We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel was wonderful and the staff just awesome. We had a lovely corner room that was very large and had a very nice bathroom. The service was top notch and friendly. We would love to come back to this gem!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    88
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
176
322
55
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Haymarket during the last leg of our trip to London in early June. This hotel is truly a gem in the heart of the city. The decor is amazing and it epitomizes the term "boutique hotel." You can certainly see the amount of thought that went into creating such a warm and inviting atmosphere.

The common areas gorgeous, from the bright yellow lobby, to the garden like setting in the conservatory, to the warm and cozy lounge with honor bar (a nice touch)...absolute perfection. We didn't try the restaurant/bar it looks beautiful and appeared to be quite popular throughout our stay.

We stayed in room 305 which is a deluxe room. The room was quite large (by London standards) and the bathroom was one of the nicer bathrooms I have seen in Europe. Large shower with excellent water pressure, dual sinks with lots of counter space and a large tub with a tv..... great place to unwind after a long day of sight-seeing. The bedroom was spacious with a comfy king size bed and a small seating area. The decor was in line with the common areas of the hotel but not overwhelming...tasteful. The only downside to our room was that the windows are totally blocked by the exterior of the hotel (appeared to be the only room with this issue) so we couldn't see out the windows to enjoy the view nor did we get much natural light. I was a little disappointed in this given the rates we paid for the upgraded room.

The staff at the hotel were very kind and welcoming (not at all snobby as is the case with some higher end hotels). In honor of the Jubilee the staff left a trio of red white and blue nail polishes for me and we were given bottles of Jubilee water and macaroons each night before bed - nice touch. The doorman was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and areas for great shopping. The hotel also arranged a taxi to Heathrow for us which was about 20 pounds cheaper than the one we took into the city.

We had trouble deciding between several Firmdale hotels and ultimately settled on the Haymarket due to the reviews, traveler photos and location. The hotel is in a prime central location which can't be beat. It is walking distance to virtually every tourist attraction in London (or a quick tube ride from the Picadilly line which is about 2 blocks away)... Soho, Trafalgar Square, Leicester Square, National Gallery, British Museum, Buckingham, Westminster Abbey, Regent and Oxford Streets, etc. It doesn't get more central than this. The hotel is in the heart of the West End so you have the amazing London theatre scene at your doorstep. The Haymarket is in a heavy traffic area however the hotel is completely soundproof so you hear nothing from inside ensuring a good night's sleep.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel. We had a lovely experience here and cannot wait to come back to the Haymarket (or try out another Firmdale property). London is an expensive city (including hotels) but you definitely get what you pay for at the Haymarket. Thank you to the amazing staff for the wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As for a room without obstructed windows. My only regret is that I couldn't look out the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great place, perfect location, homish decoration and first-class service. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have stayed at multiple Firmdale hotels in London, and each is great. The Haymarket is closest to the National Gallery, Whitehall, Theatreland and the South Bank cultural centre. The rooms are large, the baths are lavish and the decor a wonderful mix of whimsical and traditional. The pool at the Haymarket is a nice feature, but the gym is a bit small (compared with the Covent Garden Hotel and the Soho Hotel gyms). The breakfast (included in our rate) was excellent. And the staff is always terrific at a Firmdale Hotel. A bonus for us, staying on the 2d floor, was the outdoor terrace adjacent to the hallway leading to our room, where I could adjourn to have coffee and read the paper while my spouse was still sleeping.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors have taller ceilings and larger windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at the Haymarket hotel for a weekend during October 2011. In most respects it was delightful; we received a free upgrade from "luxury" to "deluxe"; the service was polite, obliging and professional, the room extremely nice and the location very convenient.

The only reasons that I have marked it as "4 blobs" are (a) the first room smelled of smoke and we had to change rooms, and (b) there was a great deal of noise from revellers on nearby Haymarket. Obviously there is nothing the hotel can do to about the latter, but it is a factor that guests might like to take into account at weekends.

Apart from, those two small gripes, excellent, but I could not quite stretch to the "5 blob" rating.

Room Tip: Corner deluxe rooms are very nice, with dual aspect windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHusseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
164 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Fantastic location -central but peaceful - 50m from National Gallery, National Portrait Gallery, St Martins in the Fields church
Arty decor throughout - clean and modern
Changed our room as they put us in a town house room three flights up which was a bit chlostrophobic, but happy with our room on the ground floor. Although it was a bit noisy what with the window being by the stairs to the basement pool/party area.
Good range for breakfast - helpful and friendly staff
No kettle in the room was a downpoint - we wanted tea after a day out and about - charge to have it in the library was £10 for two.
Two sinks in the bathroom - separate shower and bath - you could watch the TV in the bath.
Powerful hairdryer.
However for £360 for one night (BB) was it worth it - as a one off, special treat - yes!

Room Tip: Not on the haymarket road itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

This is just great in every way. for me however its too expensive to stay here all the time but i reckon its one of the best hotels in London

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,384 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,645 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#15 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing