We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good economical Christmas break”
Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquarius Hotel
Ranked #1,015 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed three nights just after Christmas, London is so expensive that finding a budget hotel like this meant a good saving and therefore more money to be spent on enjoying yourself. Yes the hotel is somewhat dated but if you read the Hotel website I think a lot of people would agree that they do what they promise to do. Towels were changed and bathroom cleaned every day, fridge provided if you wanted to consume your own food. Breakfast is very basic Contiental, Tea/Coffee, Orange Squash and toast but again this is clearly stated on the website. If you are looking for a base to stay in London and dont want to many fancy frills I would say you could do worse than stay here, save your money for sightseeing and eating out.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
3  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2011

Good location. Value for money. I took a triple sharing room and rates were really incredible! Breakfast was filling and service was prompt.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicbox_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Aquarius because we knew what we were paying for, location. If you are just going to sleep here than this is not a bad option. If you desire a newer, modern establishment then the Aquarius is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smckek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The hotel is very cheap for being London and its situated right around the corner from Eearl's Court Metro Station. The rooms are very old and not too well-kept, now I did barely spend time in the hotel so it was not a problem, I got what I paid for, but I would definitely not recommend it for anything that is not backpacking.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thewayfarer53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed here for one night last weekend, and my friend and I were very sceptical having seen other people's reviews.
The man at reception was nice enough but our room wasn't signposted properly so we had to back and ask twice where it was.
The room itself was on the lower level of the hotel, with a back door which we found wide open when we came to drop off our bags in the room.
The bathroom didn't smell great but had been cleaned to a reasonable level. The shower wasn't clean enough for me to brave it without wearing crocs! And only very cheap soap was provided in terms of toiletries. There was also no where to hang clothes or a towel when in the shower.
The beds were comfy enough and there were clean sheets on them, which was a massive relief. But the carpet was very stained and the general wear and tear of the hotel/room itself was very obvious.
Trying to sleep at night was difficult, as the train goes by very close by, and is very noisy - as well as member of staff or other travellers banging doors around the building late at night.
The "continental breakfast" was a complete joke. The orange juice was just cheap diluted stuff, and the only food offered is toast, butter and jam sachets.
The hotel does not offer any form of drinking water outside of breakfast times - and the man at reception told us we shouldn't drink the bathroom tap water which was not very encouraging.
We were very pleased to leave, I'm afraid to say!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mightymags69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

this is really a tough one to rate. Finally I decided to rate with very good because:
The location is perfect (for the price), the staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast was also fine (many many toast, butter and marmelade), bedcover and pillows clean (did not smell bad). The mattresses were very good to sleep well.

Actuall, yes there are some topics that are not perfect. Furniture is old, bathroom looks odd, underground passes by just behind the house but we could sleep easily anyway, we did not find any bugs, the fridge was clean and big, everything old but it worked, Laundery and everything you need just around the corner.

It is the price. The price is unbeatable but you can´t expext miracles for that. That´s it. Would I come back ? Yes, likely.

Room Tip: low cost hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

I've stayed here 6 times or more over the years. The rooms are about as small as possible for a bed, shower and loo, and the prices are the smallest in London. In fact you won't find many places anywhere in Europe or the US for that kind of money, plus they don't jack the prices up on certain days - it's the same price always. Cleanliness is adequate. Tea & coffee in room (unlike many European hotels), basic breakfast. Great location. When I stop in London all I want is a place to shower and sleep, and this hotel is ideal. My only complaint is the email booking system which is inconvenient and probably not secure.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LordMikey01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#976 of 1,075 in London
585 reviews
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,075 in London
139 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#748 of 1,075 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#934 of 1,075 in London
336 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#844 of 1,075 in London
739 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#486 of 1,075 in London
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Address: 20-22 Hogarth Road, London SW5 0PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,015 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £37 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a minute’s walk from Earl’s Court Tube station, Aquarius Hotel offers accommodation in the heart of Kensington. Each room comes with an en-suite or shared bathroom and a TV. The museum district of South Kensington and Hyde Park can both be reached within a 20-minute walk, along with a range of pubs, restaurants and shops. Heathrow Airport is a 25-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing