We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in the clouds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Ranked #68 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romance in the clouds”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

It really was romance in the clouds as advertised by the special package. We had a special anniversary treat and had the most amazing time. Could not fault the service, loved the attention to detail and relished the fantastic views from our room, restaurant and bar. Pleased we upgraded our room so we had a west facing one, we'll worth the small extra cost. We thought the package was good value - for example there were no extra hidden costs on ordering a la carte off the menu which other hotels often do. The massages were good and good quality champagne, again another bonus. The staff were always courteous and made us feel very welcome so after staying just one night we felt very refreshed. We also sought assistance from the Concierge who managed to get us a table the next evening at a restaurant which was fully booked on line. So overall the whole experience lived up to our expectations and even though we live in London it was an experience we would love to repeat!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear AandJLondon,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the romance in the clouds package and that you found the staff to be ‘courteous’ and welcoming.
We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,146
    489
    172
    74
    63
See reviews for
394
1,860
90
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked one night at the hotel for our 15yr wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the iconic city view rooms which was stunning with views across London including tower bridge, the gherkin, the cheese grater, wallis talkie and right across too the London eye and Big Ben.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like precious guests. Every member of staff was exceptional. From the trip in the speed lift to the grand lobby with amazing views while you check in, then whisked up another escalator to your room. Everything about the room was perfect, a real luxury treat. We had afternoon tea which was amazing.
I spent most of my time staring out of the windows and using the binoculars. The bed was very very comfortable.
Breakfast was another wonderful experience with dab service and a really lovely selection of hot and cold food.
Not cheap but worth every penny, I cannot rave about this hotel enough for service but the views alone make this so memorable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotsofbumper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Lotsofbumper76,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased your recent stay with us for your 15th wedding anniversary was such a great experience and in particular to know that you thought ‘every member of staff was exceptional’.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards,
Darren
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in an Iconic City View room. Even though the skies were grey, the view was breathtaking and the longer you look, the more you see!

Great room, full of creature comforts and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. From beginning to end the staff were great.

Special thanks to Miloj who served us dinner in our room as part of their "Romance in the Clouds" pacakge, a very nice chap indeed and made the occasion even more special. He is a real credit to Shangri-La.

This is our new London favourite hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear James1975,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the romance in the clouds package was an enjoyable experience. I look forward to passing on your praise to Miloj.
We hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Kindest regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

after my resent visit i have to say great rooms not only the view but really nice rooms, Unfortunately ... every else was terrible, basically no lobby to sit in for guest - over filled restaurant with no space for guests as it doubles as lobby, bar on 52floor closed until 5pm after no place to sit unless you reserve even then there might not be space for you as guest.... very very poor cell reception if you are on business this is NOT FOR YOU.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Torben_Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Torben_Hansen,

Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had a less than favourable experience with us at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London.

We do apologise that you were not able to get a table, when we send through our hotel confirmation letters we do advise that guests make a reservation in the restaurants or bar prior to arrival to avoid disappointment, however we do also keep back a few tables each day for our in-house guests but they do get filled up quickly.

Please note that as of a few days ago we have taken delivery of additional lobby seating to help minimise these issues.

I am sorry that you had problems with your phone signal, would you mind contacting us with information about who your service provider is so we can follow this up as we haven’t experienced this problem. Please email Claire.hepworth@shangri-la.com with more details.

Kind regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

For a birthday event, we treated ourselves to stay at the Shangri-La hotel at the Shard, London Bridge. Our room was located on the 43rd floor and we had amazing views overlooking the City of London with the Tower of London, Tower Bridge, HMS Belfast, London Bridge railway station, and down the Thames seeing Canary Wharf in the distance. The room was most comfortable with some excellent amenities. At night, with the London skyline lit up you could not have asked for anything better. We also tried the Gong bar on the 52nd floor, some most enjoyable cocktails and the Ting restaurant on the 35th floor where we had breakfast. Highly recommended just for the experience. It is one of those life time events you have to tick off.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Jim D,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday stay with us and that you experienced drinks in GONG and breakfast in TING as well.
We hope to welcome you back again to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London.

Kind regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night as wedding anniversary celebration. It was breathtaking in every respect. A real treat from the fantastic views to the attention to every detail. The views over the city were (as another review put it) impossible to stop looking at. Truly mesmerising.
I can thoroughly recommend this as an experience to enjoy for so many reasons.
The staff were attentive and well trained.
FABULOUS. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolly027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear dolly027,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, I am glad that you chose to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us here at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London and that you found the staff to be ‘attentive and well trained’, I look forward to sharing this feedback with my team.

I do hope to welcome you back for future celebrations.

Best regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I was suprised by my partner with this wonderful experince. I now know the reason for our trip was a marriage proposal, which made the whole experience even more special.

The hotel is pure elegance with attention to details. It has a permanent smell of beautiful insense which lingers everywhere. My partner upgraded our room as it was a special ocassion to a room with a "city view" and I was speechless when I saw it. Big Ben, the London Eye, Buckingham, Palace and so on. Our room had windows on two aspects so we also got a view of the Olympic Stadium, Velodrome and The Ghurkin. Unless you experience this view, you can't understand how amazing it is. It's even more beautiful at night.

The bathroom is luxurious, heated toilet seats, bath robes, slippers and Aqua Di Parma creams and shower gels, pure class. There is also a TV within the bathroom mirror!!!

We had VIP tickets to the viewing platform, the view is no better that high up but you obviously get the chance to see the whole view. We had a glass of champagne, £10 a glass but to be honest it felt right as we felt so amazed at where we were. There is a photographer but the photos are grossly overpriced, £30!!!!!! You can take your own as the effect is just as good.

We had a meal at Tings. The food is so tastey but not cheap!! The hotel and restaurant attracts the richer cients and we actually saw Nick Hewer from the Apprentice. Gong Bar is a must for the views alone, you must book in advance though and there's a minimum spend of £30. This is easily done with the prices they charge.

The hotel has an infinity pool which is a must. Again, it's elegant and beautifully decorated with a view to die for.

My only complaint was with a female receptionist. We had made a booking with Gong but when we wanted confirmation she struggled to understand basic English and got out surname incorrect,. Gong Bar consequently said we had no booking. We challenged her but she was very curt and almost rude, replying with a wry smile that we couldn't go in. My partner got anniyed and pushed her to call the bar again, which she did. She then realised that she got our name wrong and we did infact have a reservation. This young lady needs to perfect her English language, be less curt and make customers who have spend an awful lot of money feel special.

Apart from that, I loved every second of being in the hotel and hope taht one day we can justify the huge cost and return. Titally winderful and breathtaking.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supersilkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Supersilkley,

Thank you for sharing your review and feedback. Firstly congratulations, I am pleased that we were able to be a part of your special occasion.

I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your experience with us. I do apologise that there was a miscommunication regarding your booking in GONG but I am pleased that this situation was resolved, please know that I have shared this incident with the management team.
I do hope to welcome you both back again to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Best regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#173 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,958 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#27 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Address: 31 St Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's first elevated luxury hotel - starting at 125 metres high - Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London occupies levels 34 to 52 of The Shard, Western Europe's tallest building. Situated in London's most historic areas, Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London is in close proximity to the financial hubs of the City and Canary Wharf as well as key tourist attractions such as Tate Modern, the Tower of London, St. Paul's Cathedral and Borough Food Market. The hotel offers 202 guest rooms and suites throughout levels 36 and 50, all with unparalleled views across London. Three signature Shangri-La wining and dining venues and three river-facing event spaces on level 34. Level 52 is home to London's highest bar alongside the hotel's infinity Skypool and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing