We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly but clinical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly but clinical”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at this excellently positioned hotel on a mid-week break with the family. It was clean and the service was friendly if remote and a bit stretched. I couldn't fault the size or specifications of our excellent family room which was spacious, spotless an comfortable. Neither could I complain about the location, close to the Tower of London, Brick Lane, St Katherine's Dock and the City. However, this hotel has been shoehorned into a corner with little thought for views, light or air. The view from our room was a dark back street and the same applied to most other rooms. OK for business but perhaps not for a family holiday. Unlike most Premier Inn's there was no pub attached and the bar facilities were very poor, badly served and unwelcoming. The breakfast room was below ground and the staff were friendly but not really helpful. The hot food was a bit long in the tooth although the choice was excellent. there was no indication of what was gluten free or vegetarian.. Overall, a bit clinical but a good stay. Not as good as the excellent Southwark branch but OK.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,179
    793
    158
    46
    25
See reviews for
816
626
74
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room fine, food acceptable, staff helpful. This Inn very near to Tower Bridge which is what we wanted. Only fly in the ointment was the fact that we could not pay for a continental breakfast at the restaurant and referred to reception instead. This is an in house rule which is very irritating, although the waiting staff were apologetic about this. Four weeks ago we did not have this problem at a Premier Inn in Skipton, and Kendal, where this problem did not arise. Must be a London thing!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank streakfreak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Clean, modern rooms which were good value for money. Comfortable beds, with choice of pillows too. Great transport links round London and close to Tower Pier for trips up the Thames. £3 for 24 hours WIFI access too. Great value for money, good staff and a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time staying in a Premier Inn hotel and very impressed. Everywhere was exceptionally clean, room was a good size, no noise. Food in the restaurant was a excellent and extremely good value. Will definitely stay in a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. My daughter, son-in-law and baby grandson also stayed and they were given a lovely large family room.

Our room was very nicely decorated. Bed very comfy and the bathroom had a brilliant shower.

Breakfast was very good with juices, pastries and hot items to choose from.

They served 'Costa' coffee which was a treat and they even supplied paper cups for this who wanted to take one away.

For a budget hotel we were all very impressed with the overall quality and value for money.

We visit our son in London every year and we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor which looked onto an old church. Not a great view, but we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linmac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This hotel was ideally located for the usual tourist activities. Within 5 mins walk to Tower Hill tube station, which is opposite Tower of London. The hotel has friendly staff, clean and fresh rooms and good amenities. The staff made is feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Stayed with my husband and 2 children (13 and 6) and we all enjoyed our stay here. I would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I spent a night here when working in London. Reception was quick and friendly. My room - 508 - was very large but just had the bed and an armchair in it - it looked as if they had taken out a sofa and/or another bed, so there was this vast expanse of floor you could have had a game of tennis on. The TV was very small and was a long way from the bed so I couldn't really see it - I couldn't get the remote to scroll through the channels but that was probably me. So the hotel was OK and room 508 would be great for anyone fond of wide open spaces.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Motel One London-Tower Hill
Motel One London-Tower Hill
#149 of 1,069 in London
1,039 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,650 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing