We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only a mirror short of a five...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a lovely find this place was. I've stayed at the Hilton just up the road several times - also good - but have got quite into trying out these quirky 'pubs with rooms' lately, as am a tad bored with generic hotel rooms. The girl who greeted us was just lovely, and it was great value for a Saturday night so close to Christmas, too. And though you obviously can't sit in a resident's bar till the wee hours or whistle up room service, the room was superior to any I've stayed in lately; really spacious (and vast) comfy bed, flatscreen, a variety of teabags, fabulous decor, great bathroom, triple aspect etc etc. So we grabbed a bottle of wine and glasses down in the pub (which is a really nice pub, by the way) ordered food, then came down to get it 15 mins later, upon which the lovely guy brought it all up for us - together with cutlery, decent napkins, and salt, vinegar and ketchup in his back pockets :). We didn't go down for breakfast, but it seemed a lovely place to eat it, and I will definitely stay here again. Just one gripe; a hotel bedroom needs a mirror. Since you can't use an electrical appliance (hairdryer, tongs, straighteners, wands...) in a bathroom, you can't use the mirrors in there to do your hair. But it's only a small gripe and easily sortable. And I don't doubt they will. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you so much for this detailed review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Andie Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

My friend & I stayed here recently, convenient stopover for The Good Food Show. Wow, were we impressed. Not sure what to expect, as some London pubs are "quite unique" we thought this was excellent. The twin room was a very good size, bathroom very clean etc. The atmosphere in the bar was fantastic, soooo buzzy. We arrived around 5.15 and it was already heaving. It remained the same until at least 10pm when we went up to our room, after having a very enjoyable meal.
The staff were very friendly, we even had a free drink given to us. I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel, best ever in London. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, Public Relations Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Andie Allan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed here while attending a Trade Fair at Olympia, and for convenience it can't be beaten. The room I was allocated was lovely; large, airy, clean and with excellent facilities. The decor had been thoughtfully done, and was of a high standard, very sympathetic to the age and history of the building. It felt like a proper 'boutique hotel' which is a much over-used term these days, and made for a very relaxing environment to come back to after a busy day. The staff were polite but not awfully friendly, and the service at check-in and check-out is one area which could be improved upon. I had a meal in the bar downstairs which was really nice, ( fresh ingredients and well cooked), and as a woman on her own was not made to feel awkward or uncomfortable in any way.
Overall I was very happy with my stay, and would recommend to others

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank mocm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we appreciate when our guests take time out of their own busy schedule to write a review, we're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you next year!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly manageress who checked us in quickly despite the pub heaving. Long walk to the top of the building however was eased by quirky Victorian Decor. Room was a suite (Peacock) and was lovely and cosy although because of the old sash windows noise from outside was noticeable. A compromise for originality. Smart TV, Coffee Machine, Wine Storage, Kettle, Toaster, Microwave all in the kitchen. Bath room nice, toilet dripped a little. Went down for dinner which was lovely, and wine, cost around £49 with drinks including starter and main for two people. Breakfast, which was included also lovely - cold buffet, and Hot Meal. We had a english breakfast and kitchen was accomodating to us. Would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lchanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. Magda and the rest of the team work extremely hard to ensure our guests stay is a pleasant one. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Steeoed in interesting history, a London pub with 4 star hotel standard rooms above. This is really convenient for Olympia and Earls Court. The welcome was very friendly and staff helpful throughout. The room had excellent facilities, lots of space, comfy chairs and super bed. A Nespresso machine and iPod dock among the facilities. The rooms at the front are a bit noisy with traffic and trains. There is no lift, and many stairs to the upper bedrooms. Breakfast was very good, and available over long time.

Room Tip: back is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many wonderful comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We has a very good experience here. We stayed in the suite which was very clean bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was also very good. in a relaxed atmosphere did not feel rushed. Thanks for a great stay

J Thornton

Room Tip: The suite was sunny and good transport links
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a lovely review, we're so pleased to be hearing so many great comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Due to the inability to walk very far and as I had to go to the Beauty Show at Olympia I decided to book into The Hand and Flower, so that the distance I had to travel was minimum. I was very disappointed when I found out that there was no lift. I need not have worried as we were greeted by a very friendly and jovial Craig, who was like a breath of fresh air, picked up all our bags and carried them up all the stairs to our room that was very clean and fresh.. Large enough to accommodate us for our stay and with 2 very comfy chairs a descant writing table and a fantastic bed that gave both me and my wife the best sleep for a long time.

Craig whenever we saw him was always cheerful and ensuring we were ok. and even gave us his phone number in case we needed him out of hours and insisted we phone him prior to our departure so that we didn't have to carry our own bags downstairs. The food was good and wholesome, hot and fast.

Well done Craig and his team and thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: There is no preference, but there is a function room on the first floor, but the staff are so consid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many amazing and fantastic comments from our guests. Craig is one of our 'Super Heroes' and does a wonderful job in ensuring our guests have a wonderful stay. I know he will take enormous pride in seeing his name mentioned here on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#693 of 1,077 in London
2,761 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#76 of 1,077 in London
540 reviews
Simply Rooms & Suites
#622 of 1,077 in London
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#764 of 1,077 in London
468 reviews
Star Hotel B&B
#191 of 1,077 in London
429 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Road, London W14 8XJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #466 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £78 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing