We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confirmed booking not honoured - a disaster - not good enough” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #179 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Confirmed booking not honoured - a disaster - not good enough”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have been meaning to write this review for sometime.

This hotel is around the corner from our daughter's apartment. We stayed there on 10 September 2012 and thought it was very good and based on this experience we booked for the three nights from 18 October 2012. We left Boston in the USA on an early morning flight and arrived at the hotel Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill at about 10.00 pm only to be told "we don't have a room for you". I said but I have this email from you dated 13 September 2012 headed "Your booking is confirmed". Initially the young man gave me some cock and bull story about power problems, which I pointed out could not possibly be true as I had more than a passing knowledge of what he was waffling on about given in my younger days I worked for an electrician. I then demanded to see the manager who confirmed they had in fact over booked but would find room for me in another one of their London hotels. I told them the reason we booked the Tower Hill was it was 400 metres from our daughter's apartment and after 15 hours of getting to and from airports and flying I did not want to move to another area and then have to waste more time the next day moving back. In the end I asked them to get me the best rate they could at the place over the road (Grange Tower Bridge Hotel). It was an excellent hotel but a lot more expensive.

I could not get a satisfactory explanation as to why they had overbooked and can only assume that because of our late check in they had assumed we were "no shows". It was just not good enough and I was extremely annoyed after a long day of travelling. I certainly did not appreciate the bovine excreta explanation.

There was no follow up by Premier Inn management. I will be sending them a copy of this review and the booking confirmation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,107
    740
    145
    42
    21
See reviews for
763
585
70
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

Don’t be fooled by the outward appearance of this Premier Inn, it is still very large inside. All the usual you expect from a PI – comfortable bed, decent sized room, easy check-in and 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi.

Unfortunately we were on the second floor directly looking at the trains and despite reasonable soundproofing, the rumble of trains from (let’s say, generously, around 6am) was quite obvious.

Location is decent, five minutes walk from the DLR and Tube, but I wouldn’t rush to stay here again. The Wetherspoons pub across the road is a good size and very good value for a meal at any time.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the back of building, unless you wake up early anyway, need to wake up early or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during your stay with us. When booking next time, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel who will gladly allocate a room away from the tracks. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, PA USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Had one night here Thursday 5/9/13. Was able to book the same day due to another guest canceling. Not generally looking for a "budget" hotel but it was last minute and the location was perfect. The hotel is on Prescott St. and less than a 5 minute walk to the Tower of London and a 3 minute walk to the Tower Hill tube stop. The location makes a perfect homebase for the London visitor. Nothing too special about the rooms or service, they are clean the bathrooms were up to date and there is a Costa in the lobby. Again the location is the key to this hotel. If you plan on wandering around London with stops back at the hotel, This is a great choice. There are 2 public parking garages within 200 yards, our cost for 24 hours was 20 pounds.

Room Tip: Our "family room" was a normal room with a trundle bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review posted on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us at Premier Inn Tower Hill. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

A London city centre hotel is always a little hit or miss unless you pay megabucks. Well this hotel is really convenient for the city and tourist attractions like the Tower of London and Tower Bridge.

It's not in an attractive location but the rooms are quiet enough. My room was at the top of the building and had several windows which was good but also made it a little chilly when I visited. The heating was either on (hot) or off (cold) and I opted for hot. Woke up a few times overheating unfortunately.

The restaurant is a little depressing located as it is in the basement. Food was ok and service friendly enough. But the location is a little grim and likely to be populated by sad and tired business types. Use if its raining or you are lazy. There are better places nearby.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the review posted on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the hotel conveniently located close to Tower Of London and Tower Bridge. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MATTISHALL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here for a short family trip to London in April. Found it to be very Clean, and a nice big room with everything you need from a stop off hotel. The staff were welcoming and gave a friendly service. cant fault it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CATH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for chosing our hotel as your base during your family trip to London. I am very happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the team friendly and helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

i have stayed here a number of times and it is reliable clean and well staffed. Choice of food ok and lots of breakfast which is self serve. It is about 10 min walk to Bank and near tower bridge. found the whole experience pretty relaxed and enjoyable.

Room Tip: rooms on lower ground floor are dark and dingy so best avoid also en route to restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alphatangoae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review posted on our hotel. As a regular guest, I am very pleased to read you found the hotel and services consistent, and the overall experience enjoyable and relaxed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in London and who has a tight budget. We paid £59 for a room (non-cancellation rate, in advance via the website) for May bank holiday weekend.

Although the hotel is situated on a side street, it's only 5 minutes' walk to the Tower of London, Tower Bridge and the nearest tube or DLR station, making it very easy to access all of London's major sights.

On arrival, we were greeted by very smiley staff and allocated our room, which turned out to have a window overlooking the service area and bins. We asked if we could be allocated another room, as experience has taught us that service areas are very noisy first thing in the morning. This was no problem - all dealt with in a very friendly way. They asked if we would mind having a disabled room, and we said no - the only way this differed from our first room was that it had a slightly lower bed, but the bathroom was approximately double the size of the first one. We still didn't have much of a view, being at the back of the hotel (I wonder if the best rooms are allocated to people paying the full premium rate?), but Premier Inn deliver what they promise - a good nights' sleep, as it proved to very quiet at night.

On arrival, we had the option to pre-book breakfast for the following morning. This is £8.95 per person, and I thought that was quite expensive, but my partner heard the words "all-you-can-eat buffet", and his decision was made! It turned out to be very good value, if you like a bit of everything for your breakfast. There was a choice of about 6 cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, dried fruit, toast, muffins, croissants or a full fry-up. I'd book it again. One tip - we arrived for breakfast at about 8.30am. I'd advise against arriving any later than this, as there was a huge queue for tables as we left at approx. 9am.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant in the evening, as there was a Wetherspoon's Pub at the end of the street (The Goodman's Field) and we ate there instead.

To sum up - this was our first experience of a Premier Inn, and a very pleasant one. We've decided that we'll stay here every time we visit London in future, as it offers good service and value and is so conveniently situated for everything.

Room Tip: Ask for a disabled room if you want to get a really big bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EloquentSwanJoggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the brilliant review posted on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear the team were able to move you to a more spacious room, and that you booked our great value "All you can eat" breakfast at £8.95. I am glad to hear your first stay in a Premier Inn was great, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing