertised; basic but does the job. I stayed with my mum and teenage brother for two nights in July, and we were satisfied. For some reason we had to stay in a different room each night, even though I'd booked 5 months in advance… We just had to make sure our bags were packed in the morning, before we went sightseeing, and then the hotel staff moved our stuff into the second room. Obviously would have preferred to be in the same room, but it was not the end of the world.

As everyone has stated, the rooms are small but we found them manageable. That said, if you carry a LOT of luggage you’ll probably want to look elsewhere and up your budget. Between the three of us we had 1 large, 1 medium, and 1 small suitcase, plus our carry-on luggage, and we managed ok—but it was tight (with quite a bit of stepping over things). There’s no real room to spread out and, like most budget hotels, there are no lifts.

If you’re looking for basic, clean accommodation for a short stay close to Kings Cross/St Pancras on a budget, then I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    436
    262
    71
    41
See reviews for
112
364
174
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed for 1 week.
The staff are great,there is a young girl working there and she is full of life and it is great to be welcomed with such a great smile.
I have stayed there before, which was ok but now the rooms have had a make over, the place feels so much warmer and brighter. It looks great.
Rooms are small but they are very very clean
I would recommend this hotel as it is in kings cross and not to far from the underground.
They also own a restaurant which I tried, very cheep, large portions and great food

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shampers192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent service by the staff, the room was clean but it's very small wasn't a issue for us in the sleeping area but the bathroom too small to move around in. Good location near the underground. Felt homely the rooms had proper keys instead of a keycard which I felt was better.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, room clean but very small, no where to set stuff on, everything ended up on Floor. Close to train station and Tube Station. Ask the recepetion info on 2 things both thing she didnt know. The luggage room is not secure you could just walk in and help yourself to anyones luggage. Also when we came back in the evening asked for our room key and was just given the key . Did not ask for identifaction or anything. This is a budget hotel and aws such suits that market.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eysus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stained sheets hairs in the bed I voted with my feet. I stayed 20 minutes whilst I phoned the Comfort Inn down the road and then left.
I stay in hotels in many locations with about 100 nights a year being normal. This place has taken the prise as regards standards of cleanliness

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split, Croatia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Hotel has good location in front of St Pancras Station, near King Kross station. It was clean, but rooms are really small and bath too. Staff was really nice and helpful. If you are looking good value for money, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gorana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#790 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#940 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Property: Wardonia Hotel
Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing