We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic House, Convenient location, Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #504 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Steeoed in interesting history, a London pub with 4 star hotel standard rooms above. This is really convenient for Olympia and Earls Court. The welcome was very friendly and staff helpful throughout. The room had excellent facilities, lots of space, comfy chairs and super bed. A Nespresso machine and iPod dock among the facilities. The rooms at the front are a bit noisy with traffic and trains. There is no lift, and many stairs to the upper bedrooms. Breakfast was very good, and available over long time.

Room Tip: back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many wonderful comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

We has a very good experience here. We stayed in the suite which was very clean bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good. in a relaxed atmosphere did not feel rushed. Thanks for a great stay

J Thornton

Room Tip: The suite was sunny and good transport links
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a lovely review, we're so pleased to be hearing so many great comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Due to the inability to walk very far and as I had to go to the Beauty Show at Olympia I decided to book into The Hand and Flower, so that the distance I had to travel was minimum. I was very disappointed when I found out that there was no lift. I need not have worried as we were greeted by a very friendly and jovial Craig, who was like a breath of fresh air, picked up all our bags and carried them up all the stairs to our room that was very clean and fresh.. Large enough to accommodate us for our stay and with 2 very comfy chairs a descant writing table and a fantastic bed that gave both me and my wife the best sleep for a long time.

Craig whenever we saw him was always cheerful and ensuring we were ok. and even gave us his phone number in case we needed him out of hours and insisted we phone him prior to our departure so that we didn't have to carry our own bags downstairs. The food was good and wholesome, hot and fast.

Well done Craig and his team and thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There is no preference, but there is a function room on the first floor, but the staff are so consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing and fantastic comments from our guests. Craig is one of our 'Super Heroes' and does a wonderful job in ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay. I know he will take enormous pride in seeing his name mentioned here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although the location may not be perfect for everyone visiting London, it was straight across the road from Olympia where I was attending an event. I've stayed here a couple of times now and the rooms are ideal for a short stopover in the city. Clean, traditional with a contemporary flair, and a good breakfast and the added bonus of having a Fuller's pub downstairs! I'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were greeted very casually though friendly on arrival. There's no lift which might be worth considering if you'd find pulling a suitcase upstairs any problem. The room was pretty and the bed was comfortable. Tea, sugar and milk was supplied, but no coffee though I'm sure we could have asked for it if wanted. We went down for breakfast at 9.30 and were hurried through it as there was some corporate entertaining about to begin. The English breakfast was OK but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel was just weird - an oversalted tasteless mix on half a soggy bagel. The hotel has some good points but I've stayed in much better places for the money, including the Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Earthscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review, we value all our guests opinions and take them forward to ensuring that we improve on our very next guests stay. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

WOW... What a delightful experience and Magda is a rock star. All the staff were so kind and personable but her kindness and attention to detail was so greatly appreciated. The food was a gastronomic delight... not typical pub grub. Yes Fish & Chips... Bangers & mash or a pie of the day are available but many other choices that should please the most discriminating palate with great detail given to the presentation as well as the preparation. Only tip if you have difficulty navigating steps this isn't the location for you... No lift or air. With regard to no AC... Large oscillating fans are provided that do a fine job of cooling. A delightful experience great location as it is very easy to navigate with bus routes and the Olympia Kensington train close by. When I return to London, this will be my first choice for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a fantastic review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing comments from our guests. Magda is indeed our 'Rock Star' and she will take great pride in seeing her name mentioned. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Booked in with the wife to attend the beer festival and this is the closest accommodation to the venue. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and a reasonable size bathroom. The staff were very helpful and check in was quick even though the pub was busy. Access to the rooms is via a separate entrance, so you don't need to go through the pub. One grumble about the entrance was it was constantly blocked by drinkers standing in the doorway or sitting on the step. People did move out of the way with no fuss, but it may disconcerting for some. The bouncer for the pub did try and keep the entrance clear.

The room was very warm (26 degrees), but the windows only open a couple of inches (probably to stop people falling out). There was a remote controlled fan (nice gadget) that helped keep us cool while sleeping. Noise is not too bad considering it is over the pub on a main road. The pub noise was not intrusive, so the traffic noise could be the challenge for any light sleepers (not me).

The main downside in the room was the lack of storage space. There is no wardrobe just three hooks for coats with two coat hangars and no cupboards or bedside drawers. We were travelling light, so it was not a major issue, but if you intend to stay for a week or more be warned space is a premium.

Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked eggs, good quality ingredients e.g. Herby sausages, thick hash brown and crispy bacon. They were out of black pudding in this occasion, so may be next time.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and will use the pub again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ger101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower during next years Great British Beer Festival.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#690 of 1,077 in London
2,728 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#618 of 1,077 in London
250 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#77 of 1,077 in London
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brook Green Hotel
#417 of 1,077 in London
347 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
463 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#498 of 1,077 in London
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #504 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £73 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing