We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocking customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Grove Hill Hotel

Grove Hill Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove Hill Hotel
Ranked #912 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

My companions and I were booked at this hotel for a weekend in July. After arriving in London to find they no longer had our booking (via phone) then finding they wouldn't take any further calls we had to seek alternative accommodation. Since then the manager had offered personal compensation, and after accepting this kind offer he has backtracked and claimed the cheque got lost, he will send another, he is dealing with the compensation from his personal pocket as he made the error, and last correspondence is he now will not deal with refunds without invoices.
The whole set up is most unprofessional and I would NOT recommend anyone deal with this hotel or at least it's manager. As of this moment the case continues......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redmist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehillhotel, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Dear Madam,

You have maliciously given us the lowest possible rating for our premises when you never actually stayed at the Hotel. Instead of dealing with the relevant and salient points, so that we could draw this matter to a close, you have now resorted to publicly airing your grievances.

You claimed to have stayed in a Hotel on the other side of London in Bayswater when there were may other Hotel premises with vacancies nearby. In order to deal with your claim to be compensated, we kindly asked for a copy of the receipt for the alternative accommodation you say you had booked and paid a higher price.

To date, despite repeated requests, you have failed to produce any proof. We as a business are required to properly account for all transactions and as you have been informed on numerous occasions, we cannot deal with any issues of compensation without evidence of your claimed losses.

Grove Hill Hotel has been operating for over 40 years and we have many satisfied customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    3
    6
    16
See reviews for
14
13
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
County Durham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

My partner & I stayed here in April. We originally booked somewhere else but when we arrived there we were told they no longer took bookings. After phoning Travelstay, who we booked through, they found a room for us at this hotel. We were very relieved as the thought of spending three nights on a park bench really didn't appeal.
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the tube station & I've never been so glad to see a hotel in all my life. Admittedly it was a bit frayed around the edges but we were welcomed by a nice Polish(I think) lady. The room was small & could have done with a new carpet but it had a newly fitted shower & toilet & was clean.
Its located on a quiet residential street close to shops & restaurants & we felt safe returning late at night.
We only had the breakfast once & it was perfectly adequate.
All in all I would have no qualms about returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazellmarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just come back from staying at the hotel very nice hotel very clen and the staff are lovely the polish lady who lives there she was very helpfull and made u feel very welcome will go back there again the full English breakfast was lovely thank u we were in rm 21

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scmwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is possibly the cheapest B&B in the london area at £33 a night. Very thorough service, pleasant atmosphere. Although it is very tidy and gets cleaned every day, the carpet needs replacing soon. The en suite was very modern, but very small. Had Freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities, free wi fi (not the cloud, yes!) comfy bed. breakfast was decent but your choice was full english or full english.

Near plenty of corner shops, take aways, supermarkets and a quiet and pleasant neighbourhood.

Only issue is that it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are going for work, like i was, this isn't ideal.

Room Tip: it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nealo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

For the price, it was an excellent hotel. The staff were friendly, but seemed to bring your ham and eggs while you were eating your cornflakes. In other words, you got it when it was ready, rather than when you were ready to eat it. Apart from that, breakfast was a pleasant experience and there was plenty of it. The room I had was big enough and the en suite was roomy and CLEAN, as was everything else. I would go back.

Room Tip: I shared a twin en suite on the top floor. It was quiet, roomy and well fit for purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

we have 1 week holiday in london. very nice place. room very clean and tidy every day. seems like new rooms. the staff were helpful and friendly. breakfast ok. very close to metro and nice shops very close by. price very good value for money for us. we will stay here again for sure

Room Tip: ask for new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkywayloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

stayed at the grove hill hotel over christmas for 2 weeks. had a recently refurbished room which had all that we needed. room was clean and tidy. the staff were just excellent. this place is located very close to the underground station and it took us about 30 minutes to get to the west end for the sales. would definitely use this place again as it is such great value for money. breakfast was great and was free.

Room Tip: spoke to the owner who is a nice chap and is always pleased to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank audie4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Epping Forest
1.1 mi away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woodford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Loughton/Buckhurst Hill Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Property: Grove Hill Hotel
Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #912 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. Olympic Park and Stratford Westfield Shopping ten minutes by underground or short drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include VAT, a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Free Affinity WiFi, car parking. South Woodford is a lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. 400 Acres of Epping Forest is close by to explore and there is a wealth of other interesting activities close by to engage in and enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing