We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very strange place.”
Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquarius Hotel
Ranked #1,018 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This place is so kitsch, it's almost funny ! But seriously, the carpet was awful, the stairs are scary but the price is low and it's very very close to the Earl's court station. So if you just want to sleep, this is a perfect place. I was with a friend,I'm 20 years old so maybe for a a couple with kids or old person it's not a place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeciliaM2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Aquarius Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

This place is worse than a 1950's, 3rd-world doss house. It's dismal, dirty, and quite frightening in that my room door was tried several times during the night and no-one on reception to help. The reception staff, when they are there, are rude and extremely scruffy. There are no lampshades on the lights, the tv worked sporadically, and the radiators were cold. The mattress on my single bed was of such poor quality that I kept sliding off the side on to the floor.

Room Tip: Don't go there at all
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JintR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Not only was the hotel dreadfully disappointing but I also am having to fight for the return of my £80 deposit to budgetplaces.com in spite of having paid a cancellation fee protection charge.

This was supposed to be an enjoyable family trip to see a show and enjoy the sights - we did see a great show (We Will Rock You) but the stress of rushing around finding another place to stay and feeling ripped off by budgetplaces.com has left a bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank En P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The worst hotel I have ever seen. 8 of us went to London for the 1st time and had booked the Aquarius hotel for 3 nights, the heat and smell was the 1st thing to hit us when we opened the front door, filthy carpet all the way up the stairs, the rooms were never cleaned, stains on everything, no lampshades, headboards, manky fridge, disgusting ensuite, if you had a shower (which we just couldn't face) you would end up dirtier than when you got in. We all got insect bites because the place is so dirty, Don't know how it is allowed to remain open, toilet handle broken couldn't flush it.The whole place should be knocked down we felt very unsafe there, rude unhelpful staff, words cannot describe how bad this place was!! We stayed a half hour and booked into a lovely hotel across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dub G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We , myself, husband & son, regularly stay here when doing the sights. Yes its a little in need of TLC & updating but what do you want for the price, especially so near to Earl's Court tube. Easy access from the Coach station via C1 or via the tube from St Pancras.
The beds are comfy & clean, all rooms have ensuite shower rooms, TV & fridge. The lower floor rooms can suffer from noise from the Tube but only in the bathroom!
Ideal place to lay your head after a day of sightseeing etc. Plenty of excellent restaurants, takeaways & shops on the same street or the main road at the bottom. We still haven't tried them all yet after 3 visits. We recommend the Chinese takeaway just across the r.oad

Room Tip: No lift available as its a converted property - 2 mansions - so ask for ground floor if you can'...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuddlyarmySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Staff were so rude and obnoxious and could not speak English! Room was THE worst I have ever stayed in, so you can imagine I was never going to stay for breakfast. It is hard to imagine that this is a business belonging to someone with little or no pride in what they do! Health and safety should shut it down! A word of advice to any visitors to London spend a bit more cash as this place does not deserve you're money. Hell hole!

Room Tip: Do not take the risk!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My third stay here in a year, this time for a one night break at Easter, I would commend this hotel for still doing 'what it says on the tin', clean room and towels, basic breakfast as advertised on the website and an onsuite room for £40.00, will be returning to see the new year in.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#725 of 1,072 in London
137 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#977 of 1,072 in London
584 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#748 of 1,072 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#845 of 1,072 in London
737 reviews
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#939 of 1,072 in London
335 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#490 of 1,072 in London
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Address: 20-22 Hogarth Road, London SW5 0PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,018 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £36 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a minute’s walk from Earl’s Court Tube station, Aquarius Hotel offers accommodation in the heart of Kensington. Each room comes with an en-suite or shared bathroom and a TV. The museum district of South Kensington and Hyde Park can both be reached within a 20-minute walk, along with a range of pubs, restaurants and shops. Heathrow Airport is a 25-minute taxi ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing