We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is wanting”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Artusi

Artusi
Ranked #2,097 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service is wanting”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I live nearby and eat out in the area regularly so we were excited to see a new restaurant open up. The first time we went there they took our number and told us it would be a 45 minute wait - fine since we hadn't made a reservation - they never called us back. It happened again the next time but on the second occasion we elided to go and wait there until a table became available. We were told we could wait int he 'bar' no such thing - just a shelf on the wall. waited for quite a while to be served a rink until I had to ask for a menu and physically tap on someones shoulder to order. The selection of wine was OK but there were no other beverages - terrible selection of beers and sprits. a table became available and soon after we sat down the table next to us was filled with a group of loud drunk girls who were friends of the staff. The service was quite terrible. The girl who served us was arrogant and even sat on the neighbouring table while taking our order! One good thing was the food - although overpriced and in small quantities It was quite impressive, shame about the service - We just didn't feel ike valued customers, and they seemed quite arrogant! also need to improve selection of drinks for non wine drinkers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank i_funk_off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I can see this place if I stand on the pavement outside my house and so am very pleased to find it is very good - would be even better if we didn't need to book, but you can't have everything.

Have eaten here twice, a couple of weeks apart and so between us have tried a good selection of things from the menu. Everything has been very good or excellent although Dad found his onglet steak rather chewy although tasty. On balance I think the pasta dishes are the winners in the main courses, just beating the meat/ fish dishes by a whisker. The olive oil cake makes a fine dessert and I hope to eat it many more times in the future.

The bill for two of us was around £80 including three courses and a bottle of wine, and for four of us was around £110 including house wine and three courses.

Both times we ate earlier in the evening and it was made clear when we booked that the table would be needed again by 20.30. This wasn't a problem as service is timely without being rushed and both times we have found we were ready to leave before our time was up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danby35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent, Delicious and Great Value”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a restaurant hidden away in Peckham - it is fantastic. The food is absolutely delicious, the staff are friendly and helpful despite the place being seriously busy. A lot of people were disappointed not to be able to get a table whilst we were there so I advise booking first. Our food was exquisite. Very comfortable seating and terrific atmosphere. Highly recommend this wonderful restaurant as a great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaT1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good value”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Visiting my brother in Peckham Rye he mentioned he'd heard of a new restaurant that had opened on Bellenden Road. We didn't book, and were happy to find a table available at ~8pm on a Tuesday night. The menu was up on a blackboard. All the dishes sounded tasty. There was a selection of ~5 starters, then ~4 (home made) pasta dishes that could be had as either a starter or main, and then a list of mains & desserts.

We shared the starters of sausage rigatoni and an artichoke dish. Both were delicious, especially the rigatoni. My brothers lamb main was excellent, I had a beef dish which had great flavour although the meat was a little chewy. The level of cooking on both was excellent.

The wine selection was predominantly Italian, and the advice provided by the staff was very accurate.

Value wise, this was a high point. I'd expected higher prices in London restaurants, but this proved that you can have excellent food at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wazoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of potential”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We went here for lunch after walking down the street and noticing that the restaurant had no sign. We walked in to see a small but delicious sounding menu. The food was delicious and the pasta perfectly al dente. The best part was the price.

The restaurant is new and needs a bit of refining. For instance, the door didn't shut properly which meant we kept getting a draft.

Overall, great value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotterPatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Artusi also viewed

 

Been to Artusi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing