We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #535 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

this hotel has character - and is not one of the sterile one-size-fits-all impersonal monstrosity. there is lot of colour and vibrance, and the staff are super friendly. their breakfast (make sure you get a breakfast-included option for your room) is one of the most sumptuous and healthy sit-down breakfasts i have ever had in my decades of hotel stays.
i'd love to come back at any opportunity i get!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandervish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

I was looking round all these different websites for a decent hotel to stay in for a night and was almost at the brink of giving in to Premier Inn, Ibis or Travelodge, which isn't great if you're celebrating an anniversary.
Found this place on lastminute.com and when I looked at the rooms I thought to myself it couldn't be real! But I fell in love through the pictures and when forwarding the details onto my better half, we needed to book it! We got ourselves the Superior King Size double standard room. The receptionist was friendly when she greeted us and helped us find our room as well as the living space where they had a huge selection of DVDs and complimentary teas. There are so many corridors it's easy to find yourself lost and trying to remember the painting on the wall that was near your room, which is all part of the fun.
The room was beautiful. A little bit smaller than we thought, but beautiful nonetheless. It was clean, the chocolates and books were a lovely little touch and the toiletries were really cool. I admired the tiling in the bathroom, the way the room was painted and the soft lighting. We both live in a noisy area so we didn't feel it was noisy during our stay.

The location is a bit strange and hard to find if you don't know which direction you're going in, but the buses that ran through went through Central London which is convenient.

Only thing stopping me from giving it a full 5 is I think there was a loose wire in the DVD player so we couldn't get to watch any film properly.

But, this isn't a hotel you should be comparing to with other ones, you found this one, you go here and you won't regret it

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nisha95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I love this hotel! I was traveling to London alone for a conference and stayed at the Church Street Hotel for 2 nights, I can't fault it in anyway. The staff were lovely, the hotel was homely and quirky and very comfortable. The minute you're inside you forget you're in Camberwell. Room was a decent size with a shared bathroom that was immaculate. The chilli chocolate and hot sauce in the room were a nice touch. The restaurant downstairs was always busy and breakfast was brilliant - I'm coeliac and usually hotel breakfasts are a pain, however there were options I could have and they made me (awesome) scrambled eggs both mornings. And the coffee was cracking.
A little strange staying so far from a tube station, but the bus services are pretty frequent and the stops just minutes from the hotel so surprisingly not much of an issue. I have no desire to stay anywhere else when I go to London now.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed there in the smallest single room I ve ever been in. However, it was clean, had a small ensuite bathroom and was ok. Probably not a room you would want to stay in for more than one night though.....no window to look out of either as it was high up and seemed to look onto another buildings air conditioning unit. Credit to the hotel, the breakfast was free!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Katy187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We spent a single night at the hotel and were very impressed by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. The room was very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was lovely and the little extras such as the chocolate and the collection of Blake poems on the table were nice touches. The visitor lounge was excellent offering free beverages and an honesty bar. Our breakfast, and I would certainly recommend the full English, was amazing and set me up for the whole day. We are not frequent visitors to London but would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Have the full English!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Peter,

It’s nice to hear that you had such a positive experience! Thank you for all the lovely comments about our team, we’ll reiterate that to all members. We do our best to make all guests feel like at ‘casa’ and part of the Church Street Hotel ‘familia’, so it makes us extremely happy when we succeed that :)

We’ll be glad to receive you again when you are back at London!

Best wishes,

Sikelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I tried to imagine the conversation between the hotel developers and their bank. "We want to open a Mexican-themed hotel, in an edgy part of south London halfway between Brixton and Peckham and nowhere near a tube station"
"Certainly sir, here's all the money you need."
This is not an obvious location and not an obvious approach to hotel development. But it works brilliantly.
Other reviewers have described it as quirky. It definitely is, and it wouldn't suit everyone. Mention has also been made of the quality of the toiletries (fab!) and the fact that the stairs would make it impossible for elderly or disabled people.
The reason I have given it a 4 rating rather than 5 is that it is also quite noisy - its on a main road, and the floors do not have carpets. If you're a light sleeper, don't expect too much sleep. Which is a pity as the beds are a joy.
But it's a wonderful place, (probably best suited to young people!) with excellent service and with a tremendous restaurant attached providing great breakfasts and some of the best tapas I've ever had.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Margabe,
Thanks for your comments.
Indeed, Latin boutique hotel in South London was met with disbelief initially, but our passion for the area with its vibrant mix of cultures, cool music venues, independent shop/restaurants and fabulous people drove us forward. We wanted to reflect this warmth, colour and vibrancy in the decor and design of our hotel, paying homage to still, a very real, local part of London.
We find guests increasingly want to experience local London, and our location means guests can have the best of both worlds; a comprehensive bus network on our doorstep, straight into the city in 25 mins, while outside our door, we have a wealth of great local venues to enjoy.
Since we opened we have seen the area develop with more cool little places popping up every year. Not to mention our sister restaurant Angels & Gypsies and the latest addition to our sacred trilogy, the Communion bar! We hope the next few years will see more of a celebration of this cultural vibrancy. Especially now that Denmark Hill overground station has minimised distances to Victoria, London Bridge, Clapham, etc to 10-15 minutes.
We do understand that due to the nature of the building, some rooms may be located a few extra steps further up, but we have to work in symbiosis with the nuances of this wonderful 150 year old building.
Should guests advise us in advance about special requirements we strive to allocate them on the lowest floor possible. Further our receptionist and staff are always on hand to help with luggage and any other requests. On the same note though we have some rooms on the high street, all of these rooms are triple glazed for added comfort, with ample rooms at the rear of the hotel.
Next time that you are staying in the area please do let us know your preferences so that we can help you enjoy your stay even more!
Best wishes,
Sikelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Fascinating hotel, in Spanish style with an eclectic range of iconography - withnail, mama roux, Christ and peasant girls.
Excellent reception, shared lounge with range of drinks, hot are free, alcoholic on honesty book.
Room was more than sufficient, bed very comfortable, and like the associated restaurant, Angels and Gypsies, the detail is what makes this exceptional. Individual rooms, chocolate, hot sauce, free papers. Yes, it's a warren, but don't bother if you're not looking for an interesting journey, yes you could probably find something cheaper, but it would be same old, same old corporate stuff. No, it's not in Central London, but one of the advantages of a city is that you can find places like this where you discover parts off the beaten track.
This is unusual and a very welcome change, transport is easy and we will definitely stay here again.
(Accidentally hit the pool rating and can't get rid of it - there is no pool!)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room at the front on a Saturday night without any disturbance at all. Wouldn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinHood024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sikelia_CHST, General Manager at Church Street Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear RobinHood,
We are excited that you enjoyed your stay at the Church Street Hotel! It seems that you have not only understood but also embraced our philosophy :) We aim to create a space where guests can enjoy the southern hospitality and flavour true London off the beaten track. And yes, we do try to excel through detail. Every little item from the Lupita dolls in the cavity walls and the Honesty bar mentality to the complimentary L’Occitane amenities and our homemade hot sauce have been selected with a lot of love and care. Though we may not have a pool, no matter how much we’d love one, we strive to offer everything we’d like to find in our ideal hotel!
Looking forward to receiving you again soon!
* Tip, just behind the hotel is our local leisure centre which has an amazing swimming pool indeed worthy of that five star rating.
Best regards,
Sikelia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western London Peckham Hotel
2 mi away
Chelsea Guest House
Chelsea Guest House
#331 of 1,078 in London
1,045 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#641 of 1,078 in London
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hotel 55
Hotel 55
#431 of 1,078 in London
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pasha Hotel
Pasha Hotel
#906 of 1,078 in London
272 reviews
4.8 mi away
Caring Hotel
Caring Hotel
#547 of 1,078 in London
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#239 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing