We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and service but beware..Tastecard bookings!”
Review of Tamarind

Tamarind
Ranked #11,447 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food and service but beware..Tastecard bookings!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very hot evening last week but we wanted a good curry and chose this one from the Tripadvisor reviews and the fact that it gave 50% of all food.We identified ourselves as Tastecard holders when booking.
Service was exemplary and the food was fresh,spiced and very tasty.So no problem with the quality however....
when we came to pay they had not discounted the food part of the bill by the 50% agreed and when I pointed this out they apologised and actually acknowledged that this was a Tastecard booking,so naughty!
When they returned the bill,they had duly taken 50% off the food bill but....added a service charge which amounted 20% of the food bill!
I pointed this out and they said that any Tastecard booking acquires a service charge of this level..!
This is very sharp practice and unprofessional and means that actually Tastecard holders do not get the agreed 50% reduction but in this case,only 33%!
Go here for great food and service but beware their attitude to not delivering the Tastecard contract.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“wow, the BEST”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

with a chef who won "Indian cook of the year" there is little that you can say, other than... PERFECT... service, food and price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PeteDavies_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

About time we had a better restaurant in king St. This fits the bill. The staff are pleasant and helpful the premises immaculate but the highlight is the food. I tried the rogan Josh. Very tasty. Take a trip here and enjoy.

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lot of restaurants on King Street - This has to be one of the BEST”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I travel to Hammersmith regularly and have been hugely disappointed with the quality of the food in the restaurants along King Street.

Tamarind Restaurant bucks the trend and provides wonderful food. The food is freshly prepared to order so expect a delay between order and serving. Fully worth the wait though. The fresh spices really bring out an authentic Indian aroma. Everthing was fresh and tasted super. I loved the doughy Naan bread!

I am an Indian so I am particularly fussy about Indian cuisine. The food in Tamarind is true authentic Indian cuisine. Be aware, when the menu says the dish is spicey ... it will be spicey.

Starters are around £4 to £7
Mains range from £7 to £10
Sides are £4 for a small portion and £7 for a large portion

I had the The Tamarind Mix (£5.95) Lamb tikka, chicken tikka served with salad & mint sauce. The chicken was very succelent and the lamb was delicious. For my main meal I had Lal Gosht (£10.95) Tender lamb cooked in a typical Bangladeshi style with pumpkin in chefs special combination of spices . Medium hot. Truely mouth watering. My saag aloo side dish was also super.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranjit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Could have been good, but......”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On the strength of a decent take away, we decided to eat in. Firstly, the restaurant décor is decent, modern but not devoid of character.

There were 3 other tables when we arrived, and 2 waiting staff. This should have been ample to allow for decent service, however 1 staff member was also taking out deliveries and the other was continually having to take incoming phone orders.

So from the outset, the wait to be offered drinks / poppadum's was too long, as was the time it took for them to arrive (on both occasions, we were going to leave, but they produced what we had ordered, just in time) I'd advise you NOT to order Poppadums (we had 2) plus some very ordinary dips, this amounted to £5 (should have flagged it at the time, as looking at the menu online today, we were overcharged.

The main dishes (as per our take away) were good. It would have been helpful however if the waiter had advised that one of the dishes, not listed on the menu, contained segments of orange in it, as this wouldn't be too a lot of peoples taste.

We had to send back both naan breads, as they were laden with salt. The manager advised that chef had put salt into the mix as opposed to a 'sweeter ingredient'

On this note, both the Manager and the staff acknowledged shortcomings and dealt with the issues well. This, combined with good main courses, gives them an average score, however there was enough going (or went wrong) to make a return visit unlikely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamarind also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Tamarind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing