We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Quirky Friendly Hotel and Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #409 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Quirky Friendly Hotel and Pub”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly manageress who checked us in quickly despite the pub heaving. Long walk to the top of the building however was eased by quirky Victorian Decor. Room was a suite (Peacock) and was lovely and cosy although because of the old sash windows noise from outside was noticeable. A compromise for originality. Smart TV, Coffee Machine, Wine Storage, Kettle, Toaster, Microwave all in the kitchen. Bath room nice, toilet dripped a little. Went down for dinner which was lovely, and wine, cost around £49 with drinks including starter and main for two people. Breakfast, which was included also lovely - cold buffet, and Hot Meal. We had a english breakfast and kitchen was accomodating to us. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lchanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. Magda and the rest of the team work extremely hard to ensure our guests stay is a pleasant one. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    127
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
61
89
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Steeoed in interesting history, a London pub with 4 star hotel standard rooms above. This is really convenient for Olympia and Earls Court. The welcome was very friendly and staff helpful throughout. The room had excellent facilities, lots of space, comfy chairs and super bed. A Nespresso machine and iPod dock among the facilities. The rooms at the front are a bit noisy with traffic and trains. There is no lift, and many stairs to the upper bedrooms. Breakfast was very good, and available over long time.

Room Tip: back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many wonderful comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We has a very good experience here. We stayed in the suite which was very clean bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good. in a relaxed atmosphere did not feel rushed. Thanks for a great stay

J Thornton

Room Tip: The suite was sunny and good transport links
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi and thanks for a lovely review, we're so pleased to be hearing so many great comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Due to the inability to walk very far and as I had to go to the Beauty Show at Olympia I decided to book into The Hand and Flower, so that the distance I had to travel was minimum. I was very disappointed when I found out that there was no lift. I need not have worried as we were greeted by a very friendly and jovial Craig, who was like a breath of fresh air, picked up all our bags and carried them up all the stairs to our room that was very clean and fresh.. Large enough to accommodate us for our stay and with 2 very comfy chairs a descant writing table and a fantastic bed that gave both me and my wife the best sleep for a long time.

Craig whenever we saw him was always cheerful and ensuring we were ok. and even gave us his phone number in case we needed him out of hours and insisted we phone him prior to our departure so that we didn't have to carry our own bags downstairs. The food was good and wholesome, hot and fast.

Well done Craig and his team and thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There is no preference, but there is a function room on the first floor, but the staff are so consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing and fantastic comments from our guests. Craig is one of our 'Super Heroes' and does a wonderful job in ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay. I know he will take enormous pride in seeing his name mentioned here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Although the location may not be perfect for everyone visiting London, it was straight across the road from Olympia where I was attending an event. I've stayed here a couple of times now and the rooms are ideal for a short stopover in the city. Clean, traditional with a contemporary flair, and a good breakfast and the added bonus of having a Fuller's pub downstairs! I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We were greeted very casually though friendly on arrival. There's no lift which might be worth considering if you'd find pulling a suitcase upstairs any problem. The room was pretty and the bed was comfortable. Tea, sugar and milk was supplied, but no coffee though I'm sure we could have asked for it if wanted. We went down for breakfast at 9.30 and were hurried through it as there was some corporate entertaining about to begin. The English breakfast was OK but the smoked salmon and scrambled egg bagel was just weird - an oversalted tasteless mix on half a soggy bagel. The hotel has some good points but I've stayed in much better places for the money, including the Hilton down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earthscan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to write a review, we value all our guests opinions and take them forward to ensuring that we improve on our very next guests stay. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthington, Ohio
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

WOW... What a delightful experience and Magda is a rock star. All the staff were so kind and personable but her kindness and attention to detail was so greatly appreciated. The food was a gastronomic delight... not typical pub grub. Yes Fish & Chips... Bangers & mash or a pie of the day are available but many other choices that should please the most discriminating palate with great detail given to the presentation as well as the preparation. Only tip if you have difficulty navigating steps this isn't the location for you... No lift or air. With regard to no AC... Large oscillating fans are provided that do a fine job of cooling. A delightful experience great location as it is very easy to navigate with bus routes and the Olympia Kensington train close by. When I return to London, this will be my first choice for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Hi and thanks for a fantastic review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing comments from our guests. Magda is indeed our 'Rock Star' and she will take great pride in seeing her name mentioned. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Simply Rooms & Suites
#562 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#656 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#61 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Brook Green Hotel
#321 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#459 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Property: Hand and Flower Hotel
Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #409 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing