We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bleak house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chumleigh Lodge Hotel
Ranked #416 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Huddersfeild
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bleak house”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

I feel bad saying this cos the woman staff member is lovely & doing her best but...the owner has cut every corner possible & the result is deeply unpleasant. Cold, bleak, in a state of disrepair. Was unfortunate enough to spend 3 nights here, never slept for one of them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jade b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    14
    10
    28
See reviews for
25
18
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a large and comfortable family room.
Close to the underground station and with easy and free car parking.
Suitable for good value stay for visiting London.
We had a microwave in the room and the host allowed us to have our dinner in the breackfast room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

in room 8 you have to share with hundreds of bed bugs for which i was bitten at least 20 times...on checking the duvet it was black and looked like it had been used to wash a fleet of lorries...the owner offered to wash our clothes but lost most of them and never apologised or was there to be spoken to,he left it all to one of his lackies who spoke little english,had little interest in our problems but olympic gold medallist personal hygiene problem...the chef refused to serve us a cooked breakfast on our last morning and he and the rest of the chinese laundry made sure they made enough noise all morning to make sure us night shift workers got little sleep...i will be getting in touch with environmental health to investigate this fleapit

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My son lives in a flat in Finchley and this hotel made an ideal place for us to stay.
When we arrived and booked in we were offered a cup of coffee and a chat about the area and
how to get to the tube etc.

The room we had was a double on suite. It was clean enough and had a fridge and microwave which I thought was handy should we have wanted a snack. My one complaint would be that the on suite was tiny - like a caravan bathroom. It was about 1m x 1m its a good job I didnt have a cat with me as I certainly wouldn't have been able to swing it in there.

The breakfast was excellent. There was more than enough choice and catered for every taste.

Its not really a hotel its more like renting a room in a big house where you come and go as you please and help yourself to your breakfast. That said egg bacon and beans is offered if you want it.

One very positive point is there is loads of parking either on the forecourt or in the street.

I would certainly stay again if my son stays in Finchley and would be ideal if anyone needed somewhere to stay on business.

Room Tip: If you want a on suite big enough to actually get in then dont have room number 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Rude customer service. The owner was rude over the phone, hang up on us when we hadn't finished explaining our situation on arrival. Hardly ever answered the phone. No Lifts. Bedrooms are very limited. No warning on the bathroom step, tripped over several times. Would not advice anyone to visit this hotel, was not as expected and far too expensive for what the hotel offered. No facilities. Never answers the door, were kept waiting outside for ages for someone to let us in the hotel. We were spoken to like a child and not a valued customer. Awful staff, no shops around, middle of nowhere and when giving the key back for the room, their were no signs were to leave the key, no-one at reception so we had to ring up and took a while for someone to answer and even then he still didn't come out so we had to give it to the cleaner after 20mins of waiting! Will not advice anyone to stay at this hotel! Hotel looks haunted.

Room Tip: Hotel is awful in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethany l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Although not an exceptional hotel it did meet my expectations and is clean and in good condition.

The room was spacious and well equipped. The breakfast was excellent with good choice and plenty of food.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you have issues with mobility then request a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeneytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed with my daughter who was attending an interview nearby. We arrived cold, wet and tired at about 8.30pm having been caught in a downpoor. When we arrived the owner made us a hot drink and was very welcoming, he helped us to arrange a taxi to take me daughter to her 8.00am interview the following morning and also helped us arrange a take away meal as we didn't feel like going out again by this time as it was getting late. Our room although basic was very clean and warm. When my daughter went off for her interview which lasted all day, the owner and staff were very friendly as I waited around for my daughter. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Finchley Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hendon Hall Hotel
Hendon Hall Hotel
#440 of 1,069 in London
629 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heatherbank Guesthouse
Heatherbank Guesthouse
#604 of 1,069 in London
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Golders Green North
1.1 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#476 of 1,069 in London
531 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bennys B and B
Bennys B and B
#102 of 558 in London
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chumleigh Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chumleigh Lodge Hotel

Property: Chumleigh Lodge Hotel
Address: 226-228 Nether Street | Finchley Central, London N3 1HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chumleigh Lodge Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chumleigh Lodge is a highly recommended b&b option in a charming corner of London. A homely, family run 21 room London guest house with 3 diamond rating from the English Tourist Board located in a leafy residential area, just 20 minutes from central London. Convenient tube and bus services plus a wide selection of local activities and shopping options to enjoy. The nearest tube is Finchley Central (Northern line), 5 minutes from the hotel. Twenty-one well-maintained, tidy functional rooms, helpful, attentive service and a soothing, laid-back ambiance. Excellent value for families and groups of friends: quad and family rooms are available, breakfast included! Tidy, simple rooms with a choice of en suite or basic options with shared shower / WC in the hall.Local attractions include golf courses at Finchley, the Hollywood Bowl cinema multiplex and the expansive Brent Cross shopping complex, all within 15 minutes of the bed and breakfast by public transport. The iconic Wembley Stadium is also just a quarter of an hour by road. The West End, Leicester Square and the City are just 20 minutes direct by tube, highlights include the Barbican centre and the recently redeveloped Old Street area, offering a wide range of night time options from hip restaurants to cutting edge clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chumleigh Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chumleigh Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing