We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does what it says on the tin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #211 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I often stay at Premier Inn as I know exactly what I'm going to get and this was no exception. A clean room, spotless ensuite and frendly staff. A reasonable price for a central hotel and a very short walk from Tower Hill tube station. I would definitely consider this hotel in the future and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,293 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family and I always stay at a Premier when on short breaks or airport stopovers etc. in my opinion you just can't beat them for the standard and good value. This particular one was the nicest I've stayed at and was superior to many other hotels that are far more expensive. Great comfy beds, fab breakfast and perfectly clean. In a word...fantastic!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank classica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at this excellently positioned hotel on a mid-week break with the family. It was clean and the service was friendly if remote and a bit stretched. I couldn't fault the size or specifications of our excellent family room which was spacious, spotless an comfortable. Neither could I complain about the location, close to the Tower of London, Brick Lane, St Katherine's Dock and the City. However, this hotel has been shoehorned into a corner with little thought for views, light or air. The view from our room was a dark back street and the same applied to most other rooms. OK for business but perhaps not for a family holiday. Unlike most Premier Inn's there was no pub attached and the bar facilities were very poor, badly served and unwelcoming. The breakfast room was below ground and the staff were friendly but not really helpful. The hot food was a bit long in the tooth although the choice was excellent. there was no indication of what was gluten free or vegetarian.. Overall, a bit clinical but a good stay. Not as good as the excellent Southwark branch but OK.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Room fine, food acceptable, staff helpful. This Inn very near to Tower Bridge which is what we wanted. Only fly in the ointment was the fact that we could not pay for a continental breakfast at the restaurant and referred to reception instead. This is an in house rule which is very irritating, although the waiting staff were apologetic about this. Four weeks ago we did not have this problem at a Premier Inn in Skipton, and Kendal, where this problem did not arise. Must be a London thing!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank streakfreak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Clean, modern rooms which were good value for money. Comfortable beds, with choice of pillows too. Great transport links round London and close to Tower Pier for trips up the Thames. £3 for 24 hours WIFI access too. Great value for money, good staff and a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time staying in a Premier Inn hotel and very impressed. Everywhere was exceptionally clean, room was a good size, no noise. Food in the restaurant was a excellent and extremely good value. Will definitely stay in a Premier Inn again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. My daughter, son-in-law and baby grandson also stayed and they were given a lovely large family room.

Our room was very nicely decorated. Bed very comfy and the bathroom had a brilliant shower.

Breakfast was very good with juices, pastries and hot items to choose from.

They served 'Costa' coffee which was a treat and they even supplied paper cups for this who wanted to take one away.

For a budget hotel we were all very impressed with the overall quality and value for money.

We visit our son in London every year and we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor which looked onto an old church. Not a great view, but we weren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linmac1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#321 of 1,077 in London
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in London
#97 Best Value Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: £67 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing