We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything perfect”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
239 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Everything perfect”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our wedding. We were made to feel so welcome. The service was superb and not overbearing. Extremely helpful desk staff and concierge and doormen. We were upgraded to a junior suite - the room was wonderful - great decor and nice view out on Haymarket. The breakfast was excellent. Room service was very fast and the food excellent. We were sad to check out - the experience at The Haymarket Hotel was outstanding and really helped us to relax prior to our wedding. They even put a bottle of champagne in our room on our wedding night. They also accommodated out two young children free of charge and provided our 3 year old with her own little dressing gown and toiletries. A lovely touch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swedensm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
180
325
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the haymarket many times over the last 3years, we even had our wedding guests stay and our wedding dinner in Brumus. We have always loved our rooms which have ranged from standard to the 2 bed suite. However the last time we were given a room on the 3 rd floor, the windows are small and high so you cant see out, i will request lower floors in future. Also even though we stay at least 3 times a year our returning guest gift was a set of collar stiffeners? Strange! brummus has been refurbed, i miss the vibrancy of the old decor. The cakes are not the best in my opinion despite the price.
Breakfasts are really good although the orange juice is over squeezed and therefore oily! Lots of finnicky stuff i know but thats what a personal opinion is!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Belle0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, well managed, good design and great art works. It has a pool in a hydrophobic city. The only problem is that they have functions in the pool area which can put you off your dip!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We visited the Haymarket Hotel back in September 2012 and stayed for four nights. It was my first time in London and the hotel was more than half the reason why I love the city. The room was impeccable with floor to ceiling windows and a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower (there is also a tv to watch whilst soaking in it). So much so that it was hard to leave the room and go out and explore for the day. The hotel itself is also beautiful in design. The customer service was absolutely amazing- not one need went unmet. Whenever I take a trip back across the pond, although I would be curious to stay at another Firmdale property after my success at this one, I will def be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizC8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This review is long overdue. I have stayed at the Haymarket probably > 40 times since it opened as I have travelled between NY and London often.

I have enjoyed I think most rooms and there is something that just lifts my heart when I return. I am due to visit again in September this year and can't wait.

Arrival in the lobby is soothing and they have a highly efficient team to greet you. The public areas to the right have gorgeous sitting room/area for afternoon tea and to your left is the bar/restaurant. All lovely for relaxing with a book or for more lively endeavours with a cocktail in hand and friends.

The pool downstairs is a bonus and in the early days I used to attend the fun Friday evening events with cabaret and enjoy the bar there.

The service is impeccable and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's like you can finally breathe and relax as you kick off (those stylish) shoes the minute you arrive.

Well recommended!

O Messner.

Room Tip: All are great, but an extra splurge gets you a separate shower in the junior suites which I love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OctM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed in the Haymarket Hotel as a treat after seeing a show. The hotel is ideally situated for the west end with plenty of parking nearby.
The stylish reception area and friendly and professional staff create a tremendous first impression for the hotel and this impression continued throughout our stay. The luxury room lived up to its billing, from the tasteful decor and large bed, to the beautiful bathroom with built in TV.
Every area of the hotel was of a high standard and impeccably clean.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, the rooms are expensive, but still good value for central London

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Firmdale Hotels certainly know how to do things properly. We have stayed at a few of their hotels and they have all been very good. The Haymarket is no exception. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge.
The facilities are excellent and it is in a great location for business meetings as well as personal stays as theatre land and some very good restaurants are just a short walk away.
It is also a bit cheaper than the Covent Garden Hotel, which we have previously reviewed as the best place to stay, so we will certainly be returning to the Haymarket.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room in London. We had a ground for room abutting Suffolk street and it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,591 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing