We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 for 3, large room, perfect location, excellent service, price worth it.”
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #9 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 for 3, large room, perfect location, excellent service, price worth it.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We loved the Haymarket. I chose the Haymarket for location, size of room and star rating. Service was excellent and lived up to its star rating. The hotel is on a quiet side street, but near all the theater action, Piccadilly Circus, Pall Mall, Trafalgar Square and St James Park and up to SoHo. We were able to walk everywhere.
Most European hotel rooms tend to run small (by US standards).We wanted a large room and I checked room sizes are various hotels. Also, the Concierge Desk was wonderful. We found what we wanted at the Haymarket.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alice2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    90
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
183
333
59
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After having spent a phenomenal stay at the Soho Hotel in 2013, we wanted to try another Firmdale Hotel this year.
Expectations were of course super high and I have to say they were all met and exceeded.
We were fortunate enough to get an upgrade to a Deluxe room and we loved the extra space both in the room and in the bathroom.
The shower was so good you didn´t want to get out of there and the bed was firm (which we love!) with great pillows.
I have no idea how the soundproofing could be so great, but we literally could not hear the traffic although the hotel is just around the corner from both Picadilly Circus and Trafalgar Square.
Location of course is fantastic and we walked back and forth to some world class restaurants every night.
The screening of staff most be incredibly well done at Firmdale Hotels, because both at the Soho and also at the Haymarket, all the staff we´ve met have been very warm and welcoming. BIG plus for the immaculate service and staff.
Of course we will be back. If not at the Haymarket, we might try out the Ham Yard or go back to the Soho next year.
When you spend a bit more on a hotel, you appreciate your expectations being met or even outdone.
If I´d have to leave only two small remarks on what could be done better, I´d say get a stronger wifi connection. It didn´t really reach our room that well, unless you located yourself closer to the door. And, put a soft closing on the doors to the rooms. As I mentioned, we could not hear any traffic at all, but on our last morning our next door neighbour kept opening and closing the door to their room (with a bang) about 10 times in a row (at 7.30am).
Small remarks on a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojolifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Let's start by saying that of all the hotels I have had the fortune to stay in, this is without any doubt the best. I meant to stay one night, I stayed three- I literally could not leave.

I booked in the day with a decent rate and checked into room 214 which is in the Town House off the main hotel, in fact it is next door, although you can access it from the hotel without heading back outside. I was shown up to my room by concierge, up two flights of narrow stairs and feared they had put in one of those rooms designed for 'male single travellers', instead the door opened up to what was effectively a suite. A huge room, dominated by a massive bed and Kit Kemp's unforgettable interior designs, the bathroom was bigger than most hotel rooms with yet another room which was in fact a walk in wardrobe.

I have never felt more at home and at peace in a hotel room and could not believe that central London was just outside my door. Although in London for business, I managed to enjoy a lot of time in the hotel- and just when I thought it could not get better you descend a few floors into one of London's best kept secrets- the indoor pool.

Hotels, and I mean really good hotels know that throwing all the facilities at a place is well and good, but you are trying to create a living space- luxury is not something you can really buy. The swimming pool is proof of that, and what is more it was empty every time I went except the staff manning the poolside bar. The water was crisp and the perfect temperature and the cricket played silently in the background- heaven.

I ordered room service 5 times at all hours, the menu does not change for those whose schedules do not allow normal meal times, and is something that hardened travellers rarely find. In fact I cannot fault the hotel, in any way. It wears it's brilliance with humility, the staff dress smartly and offer immaculate service, but in a way that is both discreet and unpretentious. The firm dale group who own the Haymarket and other hotels in London simply get it. They create spaces and places that invite you stay, kick back and relax.

I assure you I came for a quick stay and had to leave only to go to Paris, i was tempted to cancel and stay for the weekend.

Memorable for all the right reasons and a location that is hard to rival.

Perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alastairwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

What a beautiful hotel. We went in for a drink after work and, as it was rather busy, we were ushered to bar seats that are not at the bar but set back so one sits facing the bar in a line with your friends (and other drinkers). It's very theatrical as you simply sit and watch the bartenders making cocktails, a bit like being at a 'Chef's table' in a restaurant but in a bar! The staff are uber attentive and I would rate this hotel as up there as one of the best 'non branded' in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickTip124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blean, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary & it was divine . Great location in the centre of London .We had a dual aspect junior luxury suite which was very comfortable & spacious. Although we were in the centre of London our room was very peaceful. I loved the pool it was a good size for a decent swim. We had a light lunch & dinner in the restaurant which were passable. Breakfast was very good as there was plenty of choice.Excellent service. The interior design was most interesting, I felt I had spent the weekend inhabiting a great work of art.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at the Haymarket Hotel last weekend during my parents' 50th wedding anniversary celebrations. There were 10 of us and the staff looked after us exquisitely. Always friendly, helpful and attentive. The rooms are unique and equipped with everything you could possibly want - they are also bigger than my entire apartment in Amsterdam!

Unluckily, my luggage got lost on the flight over. Lisa, the Hotel Manager, made sure I had a toothbrush, toothpaste, nail kit, razor - everything I might need in the absence of my bag. As I said, everyone was consistently smiley and helpful - in all eventualities!

My parents and my entire family had the most perfect weekend of celebrations :-)

Room Tip: The suite is HUGE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff team here are exceptional.
I have to say man responsible for concierge (I am sorry, he has a lovely yet unusual name that escapes me - Shay maybe?) is an absolute pleasure and possibly the loveliest concierge I have ever encountered (and we travel a lot).
I was given a lovely letter for birthday champagne, although we didn't use it it was a lovely gesture.
We loved the night staff team too (after a reunion and birthday with old Uni friends we were rather drunk coming back on both nights) and they were lovely and quite humorous!
Despite the bar being a self service honestly bar, one of the chaps poured our drinks for us (my friends thought possibly because they didn't trust us in our drunken state but I think he was simply being helpful).
The drinks at the honestly bar were expensive but that's hotels for you.
The restaurant is exceptional.
The swimming pool area and the pool itself is lovely.

The attention to detail in the rooms is amazing, there is quite literally ZERO wear and tear, the bathroom, the paint work, the curtains......perfection!
Definitely our new favorite hotel for our London jaunts. Claridges no more, Haymarket is the place to stay!

The location is exceptionally central so the only negative is that you cant really have your window open at night as its a little noisy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,069 in London
3,716 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,069 in London
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Property: Haymarket Hotel
Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#18 Business Hotel in London
#40 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haymarket Hotel is situated on the corner of Haymarket and Suffolk Place in the heart of London's theatre district. It is next door to the famous Haymarket Theatre Royal and is surrounded by some of London's best restaurants and bars. The hotel is perfect for Mayfair, Regent Street and Jermyn Street shopping. Trafalgar Square and the National Gallery are just around the corner - St. James's Park is a short walk. The hotel is within easy reach of the city's financial centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing