We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best premier inn we have stayed In and in a fantastic central London location to! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #203 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Large rooms, huge comfortable super king bed and 2 comfortable single beds for our kids (family room), large shower cubicle and powerful shower and air con, this is the best premier inn we have stayed Inn. Breakfast is a buffet but very good although prices have gone up to £9.25 a person but kids still eat free. As others have said it's very close Tower Hill station and the DLR line. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jlo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Firstly, let's get the negatives out of the way.

1. Why have they done away with the continental breakfast option? Not everyone wants to pay for a full English breakfast when all they really want is cereals, fresh fruit, tea/coffee and toast. I appreciate it's corporate policy but I suspect the Wetherspoons along the road might now benefit.
2. Food could have been hotter at breakfast - sitting under heat lamps is all very well but our poached eggs (cooked to order) were twice as hot as the bacon, sausage and beans from the counter.
3.The television set was smaller than the one I've got in my kitchen at home - you could hardly see it when lying/sitting on the bed.
4. First time I've ever had to pay to use an in room safe.

Now to the positives.

1. Very convenient location. Tower Hill Tube 5 mins walk,Tower Gateway DLR about 3 minutes and Aldgate and Aldgate East about 8 minutes. Lots of guided tours start from Tower Hill tube so really handy.
2. Large, quiet room with really powerful shower - probably the best I've ever seen in a Premier Inn.
3. Very comfortable bed - the best from any Premier Inn I've stayed at.
4. Very helpful staff, especially for breakfast and at reception.
5. The ability to store luggage having checked out but before heading home.
6. Excellent value if you book far enough ahead.

Bottom line - would I stay there again? Yes, but would seriously think about going to the Wetherspoons for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WaltR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Walking distance to Tower Bridge as well as the Tower Hill tube stop. Rooms were comfortable and clean, even the bathrooms. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Close to a couple of reasonable restaurants as well as the DLR station. Enjoyed my visit

Room Tip: If you really want two beds, for two people make sure you book the "twin" room and not the...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ginny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having stayed at numerous Premier Inn’s, the one at Tower Hill was ideal for attending the London Marathon. All of the staff I met and dealt with were excellent and possibly the best I have encountered at a PI. The room was spacious and met with what is expected of the chain. A comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom and well maintained. There is a coffee area with fresh made coffee and snacks. One of the vending machines was out of order which in an area with few shops close by was annoying. Had the buffet breakfast in the hotel twice and it is in the basement. We did encounter some the food not as hot as it should have been but staff were on hand to deal with any issues. On the Sunday evening following the London Marathon, one our party had partaken and we decided to eat in the hotel. Alas, the Thyme restaurant was in chaos. There was a problem and it was taking one and a half hours to get served with a meal. For a London hotel this is very poor. We had a problem with a Thyme restaurant in Norwich which resulted in a complaint. Reluctantly we had to go out and discovered Zizzi Restaurant close to the Tower of London. So Premier Inn, your restaurants need to pull their socks up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikewelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Well located within a 5 minute walk of the nearest tube station and easy to find. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a family room which was HUGE and the beds were SO comfortable! Despite our room being on the first floor and facing the main road, noise was minimal and not disruptive at all. The shower in the bathroom was very powerful and spacious and we were constantly provided with clean towels without having to ask. The breakfast was delicious each morning and there was always a constant supply of fruit juice, milk etc. It was great to be able to fill up before hitting London for the day to see the sights. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will most certainly consider staying there again when we return to London.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Arrived Friday evening but had already checked in online which was a bonus as arriving late, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Having a choice of pillows in the rooms made my day as the firm pillows were just like the ones at home - I normally bring my pillow with me when visiting hotels but as travelling by train was not possible. The beds were so comfy and the room was not too hot which was lovely we both had a good nights sleep. The breakfast was excellent we went at about 8.30, it was noticeably busier when we left around 9.20 but highly recommended and very good value for money.

Overall I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is in a good location for travelling about in London being near both the DLR and the tube.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuddsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Not too far from central London- this hotel was ideal for an overnight stay. We were able to check in a little early, not having to lug luggage around (Although they have luggage storage too if you can't check straight in) And we were able to visit some different sites in London i.e. Borough Market- which isn't too far at all. The only downside was that the room overlooked a communal area, shared by all the flats behind so for privacy we kept the curtains closed/almost closed.
The hotel was clean, staff were very friendly and it was in a lovely location for a trip covering both the well known, and lesser known sites in London.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £75 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing