We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idea for our requirements”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chumleigh Lodge Hotel
Ranked #427 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Idea for our requirements”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My son lives in a flat in Finchley and this hotel made an ideal place for us to stay.
When we arrived and booked in we were offered a cup of coffee and a chat about the area and
how to get to the tube etc.

The room we had was a double on suite. It was clean enough and had a fridge and microwave which I thought was handy should we have wanted a snack. My one complaint would be that the on suite was tiny - like a caravan bathroom. It was about 1m x 1m its a good job I didnt have a cat with me as I certainly wouldn't have been able to swing it in there.

The breakfast was excellent. There was more than enough choice and catered for every taste.

Its not really a hotel its more like renting a room in a big house where you come and go as you please and help yourself to your breakfast. That said egg bacon and beans is offered if you want it.

One very positive point is there is loads of parking either on the forecourt or in the street.

I would certainly stay again if my son stays in Finchley and would be ideal if anyone needed somewhere to stay on business.

Room Tip: If you want a on suite big enough to actually get in then dont have room number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    14
    10
    27
See reviews for
24
18
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rude customer service. The owner was rude over the phone, hang up on us when we hadn't finished explaining our situation on arrival. Hardly ever answered the phone. No Lifts. Bedrooms are very limited. No warning on the bathroom step, tripped over several times. Would not advice anyone to visit this hotel, was not as expected and far too expensive for what the hotel offered. No facilities. Never answers the door, were kept waiting outside for ages for someone to let us in the hotel. We were spoken to like a child and not a valued customer. Awful staff, no shops around, middle of nowhere and when giving the key back for the room, their were no signs were to leave the key, no-one at reception so we had to ring up and took a while for someone to answer and even then he still didn't come out so we had to give it to the cleaner after 20mins of waiting! Will not advice anyone to stay at this hotel! Hotel looks haunted.

Room Tip: Hotel is awful in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Although not an exceptional hotel it did meet my expectations and is clean and in good condition.

The room was spacious and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent with good choice and plenty of food.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have issues with mobility then request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeneytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed with my daughter who was attending an interview nearby. We arrived cold, wet and tired at about 8.30pm having been caught in a downpoor. When we arrived the owner made us a hot drink and was very welcoming, he helped us to arrange a taxi to take me daughter to her 8.00am interview the following morning and also helped us arrange a take away meal as we didn't feel like going out again by this time as it was getting late. Our room although basic was very clean and warm. When my daughter went off for her interview which lasted all day, the owner and staff were very friendly as I waited around for my daughter. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I have stayed here on business a few time and always found it clean and comfortable the owner is always helpful and i would stay here again if i was in london

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Only getting around to reviewing this now after my stay here in November for 4 nights. Found it online. Rang direct to book a room. Found Michael very rude on the phone , not polite at all , acting as if he was somehow doing my a favour by letting us stay?! booked it anyway as i was at this stage very desperate and needed to stay around finchley. Checked on tripadvisor AFTER i booked and was horrified by some of the reviews. Was dreading the experience, BUT to my suprise i was greeted by a nice lady when i arrived. The room was a bit cold but had everything i needed and was clean. Bathroom very small though. I then met michael (the owner) who was so helpful and friendly i couldnt believe i was speaking to the same person. I slept in for breakfast so cant comment on the food but , overall my stay was a nice one. . and can honestly say it has taught me not to believe everything i read.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShuGal500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed here on business recently and although the hotel was pleasant and easy to find we did note a few points that were frustrating to say the least.

The first was that the hotel was very cold, heating didn't appear to be on which left us very cold at night, also the quilts on the beds were unsuitable for this time of year as they were low tog...

In the morning, we were served a rather small breakfast and also noted that the cutlery was not clean.

It took a while to find a hotel in the area we were working and wished now we had spent a little more time looking.... Disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
0.9 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#642 of 1,088 in London
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#434 of 1,088 in London
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#605 of 1,088 in London
84 reviews
2.3 mi away
Platt Hall and Writtle House
Platt Hall and Writtle House
#343 of 573 in London
1 reviews
1.8 mi away
B&B Iolanthe
B&B Iolanthe
#116 of 573 in London
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumleigh Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumleigh Lodge Hotel

Property: Chumleigh Lodge Hotel
Address: 226-228 Nether Street | Finchley Central, London N3 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chumleigh Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chumleigh Lodge is a highly recommended b&b option in a charming corner of London. A homely, family run 21 room London guest house with 3 diamond rating from the English Tourist Board located in a leafy residential area, just 20 minutes from central London. Convenient tube and bus services plus a wide selection of local activities and shopping options to enjoy. The nearest tube is Finchley Central (Northern line), 5 minutes from the hotel. Twenty-one well-maintained, tidy functional rooms, helpful, attentive service and a soothing, laid-back ambiance. Excellent value for families and groups of friends: quad and family rooms are available, breakfast included! Tidy, simple rooms with a choice of en suite or basic options with shared shower / WC in the hall.Local attractions include golf courses at Finchley, the Hollywood Bowl cinema multiplex and the expansive Brent Cross shopping complex, all within 15 minutes of the bed and breakfast by public transport. The iconic Wembley Stadium is also just a quarter of an hour by road. The West End, Leicester Square and the City are just 20 minutes direct by tube, highlights include the Barbican centre and the recently redeveloped Old Street area, offering a wide range of night time options from hip restaurants to cutting edge clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chumleigh Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumleigh Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing