We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pub with rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #497 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked in with the wife to attend the beer festival and this is the closest accommodation to the venue. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a reasonable size bathroom. The staff were very helpful and check in was quick even though the pub was busy. Access to the rooms is via a separate entrance, so you don't need to go through the pub. One grumble about the entrance was it was constantly blocked by drinkers standing in the doorway or sitting on the step. People did move out of the way with no fuss, but it may disconcerting for some. The bouncer for the pub did try and keep the entrance clear.

The room was very warm (26 degrees), but the windows only open a couple of inches (probably to stop people falling out). There was a remote controlled fan (nice gadget) that helped keep us cool while sleeping. Noise is not too bad considering it is over the pub on a main road. The pub noise was not intrusive, so the traffic noise could be the challenge for any light sleepers (not me).

The main downside in the room was the lack of storage space. There is no wardrobe just three hooks for coats with two coat hangars and no cupboards or bedside drawers. We were travelling light, so it was not a major issue, but if you intend to stay for a week or more be warned space is a premium.

Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked eggs, good quality ingredients e.g. Herby sausages, thick hash brown and crispy bacon. They were out of black pudding in this occasion, so may be next time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will use the pub again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower during next years Great British Beer Festival.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

I really wanted to like this small inn above a pub, but as we stayed in late July and with no air and very little airflow it was completely unbearable. The weather was low 80's F / high 20's C which was apparently unusually warm. It did cool off at night, but this only helped a little as the rooms have no way to air out. We really should have left, but hotels were very full when we visited and we needed a 'family room' that slept 4. The last night was the worst and we slept with bags of ice next to us to get through.

The staff was very helpful otherwise and the food in the pub was excellent. The rooms are quiet, and the pub is family friendly. The location is ok but not great. The area felt safe and we walked at night as a family. There is a movie theater and restaurants within walking distance. The pub is located a half block from the Kensington Olympia tube station but this station is not on the line that goes to the main tourist sites (Buckingham Palace/Big Ben/Tower of London). You have to transfer, which can take longer at some times of day then taking the 10-15 min walk to Kensington High St . Station which has more direct access. The tubes also have no air and a 20-30 min ride to the sites gets uncomfortable quickly. Most places we went were on the district line between South Kensington and Westminster. When arriving we took the tube from Heathrow to Earls Court and made 2 small transfers to get to Olympia. The full trip took over an hour.

The inn is a bit worn down with badly stained carpet but the bathrooms were in a good shape and the paint fairly fresh. We stayed in 2 different rooms. The beds were quite comfortable. The shower in one had good pressure and temp, but in the other was poor. Staff is helpful with requests - you need to ask for irons, hair dryer, more soap etc.

The 1st room was in the front of the building and we had to open the window due to heat which subjected us to a flashing neon sign all night.

Room Tip: Do not stay here in July as no air conditioning. Highest floor is hottest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AdelePlus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one. Summer was extremely kind to London this year with temperature records being broken almost every day. Unfortunately for ourselves we were caught out and unable to purchase any form of portable air conditioning units as they were sold out everywhere in the UK. As good as our staff are and as much as we tried it was unfortunately difficult time for us and we will take appropriate steps to ensure next summer will be much more comfortable for our customers?

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Not really a hotel this, more of a pub with about 8 rooms, but if that's what you're after, book up.

The pub on the ground floor has a great atmosphere and the food served is a really good quality. You may expect the rooms to be affected by the noise of both the pub and the road, but it's actually pretty peaceful for a place in the city.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The bathrooms a little on the small side but well kept.

Breakfast is very good with a few nice dishes and lots of other choice.

The service I have had was exceptional. Very friendly people and helpful.

One thing to note: If you book a room, you will have to climb a few stairs (maybe 3 sets).

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phizco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review, our staff are always on hand to make our customers feel at home and you survived the stairs which is a bonus to all out guests!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

First thing to note is that these are rooms belonging to, and above, a pub. The room I had was nicely decorated nicely, in that boutique, home away from home style. Instant good points for me were the Nespresso, the large, very comfortable bed and the relative quiet, given that my room faced the main road. The bathroom looked great, but the shower turned to be pretty poor and the shower screen was far too short to prevent water getting everywhere - so sodden floor after every shower. The room was large but that's because there was no closet, dresser or any other furniture apart from the bed. This didn't bother me as it was only a short stay, but the room would definitely have benefited from having another full-length
mirror. Breakfast was good, with hot traditional eggs, bacon, full English available to order as well as help-yourself cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Staff were very friendly and helpful, I found - happy to oblige with requests for hair dryers, ironing boards, etc. I walked daily to Kensington High St tube station, which took about 10-15 minutes. There were plenty of shops and restaurants along that stretch of road and the area itself was very nice. Overall, I enjoyed the stay, but can't help feeling that a few tweaks and a little more attention to detail (substance over style) would've made it far more outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yeemui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we work extremely hard to ensure our customers have a happy and pleasant stay when booking with us. We hope you will choose us again in the future and see some of the changes that we have made since you last stayed.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Warm welcoming staff, so helpful, kind.. ace pub/bar/restaurant.. our room was comfortable, clean, had all the mod cons. was perfectly positioned for where we were visiting etc. Breakfast in the morning was gorgeous. On the day of departure, rather than lug our bags all around London, they let us keep all our luggage in their office. Couldn't recommend this place enough. Will definitely come back if we need to be in London again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krisalexanderuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for a fantastic review, it's always pleasing to all our staff when our customers take time to write about their experience. We hope to see you again in the none to distant future!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I wanted to find something a little out of the ordinary for our London vacation but really didn't want to give up the comforts of a regular hotel and didn't want to break the bank. The Hand and Flower exceeded my expectations. It had a very homey feel with extremely friendly and attentive staff. The building had all the great charm of an old establishment but the room was very clean, extremely well updated and really provided a 'sanctuary' to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. I found myself referring to it as 'home' after one day! The biggest treat, however, was the food: a simple continental breakfast (with melt-in-your-mouth pastries) was available for days in which we had to leave in a hurry, but if there was a bit more time to relax we had our choice of generous and amazingly tasty hot breakfasts as well. We also stopped for dinner one night and had what was, by far, the most exceptional food of our entire trip. I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The 'Sully' was fantastic -large and comfortable with a little panorama view of Hammersmith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kragtoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Hi and thanks for your time to write such a fantastic review. To all our friends stateside especially Minnesota we hope to see you all soon and welcome you all to The Hand and Flower once more.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Hand and Flower is situated close to the station Kensington/Olympia, West Kensington and bus lines 28, 9 and 10 eager to take you to city. You will not find a more wellcoming staff or cosy room. And the breakfast included in the price was second to none. We have never tasted it better in UK. Next time we need room in London, we will chose Hand and Flower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank guldbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we will no doubt have one of our fantastic breakfasts waiting for you on your next visit. Don't leave it too long!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#692 of 1,076 in London
2,639 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#613 of 1,076 in London
247 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#69 of 1,076 in London
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#507 of 1,076 in London
375 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#746 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
K West Hotel & Spa
#282 of 1,076 in London
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £92 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing