We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little "carrot" in the heart of Camberwell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #516 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while attending a conference at Kings College. Ideal location, fab rooms, helpful, friendly staff. Nice extra touches in the rooms and plenty of places for food and drink nearby. Didn't have breakfast but colleagues said very good. Would consider staying here when visiting London despite being further out of City.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poshbird120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Church Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

A nice friendly hotel, wonderful clean rooms and helpful staff. The breakfasts classed as "continental" were ample for us. Cereals, toasts, danish pastries, fresh orange/fruit juice, all delicious and made even more pleasant by the staff who were so obliging. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

OK, given that you know it's in Camberwell (no tube), this is a BRILLIANT little hotel, which sets a new level in generosity, thoughtfulness and top quality everything - from the service, to the bed-linen, to the Green&Blacks chocolate and L'Occitane products in the room, to the couple of paperbacks you would actually want to read - and that's before we get to breakfast, which has to be the best value in London. Didn't go to the new cocktail bar as was travelling solo, but next time - and there will be one - I'll pop in. There is a good tapas restaurant attached, and if it's closed and you're still hungry, they will even recommend a local restaurant and let you bring in a takeaway. Oh, and I mustn't forget the complimentary tiny pot of very potent hot sauce they give you, made by the hotel.
So quirky, so stylish, so clean: so go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flora717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Pros
- location, near to lots of shops and 10 minutes walk from the station
- clean
- decor
- friendly staff
- reasonably priced
- facilities

Cons
- bit of a trek from Central London

Overall a very nice hotel with interesting decor. Bar and resteraunt downstairs make it a perfect place to stay for a few days.

I stayed in a room with a shared bathroom which was clean and never seemed to be in use.

Recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Be in South America in London. I can't remember having been in a hotel with such attentive helpful staff. We felt so at home here. It is such a quirky interesting hotel with an eclectic mix of South American artifacts.
We had the continental breakfast. Everything was so fresh and artisan. I have never had such good orange juice.
Attention has been given to every last detail in this hotel. If you like to stay somewhere out of the ordinary then you will love staying here.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MartynJRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed for one night on recommendation from a friend whilst working locally. What an amazing hotel - the room was a generous size with lovely and extremely comfortable bed. Delightful ensuite with soft large towels, which are a rare find in hotels. Even L'Occtaine toiletries!!
Continental breakfast was a bargain at £5 - the nicest breakfast I have had for a long time. I cannot recommend highly enough. All staff were very friendly and helpful and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for three nights and quickly went from bemusement (quite a trip from central London, 'diverse' neighborhood, steep stairs, small room, small bed, somewhat noisy) to not wanting to stay anywhere else again when we come to London on non-business trips.
Stay a little and you'll figure out how much attention to detail has gone into making you feel comfortable: great lounge and honor bar, free and good quality tea & coffee, many loving details in your room, etc. Continental breakfast does not overwhelm you with 36 different brands of cereal and bread - it focuses on very good quality basics and is too good to miss (and excellent value as well). My only niggle is that a half-bottle of red wine costs 25GBP in the honor bar (and I had failed to detect that on time). Most other prices are however, very reasonable.
Distance to sightseeing destinations: we were a little concerned at first but then simply began to enjoy taking buses everywhere and found that it was actually a fun way to experience London.
Not surprisingly, the hotel appeals to fun travelers and we enjoyed our encounters with them.
Warmly recommended, we'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overall are small and maybe not the quietest - call ahead and discuss room choice if this matt...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueDolphinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#317 of 1,072 in London
997 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#633 of 1,072 in London
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pasha Hotel
#895 of 1,072 in London
266 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Caring Hotel
#535 of 1,072 in London
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £66 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing