We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice, incredibly friendly and accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
Ranked #570 of 1,067 Hotels in London
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent budget choice, incredibly friendly and accommodating staff”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed here for work. I requested a room on the quiet side after reading some of the reviews and promptly received an email back from reception with the confirmation that my room was on the quiet side (room 418; seems like the higher the room number and on even numbers, the quieter the room is).
My room was kept for me despite checking in very late. I did call ahead to inform them of this and as promised my room was kept for me.

Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. They advised me of a great Indian Restaurant (curry special) around the corner of the hotel and phoned the restaurant to keep a table for me and my work colleague. The food was great in this restaurant and I can thoroughly recommend it.

Hotel is comfortable. Decent mattress, good shower, plenty of towels and very clean.
Breakfast isn't brilliant but was included in the price I paid. There is a continental selection, some yoghurts and fruit, sausages, beans, scrambled eggs, some decent coffees from the machine.
Parking was for free and there was loads of parking available in a decently lit parking place (outside, not garage) at the hotel.

Checkout was fast and efficient and again, staff was very friendly.
I would without a shadow of a doubt stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers on higher floors and the higher the room number, the further back to the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thebigtrip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    244
    91
    24
    10
See reviews for
112
140
31
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I was warned about how noisy this hotel can be, but as I was on a budget I decided going against my better judgements.

My room was clean, warm and suitable for the price I paid in the location I was staying (zone 4 in London).

The problem with this hotel is that they have a conference suite below the rooms which, when I stayed, had a party which played ridiculously loud music till about 2am. Once the music was finally turned off we then had to deal with the noise from their guests leaving who were all standing below our hotel room window screaming and shouting as they were all so drunk. There were about 3 fights that erupted that I personally witnessed.

We could even see residents who live in the flats opposite throwing stuff at the guests below and telling them to shut up. We just ended up having to wait it out as management don't bother to control the situation.

When i phoned reception to complain the person on duty easentially said they couldnt do anything to help. I don't see why our custom is less important than the party goers?? I've heard the hotel has parties and noisy weddings every weekend and on Fridays too so it would be worth thinking about what day you decide to book your stay for if you want a decent nights sleep.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank M_InTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Drunkfimble,
I am sorry that you have experienced a less pleasant atmosphere when you last stayed at our Hotel.
Unfortunately due to the nature of the noise we are unable to control people leaving the premises from the banqueting venue without having uncalled for confrontations, therefore we avoid our staff from doing so.
We do have contract security in place that unfortunately in this occasion didn’t control the crowd but I can assure you the duty manager did his upmost to control the situation.

Hope you will not be deterred from using our facilities again in the future.

Kind regards

Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Spent few days here between Xmas and New Year. Great value for London and good location. Tube station just 5 minute walk and 40 mins from central London. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast was fine - sausage, scrambled eggs, beans, toast, croissants, fruit so enough to get you started for the day. Gants Hill is one stop away on the tube and has plenty of restaurants to choose from but there are a couple of curry houses within walking distance. Would definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 857louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navsari, Gujarat
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 days during a business visit to London. The hotel's location is excellent and there are enough restaurants nearby.

The rooms are very clean and the daily service in-charge ensured that everything was in order.

The breakfast was good though it did not have too much variations on a daily basis.

The reception staff was very courteous and every query was answered to the note of satisfaction.

The only small drawback is that the Newbury Park tube station does not have escalator and so you will have to carry the luggage up the stairs. The hotel is walking distance from the tube station.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Stratford area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WALSALL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and i stayed here for a couple of nights between Christmas and New Year to see a couple of shows in London...Hotel is very clean as are bedrooms, staff are friendly and helpful and car parking is free for residents....Also free all you can eat breakfast...Undergound is only a couple of minutes walk away....Will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RALPHWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here November 2013 for a stop-over for visiting London.
Had absolutely no problems and would highly recommend. Wonderfully modern interior, impeccably clean and comfortable. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Room was light and the view over the city was beautiful. This hotel is in a great spot for visiting as was just a few minutes walk to the tube station. There were a few eateries nearby and we choose Mirage Steak Restaurant which was just a couple of minutes away.
Breakfast was plentiful, and I was pleasantly surprised as was expecting just a croissant and a coffee (as advertised as continental) however there was a good selection including some hot items (eggs, beans, sausages).
Plenty of parking available and this was charged at just £1 for 24 hours! (bargain!)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Drunkfimble,
I am sorry that you have experienced a less pleasant atmosphere when you last stayed at our Hotel.
Unfortunately due to the nature of the noise we are unable to control people leaving the premises from the banqueting venue without having uncalled for confrontations, therefore we avoid our staff from doing so.
We do have contract security in place that unfortunately in this occasion didn’t control the crowd but I can assure you the duty manager did his upmost to control the situation.

Hope you will not be deterred from using our facilities again in the future.

Kind regards

Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, Berkshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose to stay at this property as we were in this part of London for a party. The hotel is easy to find and the car park was good value at just one pound for residents staying for 24 hours. The reception is on the first floor and we were checked in to our room on the top floor within a matter of minutes.

The hotel is your standard Holiday Inn Express type of room with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom with shower cubicle and free internet access. Our view was nice as it looked over London and towards Canary Wharf which was nice to see at night when it was lit up.

We skipped breakfast as we enjoyed a lie-in instead. However, no one told us that check-out was 11am and so our phone rang at 11am sharp with quite a discourteous member of staff telling us to get out or our credit card would be charged. When I explained we had only just woken up and thought check-out was 12 noon, he wasn’t interested in the slightest and said we had to leave. When we finally showered and packed and headed out at 11.30am or so he still continued to call our room and threaten us with credit card charges for late check-out, not even affording us the right to speak and just hanging up on us.

In all, the hotel is a nice one, it's just a shame about the over-zealous and rude staff member who needs to learn that customers have a choice when they stay at hotels and overstaying our welcome by a mere 30 minutes could have been handled with a little bit more diplomacy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ascottowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Ascottowers,

I would like to applogise on behalf of the Holiday Inn Express Newbury Park for the less charming events you have faced during your stay with us. As you probably noticed we praize ourselves for outstanding costumer service. I can assure you this is an isolated incident and not a normal pratice to such extend. We do have a strict policy on overstaying in your rooms purelly based in the fact that we have a busy hotel and loads of times guests like yourself requesting early check in, not easy to please all as you certainly will understand.
Thank you for your feedback.

Hope you visit us again in anear future.

Julio Marques
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#414 of 1,067 in London
3,648 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
Address: 713 Eastern Avenue | Newbury Park, London IG2 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#353 Romantic Hotel in London
#364 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express London Newbury Park Hotel located on the A12 the main arterial road into the centre of London and within easy reach to the site of the 2012 Olympic games. The hotel is 3 minutes from the Central Line underground station giving easy access to Central London with Oxford Street only 35 minutes by tube, and to one of the largest public open spaces in London, Epping Forest. The hotel is at the very cutting edge of contemporary design and technology with wi-fi Internet in the public areas. Each room has wi-fi Internet access, individually controlled air cooling system, included hot buffet breakfast available for all residents. After a long day in the office why not unwind in our contemporary lounge bar area.With ExCel Centre,the O2 and Canary Wharf only 15 minutes by underground, London Newbury Park is an ideal base for the Corporate Traveller. Offering 82 secure Car Parking Spaces (£5.00 per 24hrs)you can leave your car and relax whilst you travel into London. With ExCel centre within easy reach we are ideally placed for conference delegates for World Travel Market, International Boat Show, or guests attending concerts. The hotel is adjacent to The King George Conference Centre and delegates have car parking facilities available on site(fee applie). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing