We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such generous hospitality, I'm almost inviting them back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #514 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Such generous hospitality, I'm almost inviting them back.”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

OK, given that you know it's in Camberwell (no tube), this is a BRILLIANT little hotel, which sets a new level in generosity, thoughtfulness and top quality everything - from the service, to the bed-linen, to the Green&Blacks chocolate and L'Occitane products in the room, to the couple of paperbacks you would actually want to read - and that's before we get to breakfast, which has to be the best value in London. Didn't go to the new cocktail bar as was travelling solo, but next time - and there will be one - I'll pop in. There is a good tapas restaurant attached, and if it's closed and you're still hungry, they will even recommend a local restaurant and let you bring in a takeaway. Oh, and I mustn't forget the complimentary tiny pot of very potent hot sauce they give you, made by the hotel.
So quirky, so stylish, so clean: so go!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flora717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    132
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
50
142
66
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Pros
- location, near to lots of shops and 10 minutes walk from the station
- clean
- decor
- friendly staff
- reasonably priced
- facilities

Cons
- bit of a trek from Central London

Overall a very nice hotel with interesting decor. Bar and resteraunt downstairs make it a perfect place to stay for a few days.

I stayed in a room with a shared bathroom which was clean and never seemed to be in use.

Recommend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Be in South America in London. I can't remember having been in a hotel with such attentive helpful staff. We felt so at home here. It is such a quirky interesting hotel with an eclectic mix of South American artifacts.
We had the continental breakfast. Everything was so fresh and artisan. I have never had such good orange juice.
Attention has been given to every last detail in this hotel. If you like to stay somewhere out of the ordinary then you will love staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MartynJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on recommendation from a friend whilst working locally. What an amazing hotel - the room was a generous size with lovely and extremely comfortable bed. Delightful ensuite with soft large towels, which are a rare find in hotels. Even L'Occtaine toiletries!!
Continental breakfast was a bargain at £5 - the nicest breakfast I have had for a long time. I cannot recommend highly enough. All staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for three nights and quickly went from bemusement (quite a trip from central London, 'diverse' neighborhood, steep stairs, small room, small bed, somewhat noisy) to not wanting to stay anywhere else again when we come to London on non-business trips.
Stay a little and you'll figure out how much attention to detail has gone into making you feel comfortable: great lounge and honor bar, free and good quality tea & coffee, many loving details in your room, etc. Continental breakfast does not overwhelm you with 36 different brands of cereal and bread - it focuses on very good quality basics and is too good to miss (and excellent value as well). My only niggle is that a half-bottle of red wine costs 25GBP in the honor bar (and I had failed to detect that on time). Most other prices are however, very reasonable.
Distance to sightseeing destinations: we were a little concerned at first but then simply began to enjoy taking buses everywhere and found that it was actually a fun way to experience London.
Not surprisingly, the hotel appeals to fun travelers and we enjoyed our encounters with them.
Warmly recommended, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overall are small and maybe not the quietest - call ahead and discuss room choice if this matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDolphinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Looked for a hotel in South London for a short city break. This provided just what needed - a friendly welcome, fascinating decor, clean and comfortable room, good provision of complimentary tea/coffee in lounge bar, excellent continental breakfast available (wished we had been able to sample evening menu), and convenient bus routes for all parts of central London (if you leave time). Older, less agile visitors need to be aware that there are a lot of stairs and no lift (but we had expected that so were not put off).

Room Tip: Check whether you have to share bathroom, we found the road side room on top floor was surprisingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeymouthCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A very clean and friendly hotel. We only stayed 2 nights and didn't have time to eat there in the evening but we will definitely stay again and will then eat in the restaurant. However breakfast was amazing. As for the location; what a convenient place for getting to central London on the number 12 bus. My husband and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel so no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#326 of 1,068 in London
962 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#631 of 1,068 in London
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Pasha Hotel
#885 of 1,068 in London
259 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#408 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Property: Church Street Hotel
Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing