We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning hotel but gaps in service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Ranked #68 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel but gaps in service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The location of this hotel is second to none, however the staff should be careful not to let this be an excuse for less than excellent service.
After check in, we went upstairs to the bar but we're told that we could not stay as we did not have a reservation! In all my years of travelling and of staying in comparable hotels, I have never had this happen. Surely hotel guests should have preference over non-guests or at lease some tables should be reserved for guests. Another gripe is that when we phoned reception to ask a question, no one answered the phone. When we called the concierge desk it took a full 5 minutes for them to answer.
However, our room was spectacular with views of the iconic sites of London and this made up for a lot!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank worldtravellergirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear worldtravellergirl64,

Thank you for reviewing Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London. I am particularly pleased that you like the location of the hotel and the room but saddened that we were not able to find you a table in GONG. We do keep several tables to one side for our in-house guests but due to the size of the bar the tables do go extremely quickly, I do apologise that you were not able to get a table on this occasion.

I hope we can welcome back again in the future.

Best regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,037
    476
    166
    71
    62
See reviews for
373
1,786
82
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

The best service I have ever received! Amazing service, everyone was so polite and helpful. The management team are incredible. By far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The food was amazing and so was the room. Amazing view! Definitely recommend the Romance in the clouds package. What a great experience. Well worth it! If you want an unforgettable experience no doubt this is the place you need to visit!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank alexandraescobar_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear alexandraescobar_157,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed our Romance In The Clouds package and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London.

I do hope we can welcome you back again in the future!

Kind regards,
Darren
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, Surrey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

What a magical experience. I booked the room as a 50th Birthday present for my husband. It may just have been coincidence but they gave us a room on the 50th Floor- directly underneath the Sky Pool as we worked out. The views are stunning. It was a beautiful City view room with a corner outlook. We looked directly out on to St Paul's on one side and the Walkie Talkie building on the other. There was a pair of binoculars available on the desk so you could pick out landmarks. The view of the lights of London at night is unforgettable. The room was so quiet and well insulated and the air-conditioning worked perfectly. The bed was vast and very comfortable indeed - the best night's sleep I have ever had out of my own bed. We had green tea in our room on arrival and a complimentary birthday cake. The service of the hotel and reception staff was impeccable. When it came to the Gong Bar for evening cocktails and Ting restaurant at breakfast there are still little improvements that could be made. We had to ask twice for our Tapas order in the bar and we had to ask 4 times for some coffee at breakfast but that can all be forgiven because we were seated at tables with such wonderful views each time. All in all this was a brilliant and unique treat. The perfect place for a special celebration. As a PA in my professional life, I have booked and organised events at many hotels and venues across London and this place comes highly recommended from me and is definitely the Top ticket in this great city right now. One final tip If you go to Gong Bar you absolutely have to order The Big Smoke cocktail for sheer entertainment value- a truly memorable spectacle. Thank-you Shangri-La we will come back one day.

Room Tip: It is so worth the extra payment to go for an iconic city view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_N_of_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mrs_N_of_Woking,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you celebrated your husband’s birthday with us and that you found the service to be ‘impeccable’. Thank you for the feedback regarding GONG and TING, I will be sure to pass this on to both management teams.

I look forward to welcoming you both back.

Kind regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

It really was romance in the clouds as advertised by the special package. We had a special anniversary treat and had the most amazing time. Could not fault the service, loved the attention to detail and relished the fantastic views from our room, restaurant and bar. Pleased we upgraded our room so we had a west facing one, we'll worth the small extra cost. We thought the package was good value - for example there were no extra hidden costs on ordering a la carte off the menu which other hotels often do. The massages were good and good quality champagne, again another bonus. The staff were always courteous and made us feel very welcome so after staying just one night we felt very refreshed. We also sought assistance from the Concierge who managed to get us a table the next evening at a restaurant which was fully booked on line. So overall the whole experience lived up to our expectations and even though we live in London it was an experience we would love to repeat!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank AandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear AandJLondon,

Thank you for taking your time to write your kind review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the romance in the clouds package and that you found the staff to be ‘courteous’ and welcoming.
We do hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich Norfolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We booked one night at the hotel for our 15yr wedding anniversary. We stayed in one of the iconic city view rooms which was stunning with views across London including tower bridge, the gherkin, the cheese grater, wallis talkie and right across too the London eye and Big Ben.
From the moment we arrived we were treated like precious guests. Every member of staff was exceptional. From the trip in the speed lift to the grand lobby with amazing views while you check in, then whisked up another escalator to your room. Everything about the room was perfect, a real luxury treat. We had afternoon tea which was amazing.
I spent most of my time staring out of the windows and using the binoculars. The bed was very very comfortable.
Breakfast was another wonderful experience with dab service and a really lovely selection of hot and cold food.
Not cheap but worth every penny, I cannot rave about this hotel enough for service but the views alone make this so memorable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lotsofbumper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Lotsofbumper76,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am pleased your recent stay with us for your 15th wedding anniversary was such a great experience and in particular to know that you thought ‘every member of staff was exceptional’.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards,
Darren
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in an Iconic City View room. Even though the skies were grey, the view was breathtaking and the longer you look, the more you see!

Great room, full of creature comforts and the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. From beginning to end the staff were great.

Special thanks to Miloj who served us dinner in our room as part of their "Romance in the Clouds" pacakge, a very nice chap indeed and made the occasion even more special. He is a real credit to Shangri-La.

This is our new London favourite hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonTheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear James1975,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that the romance in the clouds package was an enjoyable experience. I look forward to passing on your praise to Miloj.
We hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Kindest regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

after my resent visit i have to say great rooms not only the view but really nice rooms, Unfortunately ... every else was terrible, basically no lobby to sit in for guest - over filled restaurant with no space for guests as it doubles as lobby, bar on 52floor closed until 5pm after no place to sit unless you reserve even then there might not be space for you as guest.... very very poor cell reception if you are on business this is NOT FOR YOU.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Torben_Hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLaLondon, Hotel Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Torben_Hansen,

Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had a less than favourable experience with us at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London.

We do apologise that you were not able to get a table, when we send through our hotel confirmation letters we do advise that guests make a reservation in the restaurants or bar prior to arrival to avoid disappointment, however we do also keep back a few tables each day for our in-house guests but they do get filled up quickly.

Please note that as of a few days ago we have taken delivery of additional lobby seating to help minimise these issues.

I am sorry that you had problems with your phone signal, would you mind contacting us with information about who your service provider is so we can follow this up as we haven’t experienced this problem. Please email Claire.hepworth@shangri-la.com with more details.

Kind regards,

Jurgen,
Jurgen Ammerstorfer, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
London Bridge Hotel
London Bridge Hotel
#104 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#176 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,883 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#57 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#20 of 1,086 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Address: 31 St Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's first elevated luxury hotel - starting at 125 metres high - Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London occupies levels 34 to 52 of The Shard, Western Europe's tallest building. Situated in London's most historic areas, Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London is in close proximity to the financial hubs of the City and Canary Wharf as well as key tourist attractions such as Tate Modern, the Tower of London, St. Paul's Cathedral and Borough Food Market. The hotel offers 202 guest rooms and suites throughout levels 36 and 50, all with unparalleled views across London. Three signature Shangri-La wining and dining venues and three river-facing event spaces on level 34. Level 52 is home to London's highest bar alongside the hotel's infinity Skypool and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing