We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A World of Difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #530 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fascinating hotel, in Spanish style with an eclectic range of iconography - withnail, mama roux, Christ and peasant girls.
Excellent reception, shared lounge with range of drinks, hot are free, alcoholic on honesty book.
Room was more than sufficient, bed very comfortable, and like the associated restaurant, Angels and Gypsies, the detail is what makes this exceptional. Individual rooms, chocolate, hot sauce, free papers. Yes, it's a warren, but don't bother if you're not looking for an interesting journey, yes you could probably find something cheaper, but it would be same old, same old corporate stuff. No, it's not in Central London, but one of the advantages of a city is that you can find places like this where you discover parts off the beaten track.
This is unusual and a very welcome change, transport is easy and we will definitely stay here again.
(Accidentally hit the pool rating and can't get rid of it - there is no pool!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front on a Saturday night without any disturbance at all. Wouldn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinHood024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear RobinHood,
We are excited that you enjoyed your stay at the Church Street Hotel! It seems that you have not only understood but also embraced our philosophy :) We aim to create a space where guests can enjoy the southern hospitality and flavour true London off the beaten track. And yes, we do try to excel through detail. Every little item from the Lupita dolls in the cavity walls and the Honesty bar mentality to the complimentary L’Occitane amenities and our homemade hot sauce have been selected with a lot of love and care. Though we may not have a pool, no matter how much we’d love one, we strive to offer everything we’d like to find in our ideal hotel!
Looking forward to receiving you again soon!
* Tip, just behind the hotel is our local leisure centre which has an amazing swimming pool indeed worthy of that five star rating.
Best regards,
Sikelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in December for a family wedding in Camberwell so perfect location.
Paid for a superior room so not bad for space but very dark at the back of the hotel - tricky for trying to putting on make up, could have looked like coco the clown !
Positives - very comfy bed; good toiletries; very helpful staff; good breakfast in restaurant at additional cost.
Negatives - wardrobe so short could not even hang a suit or dress, had to hang on the outside; no in room tea/coffee; room very dark but atmospheric.
Overall an enjoyable stay but at £145.00 a night plus breakfast quite expensive for the area being way out of central London.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillD09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Jill,
Thanks for your comments and feedback allowing us the opportunity to grow and better our service.
Upon making the reservation you requested a quiet room hence allocated in one at the back of the hotel away from the main road.
We enjoy an eclectic mix of rooms within the 150 year old building in which we are located. No two rooms are the same, and we celebrate this uniqueness which is reflected in the furnishings and decor of each room. Our reception team is always on hand to accommodate guests’ requirements wherever possible and reasonable in the case of any dissatisfaction.
All Superior King rooms apart from the full body mirror (150cm x 48cm) located in the bedroom enjoy a 40cm x 30cm mirror in the bathroom with a minimum of 3 halogen spotlights in the bathroom wherever possible. Further the wardrobe in your room had a cavity of approximately 85cm-100cm height. Though we understand that this may not be suitable for a maxi dress, it would suffice for most clothing items.
Part of our “home away from home” mentality is celebrated in our Havana Lounge. This is a warm and welcoming space for our guests to relax and enjoy a great selection of complimentary gourmet teas and Monmouth coffee. And should you find that you are too tired and the distance seems too long our receptionists are always happy to bring the beverage of your choice to your room.
Overall we feel that the rate is reasonable for a Superior King room which as such enjoys French period style furniture, custom hand-made King size bed, fluffy Floringo towels and Snuggle down duvets, air conditioning, 32 inch LED TV and Blue ray DVD player, a luxurious bathroom with hand-made basin, pedestal, hand painted Mexican tilework throughout; all inclusive of Unlimited High-Speed Broadband connectivity and 20% VAT.
Finally we think that it will be hard to match a £5.00 Organic Continental Breakfast anywhere in or outside London with unlimited access to our house-made organic sourdough bread, in-house freshly squeezed juices and smoothies, Monmouth coffee from Borough Market, Organic muesli and cereals, pastries from the local French baker in Blackheath, organic milk and yoghurt from Neal’s Yard dairy and free-range boiled eggs.
If you do decide to stay with us again, feel free to contact me on sikelia@churchstreethotel.com and I would be happy to better accommodate your requirements.
Kind regards,
Sikelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to London. I was only there for 2 nights but it was perfect. I was quite excited to find a spanish inspired hotel. However it felt like a bed and breakfast, which made it cozy and quaint. The hotel was a few steps from bus lines. The neighborhood was safe. The attached tapas restaurant made it easy to have dinner and breakfast in the morning. The staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LNJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is quirky as stated by other reviewers. However it is not all it's cracked up to be. There are endless stairs ( no lift) and these are coded red or blue. It's like a rabbit warren and I dread to think what would happen in a fire.it is not suitable for disabled as the stairs are really narrow and steep.
The rooms are very small for the money and incredibly noisy. A single room I booked, was so small the door opened onto the bed and there was no door on the bathroom.I don't know how it was legal.
The bedside lamps have eco bulbs and not bright enough to read by. The walls are dark and this makes the rooms feel small. There are no teamaking facilities in the rooms, so if you want a drink in the night, you have to get dressesd and go the the lounge area.
The toiletries are beautiful (l'occitane) and you get a free bar of Green and Blacks chocolate and a bottle of water in the room,but you pay for this in the room price.
I stayed here twice, but needed to stay in Camberwell for an extended period and this was way too pricey. There is another hotel just along the road which is much better value and where I spent a very comfortable, noise free, three week and had in room tea and coffee making facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room they have, as the noise is terrible both from ambulance sirens (due to pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank munchyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed for a saturday night to attend a party nearby. The hotel was very quirky, clean and staff were very helpful. Short walk to train station. Room was not too small for London, clean with some small little touches such as bottles of water and chocolate. Bathroom very colourful and had great toiletries.

We were on the same floor as the lounge where there was complimentary coffee/tea and papers to read as well as vast range of DVDs to borrow if wanted.

We had the continental breakfast which was good with artisan bread .

Would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMark_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Quirky decor, great atmosphere and and helpful friendly staff. Breakfast was superb, only wished we were staying more than the one night.

I stay in lot's of corporate hotels with work and it was a real refreshing change to stay in a place where the owners have included so many thoughtful touches throughout. The breakfast was superb, I mean, home made baked beens for goodness sake!

Our room wasn't particularly spacious but for one night it was perfect and the restaurant that's part of the hotel is equally well decorated and staffed. Next time we'll book a table in the evening too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvinchutney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The employees are very friendly and outstanding customer and very welcoming hotel. The pub is amazing but the beer is not very good. Great breakfast in the Angels and Gypsies. Very clean bathroom and comfortable bed

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariquitaperez74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
9.2 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#467 of 1,081 in London
419 reviews
4.8 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Chelsea Guest House
Chelsea Guest House
#333 of 1,081 in London
1,064 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#641 of 1,081 in London
609 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn London Brixton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#97 Best Value Hotel in London
#148 Business Hotel in London
#238 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £58 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing