We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel doesn't put a foot wrong”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This hotel doesn't put a foot wrong”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

If you are looking for a quality hotel in this area and can afford it - just go. I've been lucky enough to stay at The Haymarket around eight times - I keep choosing to come back because of its quality, fantastic decor, great service, friendly staff, good food and great location. It's an excellent hotel.

Firmdale, who run this and several other great hotels across London, are superb hoteliers - every little detail in your room or around the hotel is thought of and very well executed. The deep baths fill up quickly, the beds are so comfortable I have thought about stealing one, you don't want to take the dressing gowns off, the rooms look out on W1 but are silent, there is a honesty bar in the residents' lounge, the breakfasts are extremely moorish, the complimentary wi-fi works with no fuss....

On this occasion I was lucky and was upgraded to a suite - Suite 2 (Room 212). I laughed out loud when I walked into the room - it was stunning (see the pics). A long corridor leads off into an amazingly decorated lounge, there's a large bedroom, a walk-in wardrobe and working area, a huge bathroom and, as if you need it, a second shower room. It was a fantastic treat and it was just a shame I didn't have too long here to enjoy it properly. A superb hotel and one I look forward to going back to again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank londonbristolboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
181
329
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

This hotel is stunning! I adored the decor and our junior suite was a good size and impeccably maintained.
Our room faced Haymarket but was double glazed and completely silent. The bed was huge and incredibly comfortable. I haven't slept that well in years!
We also enjoyed a drink at the bar, where the staff were fantastic.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just stayed for a 2 night weekend break in a standard room on the 4th floor - room 400.
Room - clean, quiet, excellent shower, toiletries and TV. Also the usually priced mini bar.

Leisure - excellent pool and small but well fitted gym. My wife swims regularly but would have preferred the water a little warmer. This area was quiet and we saw no one else in the pool or gym while we were there - there is a bathroom but no changing room in the pool area. There is a fridge in the gym with free bottles of water and coconut water which is not free.

Dining

We used the on site restaurant for breakfast, and an afternoon tea and dinner.
Food and service was calm, relaxed and excellent

Service
All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and pleasant and spoke to you by name when they saw you.

Location
Excellent - it was lovely leaving the phantom of the opera on a windy valentines night and just walking over the road to the hotel. 2 mins walk from Trafalgar Square and close to oxford street, the river and covent garden - all within a few minutes walk

We would certainly stay here again for a special occasion

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golowys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Chosen because of Tripadvisor reviews, its proximity to Shaftesbury Avenue and the hotel swimming pool. If you read nothing else, read paragraphs 3 and 4 re the type and availability of the pool.

We arrived a little before 2pm but our room was ready and our welcome was warm. Room 400 (one of the “cheap” ones) was ideal – well above the roar of the Haymarket traffic and very well insulated. Comfortable bed, excellent walk-in shower, safe (though on both the small and low side), choice of towels, robes etc. Plenty of hanging and drawer space. Comfortable sofa; good lighting. Free internet, which is a welcome change from some earlier reviews. BUT no tea/coffee facilities, on the basis, apparently, that the tea they use is of such good quality that the makers don’t want just any Tom, Dick or Harry or their partners making their own tea but rather should have it brought up, at cost, by room service. We were given two small gifts but, to be honest, would have preferred tea/coffee making facilities. No free mineral water, either, except at turn-down. Lesser hotels seem to manage this without any problem. Expensive mini-bar, though that is tautology.

The pool is outstanding and just the right temperature for serious swimming. Most indoor hotel pools are on the warm side. The pool is 1.5m deep in its entirety (5ft if you prefer) which is comparatively deep (most are nearer 1.3m) and thus likely to be a bit challenging for shorter, less confident swimmers who may prefer to feel that the bottom is not far away. No rail round the edge except at one end where the warm water comes out in an attractive spray. Unsuitable for non-swimming children. I used the pool twice and had it to myself on both occasions. Unused on the three occasions when I was viewing with others. I suppose that the fact that it is very much a swimmers’ rather than a bathers’ pool may have something to do with it.

A number of contributors have commented strongly on the fact that, during their stay, the pool and surrounding area were not available because of a function (and others have commented on the noise levels created by such functions). So, if you are thinking of choosing the hotel because of its pool, YOU MUST RING IN ADVANCE AND CHECK WHETHER THE POOL WILL BE AVAILABLE DURING YOUR VISIT. To give them their due, I had the chance to visit the hotel, and others nearby, before this visit, and the very helpful receptionist not only showed me round the facilities but warned me to ring in advance to check re the pool. The pool is featured on the website and it is reasonable to assume, therefore, that it will be available to guests except in exceptional, unforeseen circumstances. (I still can’t get over the thought of a function, presumably with alcohol, near a swimming pool, but perhaps I am missing something.)

Two vegan daughters joined us for dinner on our second evening and I cannot fault the service and care that was taken to ensure that their needs were met.

A reviewer in 2012, awarding four blobs, said he wished that there was a “four and a half blobs category”. I have said the same in the past though in relation to 3.5 blobs, given the uneven jump from average to very good. In our case, I think four blobs would be churlish, although the fact that a hotel is classed as 5 star does not give it the right to expect one of the higher ratings. On the basis of the excellent pool, quiet room, dinner experience and general courtesy of the staff, I feel that 5 blobs is just about right. I would like to feel, however, that the hotel takes on board the critical comments made by a number of guests re the non-availability of the pool. It is included on the hotel website and presumably adds something to the hotel’s attraction and therefore tariffs. It seems only reasonable, therefore, for potential guests to be alerted to the possibility that this key facility might not be available.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are probably quieter; some have commented that ground floor rooms are overlooked. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

One of the top notel to stay in London.
Great service to help you for all problems. Rooms are large and very clean, bathrooms wonderfull.
We strongly suggest if you want to have a perfect stay in London!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is my second stay at The Haymarket Hotel and I can honestly say that I went out of my way to go and stay there, such is the quality of the experience in this property.

On my first stay I stumbled upon the hotel and had one of the best hotel experiences I had had anywhere. The second time was no mistake and no lesser an experience, although far too short.

Starting with the staff, so polite, thoughtful and friendly. Being a hotelier I always like to speak with the staff about their property, company and experience and I received only the most complimentary feedback on Firmdale as a company, the family that own the company, the property and the management.

As on my last stay I stayed in one of the rooms facing the Theatre across the street, whose name escapes me now. These rooms look out onto the street and give a great sense of life passing by in London, although the double glazed windows keep out all of the noise and let the light in. The rooms themselves are delightful. Very British, which for me, is the charm of this hotel. There is a certain warmth in the way that the rooms are made up that makes me feel very comfortable in the space. A comfortable bed (plus lavender pillow spray for a good nights sleep), a full lounge suite in the room and a large 4 point bathroom really add to the pleasure of spending time in the room.

I also appreciate their minibar, where thought has been given to providing guests with something interesting, rather than the same old rubbish many hotels provide. The minibar is not dead, provided that it is stocked with things that are useful to the guest, as proved at this property.

A real highlight is Brumish, the restaurant and bar at the hotel. Fabulous drinks - quality beverages with creativity and flair and bar staff that can hold a conversation always add to the experience in this restaurant. Clearly it is also popular with the locals as I noted on both of my stays. Moreso the restaurant. A Great menu with creative options and the opportunity for chef to show his passion for food. Everything I have tried here has been first class, resulting in empty plates. Breakfast is a standout, again because of the comfort and ambience of the restaurant and staff, but also because of the way the food is presented. Their breakfast buffet, although I always choose a la carte due to the inviting menu options, always looks sumptuous, and there is just something about the way the food looks in London that makes it all the more enticing. Great young staff from all over the world who are all ready and capable of holding a conversation. I can say that I look forward to dining here. It's more than just a meal.

If wanting to get out, the hotel is well located to be able to walk pretty much anywhere you may like to go. In my two stays I walked to Soho, Covent Garden, Piccadilly and Mayfair. Also conveniently located near Jermyn St for the perfect opportunity to be the dapper gent! The concierge is very knowledgeable on the local area and was able to send us in the direction of a couple of 'off the map' local pubs in the near vicinity. The Red Bus tours also stop just around the corner at Trafalgar Square. Pall Mall is also close by.

I am not surprised that the property is rating so highly on Tripadvisor. I would like to try some of the other hotels in the Firmdale group, but then I would have to miss out on The Haymarket. Simply can't do that I'm afraid.

Thanks for another great experience!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in the rooms overlooking the Theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Im_a_travlin_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have just recently spent an amazing night in the Haymarket hotel, which was one of my most remarkable luxury experiences ever. Working also for a top level property in London, my demands are usually much higher than average customer's, but this services undoubtedly goes above and beyond all my expectations. Usual things (like welcoming staff, helpful service, blahblah...) can happen to you in any other 5-star environment, but feeling touched so many ways (like Haymarket does) is still very rare and unreachable on money. Beginning from the check in (special thanks to Helen for the nice room, which had an outstanding design) until the very end, we were treated as special guests. I would particularly mention about our fantastic room service breakfast (served accurately by Predrag and Viki), which made us smiling all day long. Once again thank you for your kindness and the extraordinary service!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baluska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,067 in London
3,672 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing