We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #10 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It is expensive but it is London after all. However, it is a great hotel. Every single thing about it. Gorgeous, gorgeous rooms, perfect service, perfect location, perfect bar and restaurant attached. I would highly recommend it for that special occasion!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    89
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
181
329
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Out of all 44 hotels I have reviewed on Tripadvisor, the Haymarket hotel in London is an absolute favourite. Exellent in all ways: brilliant location and close to all major sights. Next to Trafalgar Square and very close to Leicester Square, surrounded by theaters and main tourist attractions. The hotel itself is spotless, service impeccable and super friendly both in hotel and Brumus inhouse restaurant. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of healthy options. The hotel is designed by its owner - Kit Kemp. Everywhere you look there are interesting details and funny quirky things to admire. Bold wallpapers combined with prints, colours and very interesting pieces of art from all over the world. If you are looking for an unforgettable stay in London, check out the Firmdale hotels - I am at least a true fan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildur O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is on another category. Everything was exceptional. The pool is one of the biggest in London, the rooms are of a fantastic design and strangely for London of a very large size. But top of the top it's the staff. Such a Professional yet friendly team!!! Well done everybody there!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripinsider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I decided to take my two boys to London for the day, with the idea that we might stay. After finding the cheapest deal for the hotel on Booking.com, I phoned the Haymarket Hotel and they matched the price. We dropped off our bag and the 1st impression was being really pleased, a really wonderful welcome by staff, we were shown around and the boys were allowed to use the pool even though we technically weren't allowed to check in until 2pm. I booked 2 rooms as we were travelling with my niece, to our surprise they had upgraded us to 2 deluxe twin rooms. Wow , fantastic rooms really comfortable beds, really quiet, fantastic barrooms every bit if luxury you would expect from a 5 star. I have stayed in many hotels in London and for sure , the Haymaket hotel will be my chosen hotel. I have only ever written 1 review in the past but felt this hotel worthy of writing about. In the words of my boys the hotel is "sick" which surprising means good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJSilcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure I can call it excellent value since it was so expensive! However, it's my new favorite hotel. Every single thing about it. Gorgeous, gorgeous rooms, perfect service, perfect location, perfect bar and restaurant attached!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Haymarket Hotel in 2013 and had a fantastic stay then and regularly visit for drinks or food in Brummus, their fabulous bar and restaurant which I recommend highly as well.
So I was excited to return for another stay but also wondered if it could possibly match the high level of service I received in 2013, I needn't have worried!

For me one of the best points about Haymarket is it manages to give high-level customer service and attention without being too obtrusive, everything is managed to make sure you have the best stay possible but without being too over the top which no-one wants when they are having a relaxing night away.

In regards to the hotel itself, the individuality of the hotel's design and style never ceases to impress me and you truly feel you are staying somewhere unique and special. When we were there we saw one of the function rooms laid up for a dinner and I now know one day i have to have a dinner function there!

I could go on about the delicious food, comfortable beds, lovely ambience but will close with the Haymarket's gem - their underground pool which is simply stunning and a swim in there to start the day is quite simply one of the best starts to a day you could wish for.

My Mum and i have said one visit a year to the Haymarket is a must and something its more than worth treating yourself to, after all you only live once!

Room Tip: We were in Room 100 which had large windows which opened onto a roof terrace area with a table and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW ENGLAND
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights last week in room 214 (part of the Townhouse) and it was FANTASTIC!! Everything in the hotel was immaculately presented and all the staff made us feel so welcome. The decor was so colourful, vibrant and glamorous with so many original ideas that blend seamlessly. The bedroom was just as much fun with high quality furnishings and a fabulously comfortable bed. The bathroom was immaculately clean with a fantastic power shower and separate bath. Extra touches such as a welcoming present and card made the stay special and memorable. Breakfast was excellent; I can highly recommend the vegetarian option. Looking forward to staying at the new Ham Yard hotel that opens in June. Didn’t touch the mini bar as prices were OTT (that seems to be the norm) and would have loved a Nespresso coffee machine to have my early morning drink.
We loved it !!

Room Tip: Room 214 was quiet with a street view (part of the Townhouse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CORRIEFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#19 of 1,067 in London
3,671 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,067 in London
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing