We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Church Street Hotel
Ranked #514 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Church Street Hotel is like no other in London. The eclectic décor - think Mexican day of the dead meets an Almodovar film set - the windy corridors and individual rooms always provide a smile. Its great to stay somewhere in London which isn't a cookie cutter business hotel or a cheap, grim corporate bed for night. Its a while since I've been here and there seems to have been an expansion - the next door Angels and Gypsies restaurant was full on Saturday night but we got a table in the downstairs Communion Bar serving the exact same food which was great - inventive Tapas (rabbit, albondigas soup). Three real standouts - the crackers on the cheese board, the Gambas and the mushroooms. Fantastic. Saturday nights also has live music from T-Bone Jerome and his backing band - a great funky/jazz ensemble - very tight and fabulous in a bad taste replica of a chapel. Excellent. After dancing the night away, lurched upstairs to comfy bed, quiet room (despite being at the front of the hotel facing the road). l'Occitaine toiletries and complimentary green and black's chocoloate and chilli relish. It really is different! Staff are friendly and informative. Highly recommended for a funky stay in increasingly funky Camberwell Green.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    132
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
50
142
66
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the CST for one night and have decided it was ok. Good things: the complimentary bits are nice, hotel looks nice from outside, room size good. Bad things: lumpy uncomfortable pillows, shower could do with an update, so many stairs and most importantly, no drinks-making facilities in the room. This makes no sense to me, as first thing when we woke up all we wanted was a cup of tea in our bed clothes. The hotel should provision for both in-room and lounge-area drinks. The cost seemed pricey too.

Also 2 further things that have resulted in this ranking. One is that when we left for the night reception asked that we leave the key with them.... I have never heard of that before! Seemed very odd! The other is that the staff could be more willing in terms of offering to phone a taxi for you... They weren't particularly hot on customer service.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank raddlebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the CST last night and it was fantastic. Superb service, great food (all sourced from quality producers), great atmosphere and lovely rooms with funky decor. The complimentary hot sauce and Green and Blacks chocolate is a fab touch. The L'Occitaine toiletries demonstrate the understated quality of the place.There is a relaxed atmosphere, which makes a pleasant change, and the honesty bar is an automatic winner with me! I have stayed in many hotels, for work, and this is my new number one which I will selfishly keep a secret! I was upgraded to a deluxe room which came as a lovely surprise. If you like something a bit different then you can't go wrong with the CST. I will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestryChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We arrived late for a brief one night stay. Our daughter was in labor as we arrived from US and wanted us out of the house! (Baby born while we slept.) In spite of the hour (11pm), the clerk was cheerful and helpful. The room was large and had wifi (since our UK phones were not active, this was very helpful to find out that the baby had been born so we could go back to our daughter's house!). The bed was solid. The bathroom was huge! We did not use the tub/shower but everything was clean and the towels were soft and fluffy. Each room is different and the decorations are different in each one. The room had everything one expects from a hotel and more! The next morning, we ate breakfast at the restuarant downstairs which had a nice cold breakfast for 5 pounds and hot breakfast for 9 pounds. We were able to top up our phones and take the bus home rested and refreshed.

Room Tip: Ask the desk clerk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sascrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Camberwell Green is over a mile from the nearest tube station, but there are frequent buses from just outside the hotel to the centre of London. The area is a bit downmarket, but the hotel and the attached restaurant are absolutely fine.
I had a single room, in which the bed was adequate and the walls were a bit too thin. I also had to share a bathroom, which will be a problem on some occasions, but wasn't this time. Both the bathroom and the bedroom were spotlessly clean. The room was on the small side, but adequate.
You get a bottle of water, a bar of Green & Black's chocolate and a little pot of hot sauce??? as a welcome gift, and some good quality toiletries are provided, along with a proper full sized bath towel. There is a communal 24 hour lounge area with free tea and coffee and an honesty bar providing a good range of high quality (and pretty expensive) booze. There is also free WiFi. There is an extensive DVD library, with players in every bedroom.
Meals are taken in the attached Angels & Gypsies tapas restaurant. The continental breakfast was excellent - proper freshly squeezed juice and smoothies, delicious bread and cakes.

I hunted on the internet for over an hour for hotels in London within my price range, and this one was significantly cheaper than anything comparable, no doubt because of the unfashionable location. I recommend the hotel and would stay there again, hoping that that I wasn't next door to someone noisy...

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms have a shared bathroom (which is very clean, but involves a hop across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoughboroughJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Booked in last minute for work, got an en suite room at the back (good) next to the shared bathroom facilities (not so good - door bangs loudly) but I think it was the last available room. However, the room itself is very pleasant: small but cosy. The radiator heats the room in minutes, useful on chilly April nights, and the bed is comfortable with plenty of pillows and bedding. The miniature bar of Green & Black's chocolate didn't last long, and the toiletries are lush. The cooked breakfast options looked good, but I wasn't that hungry, so went for the continental: excellent toasted home-made sourdough bread, plenty of spreads, home-made smoothie (strawberry, pineapple, banana and orange juice - I asked). The boiled egg was hard boiled which is not my preference, but was fine in itself. I didn't have room for the excellent-looking croissants or pain chocolat, or for the freshly-squeezed orange juice. A huge library of DVDs surely has something for everyone. There is unlimited free access to Clipper tea, coffee, instant hot chocolate, and lots of herb teas. Also an honesty book for snacks and alcoholic drinks. That's in a nice lounge in the first floor, with dining tables, upright chairs, and some armchairs. The staff are really friendly and helpful. There are loads of cafes and restaurants nearby, it's a short bus trip over to Brixton (10 minutes), and a longer one into the city centre (half an hour or so, depending on time of day), but there are plenty of buses to choose from and you can see the sights from the bus. This isn't a touristy area, so if you're visiting London and want to see 'the real thing', this is about as good an option as you'll find.

Room Tip: If you want private facilities and quiet, ask for a room on the top floor, at the back, and as far a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weekend break in London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A great hotel. The room was large and airy and we were located up high so it was nice and quiet. The bed was comfy and the room was well equipped. We even had some complimentary Easter goodies. Although we didn't have breakfast we made use of the honesty bar and free tea and coffee facilities. We also enjoyed the 11am checkout. We ate in town so didn't experience the tapas restaurant downstairs although it looked lively.
A great hotel, and makes a nice change from the boring chains, would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceplaces1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea Guest House
#326 of 1,068 in London
962 reviews
The Bridge Hotel
#631 of 1,068 in London
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Pasha Hotel
#885 of 1,068 in London
259 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#408 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Property: Church Street Hotel
Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#149 Business Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
#344 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing