We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best kept secret revealed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #455 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best kept secret revealed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

The only complain possible with regard to this place is that God apparently allocates the good taste so unevenly. Almost all of it went to people who can create places like this and who manage to keep it breathing the same spirit. A tiny bit fell to our lot so that we would be able to appreciate the beauty of such places. "Bags of idiosyncrasy" already mentioned on the website. Incredible value for money. Great people, great breakfast, complimentary hot drinks and DVD collection, great comfort. No fuss and no nonsense. We spent there few weeks when first came to the city and after a year in London - our wedding day with few guests placed here next to us. Great food for a picnic from Angels&Gypsies ordered just the night before was prepared and packed with great care and along with genuine smiles from all the staff around and surprise-surprise on the bed upon arrival - all made our (wedding) day! I would also address possible doubts. Camberwell?...With an oyster card this Camberwell's treasure would be a perfect gateway to the diverse capital of all good stuff on Earth where they truly appreciate variety (besides, that's why the prices are so reasonable). The district is not Shoreditch, beardymen, but the there are direct buses. Afraid of beggars around after dark? Like anywhere in London. Actually, bless them, probably they solely keep the "beardyness" of the hotel at bearable level. For someone really concerned with the lack of soundproof walls in the hotel - nothing to worry about, really...or was that you who began liking his grandmother much less because you have to speak louder from time to time? It's a living thing! (this gorgeous place)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    129
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
47
140
63
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here as a family prior to our daughter getting married. The rooms were lovely, and all different which was good to see. We stayed in the triple room which had a beautifully designed bathroom with great bath and shower. Staff were very helpful and welcoming and the breakfast was first rate and excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stonebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savona, Italy
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I had considered to stay here for a long time, and finally I managed to do it.
This is really a cosy boutique hotel, with a lot of charme. I stayed in a single room which was quite small (normal for London) but very clean and the small bed was comfortable. The location is not so convenient if you want to stay in the very central London, but I managed to be at Marylebon (on the other side of the town) station in "only" 45 minutes in the morning. The area is anyway very well served by buses. The staff was friendly and very efficient. I had breakfast at 6:30 despite it is normally served from 7:00. Continental Breakfast was very good and great value for money (5£ only). Organic milk, yogurt and cereals + fresh fruit juices and croissants.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Found this on LastMinute when at a conference - great and original hotel in South London. Rooms are clean, reasonable size and full of character. Bathroom has nice tiles and a good shower! A bar of chocolate and a pot of hot sauce is a step up from the usual chocolate on the pillow.
Also a lounge with good coffee and an honesty bar that is very well stocked as well as a large selection of DVDs for the player in your room.

Thoroughly recommend the hotel, though getting there can be a bit of a pain as its not on a tube line.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotus_xi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Sometimes in life you just get lucky. I was due to attend a last minute meeting in London first thing the following morning and on looking at your typical chain hotels they were all either fully booked or charging treble their usual rate as there was a huuuuuge expo taking place in the capital so I looked at alternatives.

Took a chance on this place and expected the worst but it turned out to be a gem of a hotel with an excellent tapas restaurant stuck on the side which gave you 10% off your bill if you were staying at the hotel (Churros with chocolate were amazing).

The staff were helpful from the moment of arrival and explained house rules whilst giving me a tour of the facilities which included a great lounge area with a very diverse honesty bar in it.

The room was perfect. Given the price I wasn't expecting it to be huge but the en-suite room was clean and cheerful with its latin styling. If you're expecting the usual drab room you would find in a *****lodge then you will find the décor here uplifting.

I'm selfishly hoping that this place doesnt become so successful that they raise their prices or are booked up months ahead as I will now be checking in at the Church Street any time I have to visit London for meetings.

One piece of advice to travellers, If you're heading to the hotel from north of the Thames the 436, 136 and 36 buses terminating at Lewisham will take you straight passed the front door of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in Red Room 11. Noisy 1st thing in the morning if you've left the window open overnight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carps1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a recently converted hotel which has a Mexican/Spanish theme throughout and is very unique. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable and the restaurant underneath is a real gem. Parking is only available at a church situated about 400 metres from the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Absolutely brilliant!! The staff are so friendly and helpful. WE have stayed there 4 times now, WE will never stay anywhere else. The rooms are very comfortable, the lounge area for making tea or coffee is ace. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. A real gem

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, if you have limited mobility, then the stairs could be an issue as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Chelsea Guest House
#309 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#592 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#419 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#612 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Property: Church Street Hotel
Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing