We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western London Highbury
Ranked #544 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Just back from a weekend trip to London...stayed here and was quite satisfied with it, it's near a good tube line and it's clean and breakfast was adequate - all self service, no frills! The area is a bit dodgy so wouldn't walk alone late at night and clearer directions would have been helpful but overall I would recommend it as a good base for a sightseeing trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank TFlMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Best Western London Highbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

On the plus side, staff were very friendly and helpful, it was clean, warm, well-maintained and well-presented. Also I think the breakfast has been upgraded since previous reviews.
However the room I had was tiny - a crush to get past my briefcase, the traffic outside woke me at 4am (a very busy road), it was a long way from the tube and restaurants (though sandwiches available in reception) and the area didn't feel that safe.
Particularly annoying for me as I was working was the low strength wifi signal which meant I had difficulty downloading graphics and it stopped streaming a BBC programme part of the way through. No signal at all in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing Seven Sisters Road...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrscherylsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Go to this hotel if: 1. You don't mind ordering ahead your gluten free breakfast bread, checking twice with reception staff that the kitchen staff are ready and prepared for this need, then being told the next morning that they know nothing about it. 2. If you don't mind your safe not working. 3. If you don't mind asking for some help with your TV reception, being promised help, then forgotten and not given an apology 3. Being told (afterwards) that you should have asked officiously if you want your bedroom heating to be put on in late February, then being told the same when you wake freezing the next morning. 4. If you don't mind asking for the manager to ring you (not on the premises for the duration of the stay) then never receiving such a call. Bed and bedroom were clean, there was free wi-fi and morning receptionist did his best when clearly the hotel is not managed properly and communications sadly lacking. (The evening receptionists were trained to be breezy and seemingly polite but not to be professional).

Room Tip: Think carefully.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterMartin186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good location about 500 metres from tube, 3 stops from Kings Cross. Not far from Trendy Islington with good tube and bus connections. We were in room 105 on lower ground floor. Partial car park view. Room quite small but had everything you need. Heating could have been better. Bed comfortable but seemed smaller than a double. Breakfast OK. Only cold items.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_Lozinschi, Front Office Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback, we value your opinion. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Ina Lozinschi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Three of us stayed here for one night. We were very pleasantly surprised after reading some reviews about size of rooms. These were bigger than some London rooms we have stayed in. Showers were hot and powerful, breakfast was fine for continental. The real service came two days later when after realising I had left my wash bag they promptly and efficiently arranged the posting to me. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank somersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_Lozinschi, Front Office Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, it is always rewarding to know that we provided great service. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that we can welcome you again in the future.

Ina Lozinschi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Clean & good value, great for wrestling fans & also Buccaneers fans. great views a not far to Clearwater beach Staff very good also helped us when our flight was cancelled Have stayed here before & hope to again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_Lozinschi, Front Office Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. The fact that you would stay again is great news and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Ina Lozinschi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have used this hotel frequently in the past for business purposes. We required 1 nights stay for 2 people, single rooms, breakfast included.

After forwarding our reservation request we received an email back explaining that the hotel was very busy on the date required and they did not have any single rooms available but they did have 1 twin and 1 triple room available.

We would have accepted these rooms no issue. As regular customers to the hotel, we didn't mind paying the extra for the upgrade to larger rooms. However they also stated in the email that:

- There was a restriction of 2 nights minimum stay, that meant that at least 2 nights had to be booked in order to make the reservation.

We were hugely disappointed. As regular customers we now feel that our custom in the past has been unappreciated. We were absolutely not prepared to pay for 2 night's accommodation when we only required one and feel that it was beyond unreasonable of the hotel to request this.

Regardless of how busy the hotel may be, this is no way to treat customers. Needless to say we will be taking our custom elsewhere in future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I_Lozinschi, Front Office Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations.
We all know your company used this hotel frequently but under no circumstances our customer services can be described as "appalling". An e-mail has been sent to you the following day which I include below to clarify the misunderstanding, however it is your decision if you wish to take your business elsewhere.

"RE: Reservation Request
Sent: Fri 21/02/2014 15:41
To:

Dear Madam,
My colleague Maria gave you in her e-mail what was available in the system. Your reply excluded any possibility for reservations to have waved the restriction and exceptionally to accept your company for one night for either a twin or triple because this is what we have. Sorry we do not have a single room available.
We always try to look after our clients but very rarely it happens that there is a misunderstanding like this one. Therefore if you are still interested, you can have one night and please let us know as soon as possible.
For any other enquiries please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards,

Iliana Dimoni
Reservations
Best Western London Highbury"


Kind Regards,

Ina Lozinschi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Queens Hotel
#662 of 1,072 in London
218 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#897 of 1,072 in London
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Archway
#87 of 1,072 in London
673 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#591 of 1,072 in London
164 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#398 of 1,072 in London
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Highbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Highbury

Address: 372-374 Seven Sisters Road, London N4 2PG, England (Formerly Costello Palace Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #544 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western London Highbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western London Highbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London Highbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing