We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for London Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western London Highbury
Ranked #557 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel was very handy for sightseeing trip to London, 10 min walk to tube,15 mins on tube to centre London. Manor Park is actually nearer but only has one tube line, whereas Finsbury park has choice of 2 lines. There is a bus stop outside hotel, but we just used tube.
Family room behind reception was fine, 2 doubles and 1 single. good view of carpark, but hey, we weren't spending much time there
Breakfast was nice, no hot cooked stuff, but plenty to fill you up before heading out in morning. no queues, unlike some bigger hotels.
Staff were all very nice, especially the gentleman on reception at night, who got us a fan for the room, and always obliged us with ice for a cool drink at night.
Only downside was other guests who stood outside , presumably to smoke? and talked loudly unaware that with everyone's windows open their voices just travelled. This became very annoying at 2 in morning. However, it only seemed to be on first night, or maybe I was too exhausted the other nights to notice!!
Finsbury is a busy diverse area, plenty shops(Tesco, lidl etc) and banks, and a few noisy pubs at night, so after first night walking through we chose to come home via Manor park after our trips to city centre, as it was a bit quieter there.
All in all good value for money, and no complaints. (except for noisy guests, not hotels fault!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Novicegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Novicegirl

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you appreciated the staff and service, found us value for money as well as the location convenient, and enjoyed our breakfast offerings.

Our reception is manned 24-hours and my sincere apologies for a disrupted nights' sleep but am glad the disturbance was only for one evening.

I hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Best Western London Highbury in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed in London Highbury for 2 nights in May. the hotel is ideally located within a 5 minutes walk from the tube station Manore house or 7 minutes walk from the main tube station Finsbury park. The hotel area is very quiet and cosy right in front of the park if u consider walking or cycling. When we arrived we were welcomed from the hotel receptionist who was very helpful and informative. We had a good well furnished room with a plenty of space and a very clean nice bathroom. The morning breakfast was also nice with a quiet good selection of meals. I would highly recommend best western for a good value for money stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Ahmed E

Thanks you so much for your very kind words following your stay with us at the Best Western London Highbury Hotel and we are glad our location is to your preference and you like our rooms.

It was wonderful to read that the service you received by my reception team was exceptional. They were thrilled to hear your comment when I passed this on to them.

We believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day thus a variety and plentiful continental breakfast spread is offered daily and we are delighted you enjoyed it.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of looking after on a future special occasion and please do not hesitate to contact us at any time if we can be of assistance.

Kindest Regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night and there was 2x adults and one child.

Good
Friendly Staff
Good prices
They have parking onsite
Location


Bad
Small creaky old stairs that lead up to the rooms and we took the stairs as the lift couldnt take us with our luggage
Top opening windows, wasnt able to let in enough breeze, there was a fan but it's not quite the same


Could improve
Stairs and corrodors could do with a revamp

Conclusion:

Room was ok, location wasnt too bad. The train station was just down the road so you could get into central london fairly easily. Would stay again if we got a good rate.

However I wouldnt like to stay there if there was a festival in the park across the road (in the park facing rooms) as it was pretty bad with the street noise let alone a concert. Unless of course you are one of the attendees

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Scott G

Many thanks for your positive review via Tripadvisor! I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your 'Best Western Highbury' experience.

Rest assured we are constantly looking at ways to improve our facilities and softening our rooms is currently on-going in order to increase our guests satisfaction whilst staying with us.

For 2015, we shall be reviewing an improvement plan for our public areas as well as AC installation to beat the summer heat.

My team will be delighted to hear of your compliments about them.

Hope you will visit us again someday and do look out for special offers on our website.

Kindest Regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hotel is okay but if you are staying during a warm spell of weather the rooms to the back of the hotel are very warm due to south facing and no air conditioning. Also the double beds are rather small.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank N4595BBrobertk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear N4595BBrobertk

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site following your stay with us

I am really sorry the heat was too over-whelming for you during this summer. We had since placed a portable fan in each room following your valuable comments. Installation of AC units in all our bedrooms is a capital expenditure project we are looking at undertaking for 2015 and whilst we do open up the windows between the hours of 8-10am daily to naturally cool and refresh the room,

Our double beds are 4'6" X 6'3" (135cm X 190cm) and this is confirmed by our mattress provider as the standard double bed size available in most London hotels. I am pleased to announce that our current room softening project includes purchasing some king sized mattresses to replace some of our double-bedded rooms in order to enhance our sleep quality.

I do sincerely hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Kindest regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The hotel was in a lovely location across from Finsbury Park with easy walk to the tube. But it had no air conditioning and was on a busy street so the room was very noisy when the window was open. The hotel needs air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Annie K

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I'm delighted you found the hotel lovely and our location convenient.

I am sorry you found us noisy as every one of our rooms has been secondary glazed to prevent possible disruption from noise. We do have quieter rooms over-looking our car-park, however, many of our regulars prefer the park-facing rooms. Installations of air-conditioning is a project we are looking at for 2015.

Once again, thank you very much as we do truly value your feedback and it is important for us to listen to the needs of each of our guests in order to provide the best service and experience.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to Best Western London Highbury in the near future.

Kindest regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is idealy situated in the North London, 10 minutes walk from the Finsbury Park Underground Station. You can also use the bus to go from the Metro to the hotel if you don't want to walk at all or if you carry many luggages. The neighborhood is very popular, but this is not an incovenient, you can find there a lot of small places to by sandwiches or fast food, or have a coffee. The hotel is a nice healthy place with a gentle staff, very kind to help or give you any assistance you might need. Two only negative points for me: the quality of the breakfast buffet and of the bed (very small). I would recommand thos hotel for short stay or week end.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet but avoid rooms with the parking behind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lolo_Luciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Lolo_Luciano

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us.It is fantastic to read that you liked the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed being looked after by our staff and team here.

Please be informed we offer a wide selection of sandwiches, pies and a full bar service for any of our guests who would like to have a bite in the comfort of their room and this is available 24 hours.

Following your valuable feedback, a bed audit had been performed and all our mattresses and divans are under review as we speak and come 2015, we will also be adding king-sized beds in some of our currently double-bedded rooms to further enhance our 'sleep quality'. In addition, our continental breakfast quality and presentation is getting a face-lift, though i have to say, feedback from our guests remain positive due to its' extensive variety.

I hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Best Western London Highbury in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Conveniently located a short walk from the tube station across the street from Finsbury Park which was lovely. Rooms were nice, breakfast was good. But no air conditioning, had to open the window which meant the room was very noisy. Staff moved us to the quieter side of the building which helped. But hotel needs air conditioning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, General Manager at Best Western London Highbury, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Annie K

Thank you for taking the time to inform us of your recent visit to Best Western London Highbury hotel and I am extremely delighted to read you liked our room and extensive Continental breakfast offerings.

Installation of AC units in all our bedrooms is a capital expenditure project we are looking at undertaking for 2015 and whilst we do open up the windows between the hours of 8-10am daily to naturally cool and refresh the room, I am really sorry the heat was too over-whelming for you. We had since placed a portable fan in each room following your valuable comments & I am glad you were offered our quieter rooms following a disrupted nights' sleep, and for this, my utmost apologies.

We do hope that you will return on a future visit to London and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kindest Regards

Peter Ng
General Manager
Best Western London Highbury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Queens Hotel
#667 of 1,077 in London
226 reviews
Pembury Hotel
#892 of 1,077 in London
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Archway
#104 of 1,077 in London
720 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#287 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#268 of 1,077 in London
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western London Highbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western London Highbury

Address: 372-374 Seven Sisters Road, London N4 2PG, England (Formerly Costello Palace Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £66 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western London Highbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western London Highbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London Highbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing