We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian inspired top notch hospitaly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Ranked #66 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

World of difference when stepping this property. Travelers that appreciate top notch service can expect that from check in to check out. I was though a bit concerned when I was in my bath enjoying views and I noticed one of the neighboring rooms were looking at me. The hotel told me they are working on it and apologized profoundly and offered to change my room immediately, even offering an upgrade. I did take them upon their offer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MarkCavNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear MarkCavNY,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you received top service from check-in to check-out here at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London. I apologise that you experienced a visibility issue, we are currently finalising the works that we will be putting in place to solve this problem but in the meantime we do advise guests upon check-in to use the electronic blinds for privacy.

I hope to welcome you back at some point in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,855 - 2,861 of 3,175 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

very convenient luxury hotel at London bridge! Decent pool, nice view from all rooms! Not a cheap choice, but a really god one. High level lobby, metro only 2 minutes from the hotel, excellent bathroom

Room Tip: no sneakers at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gery19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Gery19,

I appreciate you reviewing your stay. I am delighted to know that your stay with us was a pleasant one and in particular that you liked the bathroom.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We went there for a two night stay in August14 - and had a really great experience with Europe's best cityview from the room at 45th floor. The room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable furniture, a nice touch with the IPAD,WIFI and welcoming tea. Everything worked perfectly as expected, of a new hotel and in that pricerange. If you can - then try it and it will be a lifetime experience !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank PiaB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear PiaB73,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that your recent two night stay with us was so enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back again to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London soon.

Sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Arrived to lovely welcome, reasonable experience at checking in and the room was amazing - 50th floor overlooking Tower Bridge etc. Drinks in Gong at the end of our evening was fine. Then it all went pear shaped. Breakfast was like being in Fawlty Towers. I asked to move table as the noise of clattering and voices from the kitchen was rediculous. When we moved table it was not laid up completely, our earl grey tea took a further 10 minutes to arrive and we had to ask if we could order something off the A La Carte. We had English Breakfast at £32.00 per head. We were not asked how we would like our eggs and when it arrived about 20 minutes later it was cold. If the restaurant was full it would have been understandable but at 9.00am a lot of the tables had finished and some were empty and filling up again. Waiters were wandering around aimlessly with racks of toast not knowing where to put them and not even a friendly bit of chit chat occured so why would we be inclined to say anything as there was no confidence anything would be done . For a 5 star Shangri-La Hotel this hotel has a long long way to go to warrant a five star and I would currently be embarrassed to include this in my 'stable'. The brand always indicates first class and this is far from it. Considering The Ritz, The Mandaring Oriental and The Dorchester are also five star hotels The Shard falls a long long way behind in service. You expect some teething problems with a new jhotel but poor customer service should not be a teething problem in a five star hotel.

If you want a great view this is a great hotel but if you also want good service this in not the place at the moment until a serious amount of training has taken place.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Deborah B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am saddened to hear that you received this level of service during your stay, I have shared your comments with our TING management team so that these issues can be addressed immediately. We truly believe in providing excellent service, I do hope to invite you back in the near future so we can show you the level of hospitality that you should have received during your stay.

Kind regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed at the Shangri-la in June for our wedding anniversary. We had a great time, the hotel had literally been opened a week or so and the room we stayed in was completely brand new, nothing had been used before us, so it was pristine. The room was stunning and the veiws were fabulous.
We went to the restaurant Gong which again was lovely, the service was a little slow but they were just getting in to their stride, they had camera crew following them around the room which we are sure was a little off putting.
The bar was not yet open so cannot say what this was like, but going off everything else we think it would be amazing.
We will definately go back to try out the rest of the restaurants and bar. We look forward to doing so:)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Frances W,

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us for your wedding anniversary during our opening and I do hope to welcome you back again in the future to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London.

Best regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La for our wedding anniversary. Upon arrival, we were very unexpectedly upgraded. We were delighted. The suite we had was amazing and had great views over South and West London. The hotel is well designed and the sky pool is a particular highlight.

Importantly for us, everyone was very friendly and welcoming to our two year old son. Recommended for that very special holiday in your home town!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AleSueFra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear AleSueFra,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Kindest regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed one night as a surprise birthday treat midweek. Staff absolutely fantastic. Erol (concierge) was very professional and welcoming - the face of the hotel. From start to finish our experience was brilliant. Our room on the 48th floor with city view, was superb. King size bed with state of the art en-suite including toilet with heated seat and built in wash facilities - if needed!!! Only let down was piece of exposed chipboard with screws sticking out in wardrobe - possibly a rushed job? When slot in cocktail bar on 52nd floor was reserved - no guarantees of window seat, but they did us proud - window seat for two overlooking Tower of London. Breakfast excellent and food very tasty. Wide choice of food selection. Did not visit infinity pool - so cannot comment. Would definitely recommend a stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better for view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank littlemiscomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear littlemiscomplicated,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one but apologise that there was a maintenance issue with your room, if this was not reported upon check-out please could you let us know which room you were staying in and we will ensure this is fixed by emailing claire.hepworth@shangri-la.com or by calling +44(0) 207 234 8187.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#31 of 1,076 in London
3,629 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#38 of 1,076 in London
4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#90 of 1,076 in London
2,742 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,076 in London
2,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Address: 31 St Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £411 - £689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's first elevated luxury hotel - starting at 125 metres high - Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London occupies levels 34 to 52 of The Shard, Western Europe's tallest building. Situated in London's most historic areas, Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London is in close proximity to the financial hubs of the City and Canary Wharf as well as key tourist attractions such as Tate Modern, the Tower of London, St. Paul's Cathedral and Borough Food Market. The hotel offers 202 guest rooms and suites throughout levels 36 and 50, all with unparalleled views across London. Three signature Shangri-La wining and dining venues and three river-facing event spaces on level 34. Level 52 is home to London's highest bar alongside the hotel's infinity Skypool and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing