We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unorganised”
Review of Grove Hill Hotel

Grove Hill Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grove Hill Hotel
Ranked #813 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We booked a hotel for tonight New Year's Eve we put in our deposit and it said we had booked it. We called your hotel this morning and you said you have your booking to someone else, what a joke. You have disappointed us all on a time that was meant to be our happiest. Thank you very much. Now we have to stay at home.

Stayed: December 2013
5  Thank Nogin131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehillhotel, General Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

You booked a greatly discounted room through an Agency, for New Year Eve and paid a deposit to them. You did not complete the booking form correctly and did not indicate the approximate time that you would arrive. You were contacted and changed your mind three times on throughout the day you were due to arrive. You then wanted to arrive at a time when we would have been closed. New Years Eve is a time for celebration and enjoyment for all, including our Staff.

All we required was a little cooperation so that you could have been booked in at a mutually convenient time. You have received a full refund of the deposit paid from the Agency concerned. We are sorry we could not assist but should say that the only disorganisation was on your own part.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Warm friendly greeting on my arrival. My room was comfortable and clean, with plenty of tea and coffee making facilities. Bed was comfortable with fresh linen. Room had a wall mounted free view tv. Wrapped soap bars in the sink and shower gel provided for the ensuite shower which again was clean.
Ideal location for trips into London.
Met with a smile at breakfast which was wel cooked and very tasty.
Great value for money and I will gladly stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My companions and I were booked at this hotel for a weekend in July. After arriving in London to find they no longer had our booking (via phone) then finding they wouldn't take any further calls we had to seek alternative accommodation. Since then the manager had offered personal compensation, and after accepting this kind offer he has backtracked and claimed the cheque got lost, he will send another, he is dealing with the compensation from his personal pocket as he made the error, and last correspondence is he now will not deal with refunds without invoices.
The whole set up is most unprofessional and I would NOT recommend anyone deal with this hotel or at least it's manager. As of this moment the case continues......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Redmist99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grovehillhotel, Public Relations Manager at Grove Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Madam,

You have maliciously given us the lowest possible rating for our premises when you never actually stayed at the Hotel. Instead of dealing with the relevant and salient points, so that we could draw this matter to a close, you have now resorted to publicly airing your grievances.

You claimed to have stayed in a Hotel on the other side of London in Bayswater when there were may other Hotel premises with vacancies nearby. In order to deal with your claim to be compensated, we kindly asked for a copy of the receipt for the alternative accommodation you say you had booked and paid a higher price.

To date, despite repeated requests, you have failed to produce any proof. We as a business are required to properly account for all transactions and as you have been informed on numerous occasions, we cannot deal with any issues of compensation without evidence of your claimed losses.

Grove Hill Hotel has been operating for over 40 years and we have many satisfied customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My partner & I stayed here in April. We originally booked somewhere else but when we arrived there we were told they no longer took bookings. After phoning Travelstay, who we booked through, they found a room for us at this hotel. We were very relieved as the thought of spending three nights on a park bench really didn't appeal.
The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the tube station & I've never been so glad to see a hotel in all my life. Admittedly it was a bit frayed around the edges but we were welcomed by a nice Polish(I think) lady. The room was small & could have done with a new carpet but it had a newly fitted shower & toilet & was clean.
Its located on a quiet residential street close to shops & restaurants & we felt safe returning late at night.
We only had the breakfast once & it was perfectly adequate.
All in all I would have no qualms about returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazellmarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just come back from staying at the hotel very nice hotel very clen and the staff are lovely the polish lady who lives there she was very helpfull and made u feel very welcome will go back there again the full English breakfast was lovely thank u we were in rm 21

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scmwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is possibly the cheapest B&B in the london area at £33 a night. Very thorough service, pleasant atmosphere. Although it is very tidy and gets cleaned every day, the carpet needs replacing soon. The en suite was very modern, but very small. Had Freeview TV, tea/coffee making facilities, free wi fi (not the cloud, yes!) comfy bed. breakfast was decent but your choice was full english or full english.

Near plenty of corner shops, take aways, supermarkets and a quiet and pleasant neighbourhood.

Only issue is that it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are going for work, like i was, this isn't ideal.

Room Tip: it takes 32 mins on the tube (and takes 10 mins to get to it) to centeral London so if you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nealo1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

For the price, it was an excellent hotel. The staff were friendly, but seemed to bring your ham and eggs while you were eating your cornflakes. In other words, you got it when it was ready, rather than when you were ready to eat it. Apart from that, breakfast was a pleasant experience and there was plenty of it. The room I had was big enough and the en suite was roomy and CLEAN, as was everything else. I would go back.

Room Tip: I shared a twin en suite on the top floor. It was quiet, roomy and well fit for purpose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Epping Forest
1.1 mi away
Packfords Hotel
Packfords Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woodford
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Snaresbrook
Travelodge Snaresbrook
#573 of 1,076 in London
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel London Chigwell Prince Regent
2.1 mi away
Travelodge London Chigwell
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Chingford - North Circular
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hill Hotel

Address: 38 Grove Hill | South Woodford, London E18 2JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #813 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful family run, long established Guest House in a lovely part of London. Easy access to the West End and City, approximately 20 to 30 minutes. Close to the Central Line Station at South Woodford. Situated in a quiet Residential Street and yet 2 minutes walk to shops restaurants and Cinema. M25 and A406 a 5 minute drive. Olympic Park and Stratford Westfield Shopping ten minutes by underground or short drive. All rooms refurbished and great value for money. Prices include VAT, a Full English Breakfast, Tea and Coffee making facilities, Free Affinity WiFi, car parking. South Woodford is a lovely area to stay in if you want peace and quiet at night but easy access to all facilities and Central London. 400 Acres of Epping Forest is close by to explore and there is a wealth of other interesting activities close by to engage in and enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing