We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bedroom quiet as a tomb, so wonderful for sleeping.”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great location, bedroom quiet as a tomb, so wonderful for sleeping.”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This small boutique hotel was perfect for my quick five day trip to London. The location is central, two blocks from the Piccadilly tube station and right on bus routes. The lobby is understated and comfortable along with an adjacent lounge and library room with it's honor bar. Also a bar/restaurant which always seems to be humming. Late afternoon tea there was very good. I did not explore the advertised swimming pool or gym.
Check in was simple but the first room I was taken to was a ground floor corner and unless I kept the blinds down the entire time, anyone and everyone could peer in. This was not acceptable and after a short wait, they found me a first floor room that was similar. The buses and heavy traffic on Haymarket street was right outside but all the windows are double paned and glazed and no sound penetrated at all. It was dead quiet, something I insist on in a hotel room. Great closet space. The bathroom had two sinks and plenty of room for toiletries. The tub/shower combination can be a problem, try getting in and out of a slick high sided tub. Not good for seniors. Insist on a room with a walk in shower if this is a problem for you. The other issue was upon opening the bathroom door in the morning the drain in the bathroom always smelled like sewage first thing in the morning. The smell dissipated almost immediately but it was there initially. I complained, and they offered another room but I didn't have the time for that. I don't know if they will ever look into the problem. No one seemed too concerned.
Breakfast was included up to a certain cost point but it would be difficult to achieve that amount. A hot breakfast menu is presented to you and there is also a full large continental style breakfast table of grans, fruits, yogurts, pastries. I had eggs and toast and then fruit and yogurt from the buffet and that wasn't enough to create an additional cost.
The hotel charges by the minute for the internet up to a maximum of 20 pounds.
The other problem was that my travel agent booked my room for a late arrival from the USA but my flight was cancelled and I didn't arrive until 11 am the next morning. I was still charged the full amount for the room. IATA's policy is that the customer shouldn't be charged under these circumstances, but because I wanted a room on arrival, I was charged the full amount.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a ground floor room. And if you want a walk in shower, ask for it when m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durgaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
181
329
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely tea there.perfect china.delicious sandwiches as much as ee could eat and the staff really seemed to care that we had a lovely time.looking forward to going again..great. especially as the whole hoyel is glamorous

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claireodeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Spend 1 night during middle of Sep, was the first time for me at this hotel and my short stay was even better than the great revies I have seen here before the res. service was excellent resturant at the hotel is very good and the location is one of the best in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed in the junior suite last weekend was perfect for a romantic break, the atmosphere of the hotel was perfect. The decor & furnishings were fabulous room service & champagne impeccable. Highly recommended for a London break

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Having not intended to stay in London, after a very long night out ending in the Dean Street Townhouse I needed a room. I asked and she said they had one in the Haymarket. I've stayed in some of the sister hotels and they've always been exceptional and this one is no different. We decided to stay up and order some drinks and the night service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size, super comfy beds and bed linen. I intend to go back and experience it in the daytime!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DNB571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I think this is the sixth time we have stayed at the Haymarket Hotel and everytime they are consistantly good. The rooms are bright and welcoming, great seperate shower and good size bath, not the biggest we have had though. The artwork on the walls are contemporary and everywhere is always kept to high standards. The staff are always helpful and friendly especially the Doorman who always remembers us each time we return. Bearing in mind how many people he must meet, thats a great memory.

The Location is fantastic for shopping sightseeing or for going to West End shows. Covent Garden is in easy walking distance one way and Regent Street/Oxford Street the other way.

The Hotel has a fantastic swimming pool in the basement but just make sure they havent booked out a party there because you wont be able to use the pool if they have.

We would certainly be stopping again. We have also stayed in the sister hotel - The Covent Garden Hotel which is to the same high standards just doesnt have a swimming pool.

We booked room service breakfast both mormings as we are lazy and it arrived on time all complete as the order, even the amendments we requested were provided with no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our second stay at Haymarket and once again, it was perfect. The rooms are lovely and decorated in a quirky, fun fashion. The service is warm, helpful and friendly . The location is ideal for a walk home from the theater or to grab a bus or tube for sightseeing. The included breakfast offers much more than th standard buffet and is always yummy. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,657 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing